We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience, but the staff were very helpful and friendly”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Alexander Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Cairo B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We, my husband and myself, went to Egypt recently for a pleasure trip. We reached at Cairo on 18th October 2010 evening and needed an accommodation for a night, as we were scheduled to leave for Luxor on 19th Oct. The hotel (we stayed at their QABANA wing) is situated in the heart of downtown area, walking distance from the Egyptian Museum. The corridors and the room of the hotel were gloomy, room had no ventilation, so you have to keep the AC on all the time. Shower in the attached toilet of our room was broken and the drainage system was faulty hence the room flooded with water while I was using the toilet. We had to call the hotel staff for rescue. Can't say if all their rooms and toilets are like that! Breakfast was delayed because they had shortage of staff, however, one of the persons sitting in the reception, who received us warmly when we checked in, managed to get us bread, butter, jam and hot tea. Those two guys were amazing and tried their best to make us comfortable, but the room was too bad and their entrance doesn't tell you that it's Qabana. One who doesn't know that Qabana is a part of Alexander hotel, might get confused, just like us. The entrance is rather shady with an ancient elevator, which has broken doors.

Thank God that we chose to stay with them for just 1 night! Won't recommend at all!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebsDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Alexander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

Upon arrival to the hotel, it's very scary- the enterance isn't "welcoming" by any means! We were disappointed when we arrived and realized that the elevator was not working. After halling our bags upstairs we were able to get checked into our rooms. We had two seperate rooms. One room had a clothes hanging outside of the window, it looked as though someone had been living there/ice cold A/C but also an ice cold shower (they never were able to get hot water for the shower). On the other hand, my room never cooled down, no matter how low I had the A/C and was right on the main street- in Egypt they honk like crazy, so that was a little annoying but I'm a heavy sleeper and had no problem getting to sleep. If you're a light sleeper though, make sure you're not in room 201! The owner of Alexander is really nice and very knowledgable on what to do in Egypt. We had egyptain tea with him and it was very enjoyable. If you're looking for just a place to lay your head at night and potentially be a little uncomfortable (cold shower/no A/C) this is the place to stay. Price is great! When researching hotels in Egypt, it seems it's either very expensive (Four Seasons, Sherton, ect.) or very inexpensive but not the best accomodations.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVEME702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I arrived there early in the morning on the day I was booked in and they had no problem letting me have my room at 7.30am at no extra charge.
I have read some of the reviews that say that this is not a hotel but it is well worth the money you pay!
My room was clean enough and the ensuite was a bonus!

The staff were amazingly helpful and will do anything to try and make your stay more enjoyable.
I booked a tour of the pyramids through them which came with a private car (driven by one of the owners) and my own guide. The guide spoke brilliant English and had an extensive knowledge of the ancient Egyptians. He explained all the pyramids and surrounding relics in detail with out making it too long winded...perfect!!
His name is Waseem if you are wanting to book the same one.

They even let me put my bag at the hotel and sit in the common room on the day I left Cairo (I wasn't even staying there as I'd come on the overnight bus from Dahab).

If you are going in the next few weeks they are doing extensive renovations so there is some dust and noise but don't let it put you off. And the person that said that front of the building is a little shabby then they are correct but don't let that put you off either!

Amanda

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

This Christmas I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights during my trip to Cairo. I had to pay £12/night which is preety cheap and I did not expect much.

If I would asked to rate this hotel, I would rate it as a hostel. No way it is a hotel. I have got a proper sized room with private bathroom and staffs were with smiling face having workable english speaking ability.

The hotel is absolutely at the heart of Cairo City centre and all amenities are within walkable distance.

The hotel building is quite old and not clean. the look was bit odd and the fitings in toilets were of poor quality and certainly qualify for replacement. The wooden18th century windows are neither sound proof nor dustproof.

While I was in the hotel I was bit down in spirit due to its appearance.

They provided free high-speed wireless internet connection and free breakfast. Be careful, when I told breakfast it was just a couple of egyptian style hard breads and butter with bid pot of anted sugar. The also provided a cup of tea which demands a good determination due to the condition f the cup.

I will use this hotel again If I run out of money during my trip.

The best thing is they dont provide receipt for rent payment !!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloBudgetTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

If you're looking for a hotel in Cairo then don't stay here as it is a basic hostel and nothing more. They didn't even provide sheets or towels for us. The room was also very noisy due to Cairo's chaotic traffic with never ending tooting.

On the plus side the owner Mr Haitham is very helpful and can organise some good trips around Cairo for you. But when he isn't around the rest of the staff no very little english and ask you to talk to Mr Haitham when he is back later in the day. This would be OK but we never saw Mr Haitham during our 3 night stay other than when we arrived.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank View_from_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eloisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan_Zani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#44 of 139 in Cairo
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 139 in Cairo
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairo Moon Hotel
Cairo Moon Hotel
#6 of 61 in Cairo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cairo Paradise Hotel
Cairo Paradise Hotel
#1 of 61 in Cairo
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#3 of 61 in Cairo
57 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sakkara Inn Hotel
Sakkara Inn Hotel
#8 of 61 in Cairo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: 165 Mohamad Farid St, Cairo 506011, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range: $20 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander is the latest hotel opened in down town, Cairo. Opened on May 2009. By its perfect location, well furnished rooms and the decoration which make the place has a magical atmosphere , ''YOU WILL NEVER FORGET IT''Our location is the best . few steps to every where, the Egyptian national museum only two short streets by walk And the lovely River Nile is behind it , the subway stations are around us. Also for traveling only five Min walk to and from the main Cairo Bus station Elturgman, and the main Cairo train station Ramses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing