We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also a great trip organizer”
Review of Mandarin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandarin Hostel
Ranked #54 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Hostel is ok and location is great! Close to the river and embassies in the neighborhood. But what I really wanted to mention is that they also arrange for trips (and I was advised to not travel on my own there). I had little time, so focused on the higlights and it only cost U$500/person (the next cheaper agent was charging over twice fo the same itinerary):

Nov 6th: accomodation at Juliana, Nile cruise and museum

Nov 7\8th: Trip to the piramids and Cairo, visiting mesquita, kahn el khalli. At night, transfer to train station to catch the overnight train to Luxor (tickets included).

Nov 8th: trips in Luxor: temples, valley of the kings and queens. Transfer to airport to catch flight to Sharm (ticket not included). Pick up at airport and transfer to Mt. Moses directly from the airport.

Nov 9th: sun rise at Mt. Moses (you have to hire a local beduin guide). We gave up visiting the monastery and asked to be taken directly to Dahab, where we would spend the last days of the trip.

Still in the price we had a day trip Colored and White canyons (amazing!) and transfer back to Sharm's airport. Tremendous value for money and impecable service. He didn't asked for any advance eventough he had to buy the train tickets: we paid full on arrival at very egyptian stile! On our last day in Cairo, the driver scheduled to take us to the train station didn't show up, so the guy from front desk went with us in a regular cab he waived at street.

Perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabianaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 118 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

Based on the reviews I saw for this hotel I booked in for 3 nights September 2011. I had problems finding the entrance as it looked nothing like the photos I had viewed. I had booked a superior room through the internet and now I see that the rate was more than they quote on the web site. On arriving I was shown two rooms that looked nothing like the ones on the web and was told there was a problem with the superior and offered one of two shown at a rate of $40 per night. As it was so late I agreed. There was one sheet only on the bed,no pillowcases,the tv did not work and there was no balcony or garden. Do they have more than one floor and I was just unfortunate?? Breakfast was very basic and eaten sat on the bed as there is nowhere else. Need less to say I was very dissapointed and checked out the next day. I moved to a 5 star for an extra $10 per night that was incredible. The two young chaps none of which are the ones mentioned were pleasant. I would not return

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrinkingworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

While I was vacationing in Cairo, Egypt this summer.. I came across a HOTEL called ..
"THE JULIANA".. and I have to say a big THANKYOU to the staff members who work their.. KAREEM, JIMMY, and TITO.. who all made me feel so welcomed during my month long stay.
They all made me feel like it just wasn't a hotel.. but a home away from home!
And if you want the BEST TOUR GUIDE who also works at the hotel.. then I would highly recommend AHMED ROSHDY. His knowledge and history of all that Egypt has to offer is incredible. He can accomodate you on anything your interested in seeing and your experience will be nothing short of amazing!!

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are nice... because you can sit outside and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debblyschuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I chose the Juliana after reading its very positive reviews on Tripadvisor. If you desire a great little hotel at an affordable rate--and don't require a luxurious 4- or 5-star hotel--then definitely choose the 3-star Juliana.

I treated my fiance Faiza and her best friend Khera (both from Tunisia) to a Cairo trip as they had never been to Egypt (nor flown on a plane) and I wanted to be absolutely sure that they had a safe, friendly staffed, well-located, nice and clean hotel with well-appointed rooms (all Juliana rooms have balconys) and ensuite full bathroom with shower. (Wi-Fi, A/C, TV and small fridge were included in their room.) My choice was correct as Faiza and Khera loved their stay at the Juliana.

My interactions with the owner, Hany, were excellent even though I conducted them by phone and email from NYC (yes, he speaks English). I even extended the girl's stay at the Juliana for a week as they were having so much fun in Cairo. Hany and his associates Karim and Tamer were very helpful and nice to them and I am very pleased about that.

Keep in mind that the Juliana is not on street level, as I found many hotels tend to be in Cairo, but located above the Arab-African Bank in the very nice Garden District. Also, though you may find it referred to as a "hostel" it is not a "youth hostel"--I notice that they tend to call many regular hotels in Cairo "hostels."

If you book the Juliana for your Cairo visit I think you'll be very happy with your choice!

Room Tip: I believe some rooms have hallway, as opposed to ensuite, showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel is in the center of old Cairo. It is close to the American and Canadian Embassies as well as the Cario Museum. Although it was dificult for our taxi driver from the hotel to find it, and although if you look at the building from the outside you have your cualms you are happily surprised at the accomodations the customer service, the friendliness with which they treat you here. We were suppose to be picked up at the airport but because we were travelling standby we had no real time of arrival so that is why they weren't able to pick us up. But that is okay they were really nice. They arranged our sightseeeing they gave us amazing tips on what to do and what not to. They had provided us with the most amazing guide that up to date we keep in contact with his name is yusef. They made it a very good experience. This is a not a 4 or 5 star hotel but for the price believe me when I tell you it is worth it, specially if you are looking for a safe, clean place. We were totally satisfied and personally we would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldis1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked this Hotel directly, on the internet and accepted the offer of a free airport pickup. The date we arrived in Cairo was the 11th of July. This all went went according to plan, until the car sudenly stopped in Tal'at Harb Street, Down Town and we were told to get out of the car and that the Juliana was closed due to plumbing problems, [our room was flooded] we were being transferred to a hotel of similar standards, in the buiding we were standing outside. This was a very poor neighbourhood, the hotel which was filthy, I have described it in detail. [See my review for Rotunda Palace Hotel]. We stayed one night and moved on to a better hotel the next day. I just question the validity of the previous review as they said they stayed in the Juliana July 2011. My husband went around to the Juliana four days later on the 15thof July, the door was padlocked a notice said the hotel was closed until further notice. A passing local man said it had been closed for months. So it would seem that we were lied to, the plumbing problem has not something that had just happened. It would have been helpful if Hany the manager had been up front with us when we met his driver at the airport, we then could have made decisions our selves as to where we wanted to be taken to.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank speckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

For a three-star hotel, Juliana exceeded any of my expectations. If anything, the professional yet still personalized treatment I received can not even be matched by any modern five-star hotel elsewhere.

Not only did they keep their word to help us around the city during these hard times, they've also made sure to escort us whenever we needed any directions or guidance, of course via their transportation (and in the event they are not able to transport you, all fares and expenses are on them).

What I loved the most was the sincerity of the staff, and the simplicity of all services and designs of the place. Mr. Ahmed, who was staff manager in charge at the time, was a delight to speak with.

I recommend this place to anyone who's looking for a very economic choice in the region, particular during these testing times. I guarantee you'll get from Juliana Hotel at least 150-200% the value you'd usually expect for your money anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quicksolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
5.2 mi away
Mesho Inn Hostel
Mesho Inn Hostel
#58 of 131 in Cairo
27 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.2 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#66 of 131 in Cairo
14 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.3 mi away
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
#6 of 131 in Cairo
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Hostel

Address: 8 Ibrahim Nagib | Garden City, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandarin Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap property hotel guesthouse in Cairo Egypt for Backpackers, families, Students or CouplesNewly opened in June 2008, Juliana Hotel is located in one of Cairo's high class areas (Garden City) beside embassies of Canada, USA, Italy, Belgium and England.In the same building, you'll find Western Union for money transfer, the Arab-African Bank, National Bank of Egypt and the Department of American University in Cairo.All rooms are clean and comfortable with '' Balcony - AC - TV with cable - cupboard - with and without bathroom - WI Fi ( wireless internet )''. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing