We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great service and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berlin Hotel
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great service and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

i stayed here almost 2 months and i would stay again. conveniently located near three metro stns , restaurant, entertainnent, shopping and more.staff were great and helpful at all times. do not let the appearance of the building throw you off. the hotel itself is good.All my needs were catered to.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cookienani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
16
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The owner Mr Yousiff was very attentive, a welcoming email and (as he was at home ill) regular phone calls to make sure I had everything I needed. The room was large with large windows, and a shower in the room. Toilets were nearby in the corridor. Overall staff were excellent and helpful. Mr Yousiff arranged two tours for me by taxi for 200EP, about £20, which I found very reasonable. It is two blocks from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum, and easy access to all the other sites.
This is not a triple glazed International Hotel. If you want absolute quiet and the same experience you'd get anywhere else, then go International. This is a local hotel, some traffic noise though being on the 4th floor helps. The hotel covers this 4th floor, the building is old and has a great feel to it. High ceilings and unusual and local decor.
Staff were great and very helpful. Breakfast was simple and I'd recommend trying the local Turkish coffee, thick, with bits and very strong!
I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will stay there again. Go for a slightly more expensive room, for $26 a night you get three beds and loads of room!
Tips for Cairo - it is safe and feels safe. Very few tourists and a great time to travel there. I had the 2nd pyramid to myself when i went! Locals are friendly and just pleased to see tourists. Be aware as a westerner you're a target for touts, avoid striking up conversations at the main sights, don't follow anyone to 'their cousin's shop', avoid any demonstrations (I saw none, but Fridays can be more of an issue), take the owner's advice on where to go and when. Simple good advice for any new city. I loved my first visit.

Room Tip: Ask the owner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LocalFoodieLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I spent one night at the Berlin hotel our of four nights in Cairo and found it to be a lovely hotel with a very convenient location, fine accommodations, and a very helpful manager. Even when I was not staying at his hotel, he helped arrange a taxi hire to tour the pyramids, gave me a half-day rate for the day of my flight out, and was always very communicative and helpful. He was always completely honest and straightforward about the special arrangements and I felt that I always got excellent value for my money. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent three nights in Hotel Berlin and really enjoyed the warm welcome, spacious and atmospheric rooms and the excellent central location. The manager was very helpful - in English and German - throughout our stay and the tour organized through the hotel was good value and exactly what had been promised.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christoph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I spent two days in Cairo in late December 2012 and chose to stay at Berlin Hotel given its favourable reviews on this site and positive comments from Lonely Planet. Our expectations were definitely met and even exceeded by the wonderful service the owner Mr Hisham Yousef, his manager and the other staff provided. Hisham arranged a transfer from the airport for us for a fair price. Once we arrived at the hotel, Hisham spent time advising us on how best to travel around Cairo and avoid some of the common pitfalls faced by tourists. Our room was clean and very big and the shared bathrooms, of which there were many, were also spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a great central location, just a few blocks from the Egyptian Museum and various metro stations.

On our request, Hisham arranged a day tour, with one of his drivers, to see the Pyramids of Giza, Saqqara and Dahshur. Our driver was great; he even helped us purchase delicious and very cheap street food during our busy day. We had plans to take the night train to Aswan, visit Abel Simbel and cruise/sail down the Nile to Luxor and asked Hisham if he could arrange a tour for us. He very helpfully arranged for a recommended tour operator in Aswan to call us at the hotel. The tour operator did so very promptly and within 45 minutes we had a brilliant and very affordable five day tour organised. We are so grateful to Hisham for his assistance. It’s always nice to feel that the owner and staff of a hotel are on your side and happy to help you in any way.
Matt & Tessa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

the location is very strategic. in the center of down town five minutes from the Egyptian museum. The hotel is located on the fourth floor in place fairly quiet during the night. the resistors are very spacious and clean although they year. manager is the friendliest at any time (any) and can help to every need. the price is very reasonable. I recommend it for the location, cleanliness and service taxi from the airport needed.
do not get scared of the lift ....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank paolotv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If in Cairo for a few days this hotel is perfect with no frills and cheap. Great location but high up so no noise, knowledgable owner who is always on the other end of a phone and great service. Guides organised through hotel are great, English speaking and help you avoid hassle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nihar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#76 of 141 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#46 of 141 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#31 of 141 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#38 of 141 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#53 of 141 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#25 of 141 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Hotel

Property: Berlin Hotel
Address: 2 El Shawarby St 4th Floor | Off Kasr El Nil St Down Town, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Berlin Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin Hotel is a small, simple hotel in Cairo downtownWe are currently expanding tooRooms has private shower cubicles with hot water available 24/7,rooms has also air conditions and beds are so comfortable.-Worth mentioning that all the bes are very comfortable,and are equiped with ' Jansen ' german brand of fancy comfortable matresses,made of large springs,cotton,and foam,plus an extra upper matress too,and the beds are designed to be easily combunable,so two if combined can form like a large bed-For guests who has their labtop or mobile phones equiped with Wi-Fi connection,they can use our high speed WI-FI connection copletely free of charge-Cheap internet access for guests who uses the hotel pc,-Cheap airport pick-ups and airport drop-offs are available-Excursions to Saquara,Memphis and Dahshour are available too.We are keen to keep friendly,informative and very helpful staff ,also worth mentioning that the hotel arranges private arabic language classes ,and B.dance courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Berlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing