We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexander Hostel is nice!!!”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Alexander Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #22 of 60 Cairo B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 24, 2011

The Alexander hostel must say that this was very good, affordable, very comfortable rooms and excellent service, the hotel is very clean and has all services. I highly recommend it! Another important thing is that the hotel recommend you tour agencies that are also very good ..Good travel!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeny U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Alexander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

On reflection, I think Tripadvisor needs a 'hostel' section as well as hotel and B&B. This is definitely not a B&B in the sense I have become used to seeing reviewed in Tripadvisor. The ranking as the 7th out of 37 B&B's in Cairo is really quite misleading.
Indeed, the staff call this a hostel and not a hotel. The price is certainly hostel level (US$20 single), but so are the standards. The building is pretty old and not renovated. Alexander occupies part of the second floor and there is clearly no communal responsibility for common area cleanliness or the elevator which is a true antique.
Many of the rooms look out on a dark central light well which is used for airing bedding and dumping trash. The general atmosphere is quite dark and minimally furnished (bed, wardrobe, and bedside table only). The bathroom is small with shower on the wall which turns it into an unintended 'wet room'. The drains are ok, but do sometimes smell.
On the plus side, the staff are very pleasant and helpful, the location is really excellent, the wifi functions well, the rooms are ensuite with bathroom, and breakfast (though only rolls, processed cheese or jam, and tea) is free.
It would take quite a bit of work to turn this into a B&B in normal Tripadvisor style, but the building simply cannot be fixed. I do accept I have no experience of any other Cairo B&B's so this may be the norm.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Is a simple hostel in the cairo downtown for take a shower and sleep, but the especial in this hostel is their staff is a group of excelent people, haitsam ( the manager) was very hepful with us, he did like a miracle for only 400 dls p\p he organized a trip from aswan to cairo for us ,and we saw all that a tourist had to see. amadeus was our excellent spanish guide.these peoples love her job there are very professional. it was an excellent 8 days across egypt, thanks guys.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesus alberto p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Awesome service, the staff are friendly and helpful.
Great Location in Cairo downtown.
Breakfast is nice egyptian bread/jam and coffee which we were happy with.

This is a budget hotel so hence the rooms need work but they are clean.
My only issue was the bathroom which was too small. We aren't fussy though so we got over it quickly. I needed ear plugs for the airconditioner but again, we had them and I slept well.
Definitely come here if you want good service and low price and are realistic about what you are going to get.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visarun17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I've been traveling all around Egypt, staying in hostels at Luxor, Aswan and Dahab, definitely Alexander Hostel in Cairo is by far the best one! Friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, accurate tourist information and a very good-central location in Cairo!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NataliaRahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The people at the Hotel are very friendly, they helped out with any travel information that i needed and also helped with booking of tickets for further travel. They were helpful in teaching basic Arabic which made it easier and more fun for communication to the local people.
Had alot of fun at Alexander Hotel and came back every time i visited Cairo through out my trip in Egypt. Would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizwade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Vacation in Egypt was my cherised dream, I could get a trip with my best friend. We had to be sure that everything was perfect since we come from Mexico City, from plane ticket, transportation, visits to touristic sites. I highlight the service we were provided in this hotel: cleanliness, facilities, and the warm and professional attention from all employees, what is a must to us, and price is reasonable. Location is excellent also to make walks. Inshallah (as Egyptians say) I will come back and my choice will be again Alexander Hotel.

Room Tip: Separate beds for comfort.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egyptprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#43 of 139 in Cairo
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 139 in Cairo
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairo Moon Hotel
Cairo Moon Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cairo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cairo Paradise Hotel
Cairo Paradise Hotel
#2 of 60 in Cairo
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#3 of 60 in Cairo
57 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sakkara Inn Hotel
Sakkara Inn Hotel
#8 of 60 in Cairo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: 165 Mohamad Farid St, Cairo 506011, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range: $20 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander is the latest hotel opened in down town, Cairo. Opened on May 2009. By its perfect location, well furnished rooms and the decoration which make the place has a magical atmosphere , ''YOU WILL NEVER FORGET IT''Our location is the best . few steps to every where, the Egyptian national museum only two short streets by walk And the lovely River Nile is behind it , the subway stations are around us. Also for traveling only five Min walk to and from the main Cairo Bus station Elturgman, and the main Cairo train station Ramses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing