We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mandarin Hostel
Ranked #43 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The low budget "hotel" occupies part of a floor in a multipurpose building. Clearly, there are no building codes in Cairo because it seems someone bought part of a building to make into rooms. There is no common area so eating is done in the rooms. They are spacious. There are small balconies--ours did not have furniture on it and the beds were blocking the sliding door. The private bathroom was dirty as it looked like it had water/mildew damage. There was no separate shower area. The bathroom walls did not reach the top--look at the pics included on this site. You get what you pay for.

While the sheets had been washed, for some reason the top sheet was only about 3 feet across. I don't know when the blankets were last washed. The people working there were kind. You can use the microwave and stove to heat food. It is in Garden City which has some embassies. This is not like most embassy areas around the world. You still have the pollution, trash, and broken sidewalks of Cairo. Just a bit less noise and traffic since it is on a side road. There were no places to get food so the hostel can order food for you. While it is a mostly quiet stay--versus other parts of downtown, there isn't anything to do in the area. The professional photos on their website are very good. Check out the pics on this site.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
12
34
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We flew into Cairo on the 27th Nov 2011. We had booked the Juliana for our first stay in Cairo. Ahmed was there to pick us up as arranged (on booking the hotel they give you the option of free transfer to the hotel). This is simply a great little hotel, clean rooms, Miriam prepares a great breakfast, consisting of boiled eggs, fresh bread, fruit, spreads and cheese., plus tea or coffee or juice. The hotel is situated on the whole third floor of the building, so it was hard for taxi drivers to find it. There is a bank on the first floor. My husband and I felt like we were home when we stayed there. Jimmy, Ahmad, and Amir were all so friendly and helpful, The rooms are not huge but large enough for a couple, newly renovated bathrooms in each room, we stayed here on three seperate occassions while in Egypt for 5 wks. The one thing I really loved about it was you were free to make yourself tea or coffee anytime, and use the internet.
If you stay here you certainly get value for money. Location wise, its very close to the Egyptian Museum and Islamic and Coptic Cairo are a 15 minute drive. The only negative thing I would say is the lift often didn't work so we had to climb the three floors. Hany and his staff can organise tours for you.We took a tour to the four major Pyramid sites around Cairo, Giza, Memphis, Saqqara, and Dashur. which was terrific.

Room Tip: We had three different rooms, they have ones with balconies, and without, I'd ask for a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My family and I had made reservations for Juliana hotel and it was a confirmed reservation! They even charged my credit card with an advance for this purpose. But when we landed, no one was there to pick us up- we were baffled as this was our first time in Cairo and we were being hassled by random taxi drivers and we had a two-yr old with us. My brother called the hotel and Hany at Juliana Hotel rudely refused that we had ever made a reservation with them. He was extremely rude too. We then made our way to our alternative- Museum View Hotel whose staff was quite the contrary. They made up for the terrible Juliana hotel service and even arranged our tours in Cairo and elsewhere while saving us a ton of money with which we could travel to places we couldn't fit within our budget. When we went to confront Hany about our advance, he claimed complete ignorance. We had to dispute the charge with my bank! Lesson learned and we would suggest you reconsider booking with Juliana hotel and book with Museum View Hotel and Easy Travel Egypt or other hotels.

Room Tip: We ended up staying at a different Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel has excellant location and freindly (mr AHMAD) with hotel team with v good house keeping especialy all rooms with balcones contenenyal breakfast with free coffee and tea all the day plus free take out transport from the airport to the hotel .I will advise all f who are searching cheep nice hotel to book inreinds
PROF. ENGINEER M SWAISEH

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSWAISEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget-Théniers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

as it is my 6th time in Cairo, I tried many hôtels there, but if some were very nice and clean, most of them were vey crowdy. For the first time, I can say that I had peacefull sleep, which has no price in Cairo !
By the way, if you stay 4 nichts consequently, a taxi will pick you at the airport at any time.
The staff is more than friendly and as soon as you enter the place, you are considered as one of the family. Thanks to Ahmed, Jimmy, Mariam and Angie - sorry for the one I don't remember the name.
One thing was very important for me, as I get late : You can have your bereakfast from 8 am to 12 ! Even if you leave your room during afternoon, the room wil be cleaned.
I forgot to say that this is a small commun kitchen you can use, either to make sandwichs, make tea and so on ... whis is quite nice because you cannot always afford to go to restaurant, and sometimes you just need to eat salad or else.
At one time, I had small disagrement, as they did not have place for me when I got back from white desert. As I became friend with the coupe I went with, it was ok because we slept in a triple room.

Most of all, Hany the owner and his wife Marianne begun to run a brand new hôtel, which will be of course more expensive because 3 stars and view on Nile, but because of that desagrement I had with my room, they offered a night in this now hostel called "Nile season" - not "for seasons" even if it is very close. My God, I never slept in such a place in whole my life, I just felt like Sheherazade. This place is worth a 4 stars even if it is a 3 stars, and I thinks it would be perfect for honeymoon - Unlikely I'm too old for this -
Sorry if I've bee very long and I am so happy to know all those nice people that it looks as if I was doing advertising.
But jus all I said is so sincere !!!
Noelle

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelle_Puget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta, canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

I used the hotel pick up, which worked alright although a little crowded. Rooms were clean, showers were a bit of a hazard to try and contain the water into the basin without a curtain, but the water was hot. Area was nice and quiet at night, about a block to the Canadian embassy, maybe a 10-15 min walk to Tahir square/Egyptian Museum. Breakfast is a little basic bread, jam, boiled egg, and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aebAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stay here, this place is a hidden gem. The service here is amazing the staff are all friendly and do anything they can to help you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maverick_saf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.7 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#64 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamers Hotel
Dreamers Hotel
#54 of 139 in Cairo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.7 mi away
Egyptian Night Hotel
Egyptian Night Hotel
#3 of 50 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miami Cairo Hostel
Miami Cairo Hostel
#8 of 127 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Hostel

Property: Mandarin Hostel
Address: 8 Ibrahim Nagib | Garden City, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandarin Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap property hotel guesthouse in Cairo Egypt for Backpackers, families, Students or CouplesNewly opened in June 2008, Juliana Hotel is located in one of Cairo's high class areas (Garden City) beside embassies of Canada, USA, Italy, Belgium and England.In the same building, you'll find Western Union for money transfer, the Arab-African Bank, National Bank of Egypt and the Department of American University in Cairo.All rooms are clean and comfortable with '' Balcony - AC - TV with cable - cupboard - with and without bathroom - WI Fi ( wireless internet )''. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mandarin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing