We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Inexpensive Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairo Center Hotel

Cairo Center Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairo Center Hotel
Ranked #31 of 50 Cairo B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Inexpensive Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

I normally stay at hotels that cost around $100/night - but after reading reviews of Cairo hotels, most of which were rather unenthusiastic, my choices were a 5 star far from the center, a really expensive hotel in town- or this. So I took a chance and booked this one.

I stayed for 8 days - 4 days at the start of my trip, in a room with two beds ($25), and 4 nights in a room with one bed ($20). Both were air conditioned and had windows - they tried to give me a windowless room at first.

The guys who run it are sweet, the free breakfast is nothing special but you can have a hard boiled egg, toast and tea, which is all you need, it is clean enough and it is well located. Free WiFi. Like all hotels in Egypt (and beyond), anything booked through the hotel will be more expensive than you can get it for on your own.

If all you want is a clean, centrally located place to stay, this is fine. But do remember that it needs to be measured against hotels in its price range.

Some cons: mosquitoes (few places in Egypt have screens), sometimes the housekeeping is a bit lacking but the guys respond to prodding,

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taureg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
9
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Ok...this is a budget Cairo downtown hotel. We didn't expect too much. But the staff of the hotel, was so helpful that when we'll come back in Cairo, we'll go there for sure. Very nice atmosphere, everybody very kind, very big rooms with nice decorating. Nice breakfast, free internet PC. Much better from many other more expensive hotels!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaggoskavrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

The hotel is hard to find as there is nothing outside the building with the hotel name .
The elevator to reach the hotel ( on the 3 rd floor) is very old .
when you enter the " hotel " , ou realize it is nothing like what you can see on pictures . VERY small reception / breakfast area and lounge . The room we had was big but not very clean and the bathroom was very basic . Difficult to take a shower as the shower is EXTREMELY small .
Breakfast is VERY basic and dont wake up after 8 am if you want to have some choices ( it is basically only cookies and boiled eggs anyways ) .
When you ask for a taxi to go to back to airport , they charge you 70 egyptian pounds and it turns out to be a private car ( looks like they called their friends )
They dont take credits cards to check out ,
So , this hotel is not to advice at all .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedugul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Roma
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

good: easy to find, in the middle of the city, clean, shuttle airport(ONLY ONE WAY, unlike was written in they're web site)
bad: bare, mosquitos, very poor breakfast(if you wake up late you'll find only tea and biscuits).
They can arrange city tour but be careful: their driver will bring you to places where he can get a tip. We've done the Giza tour and choose camels out of the site: we couldn't go downt to sphinx 'cause we didn't have the official ticket.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ila74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

I can consider Cairo Center Hotel as one of the best economical hotels in entire Egypt...It may not be as glamorous as the prominent 5 star chains of hotels but definitely you can have your most unforgettable stay in Cairo for the value of this hotel...This hotel is really a must to be choosen by practical travellers and backpackers for these reasons:
- best value for 26 USD per night with free bfast
- it's in the city center of Cairo; accessible to all public transportations and fastfoods
- hotel attendants are so helpful and always available for assistance
- free wi-fi and there's also free desktop usage at the lobby for those who don't have
laptops
It may have some shortcomings...but those are expected for budget hotels...
Cairo Center is worth trying! I really like it!

From:
Jessica Prado
Philippines

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

this hotel is very nice, i realy like it very much, and i say to any traveler to stay ther, it is the most clean hotel in down town cairo, i have been to other hotel and they are very bad

poala

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poalaaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stay away from this hotel. The staff will try to steal your money in different ways. Their plan starts with offering you online a room with discounted price, but when you arrive at the hotel, they will offer you a small room looks like a cage ( dirty, no window, no tv, no bathroom or toilet), and when you disagree with them, and tell them this is not what have you booked, they will offer you a better room with higher price or even sell you to another hotels and take their commission.

When you book a room with them you will be so lucky if you get a good one, but in most cases when you arrive at the reception, they will tell you the hotel if fully booked and this is the only available room they have, then, the only option left for you is to pay more. It is just cheap way of stealing people money. So, if you want to be a victim of this hotel stay there and be prepared for their cheating and exploitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank San217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Season Hostel
One Season Hostel
#6 of 128 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Egyptian Night Hotel
Egyptian Night Hotel
#3 of 50 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Family Palace Hotel
Family Palace Hotel
#7 of 50 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meramees Hostel
Meramees Hostel
#16 of 128 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 50 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Center Hotel

Property: Cairo Center Hotel
Address: 20 Adly street, Cairo 12421, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairo Center Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Air Conditioning Units in All of the Rooms - Same low prices!!Warm, clean, and affordable, Cairo Center Hotel is an excellent place to stay at while in Cairo. Cathedral ceilings, high French windows, wooden floors, and sun-light filled rooms provide a quiet escape from the bustling streets of Cairo.But, the best feature of this hostel is the helpful and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cairo Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing