We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wake UP Cairo Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Ranked #14 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here by default. I originally made reservation with Freedom Hostel, but they had a plumbing problem and secure me a room at Wake Up Hostel. I am not going to lie, at first I was in shock for the stage of the streets, building and even the elevator. All very run-down, but not the fault of the hostel. Once I crossed the glass door into the hostel I found a cosy reception desk, clean comfortable common areas and a very helpful staff. I was tired from a long flight and irritated with the "dirtiness" of the city and the change in accommodation without warning. The guy at reception understood my confusion and allow me his phone and internet to check the story with Freedom Hostel. Once resolved to check in, I found the place to be central: walk distance to egyptian museum, bus stop, etc. I got directions and advice on places to eat and where to go. I only stay that first night, but towards the end of my trip along Egypt, I came back for my last day in Cairo to be with Wake Up. They organized a room for day use (arrived to Cairo at 7 am and my flight was late that night), use of all facilities with a small charge.
If you looking for a clean place and helpful staff this is the place to stay in Cairo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    25
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
29
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was very lucky to stay at wake Up Hostel it is very clean and quit . It is at the 7th floor and there is two elevators . The location is amazing it is located about two minutes from The Egyptian Museum . The staff was very friendly and helpful . They organized for me tours to Old Cairo,Giza Pyramids,Sakkara,Memphis,Baharya Oasis,Louxor and Aswan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aldo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My twin sister and I stayed here for 5 days while visiting Cairo. The staff was really freindly and helpful especially when we needed to get our India visa. The place has great view of Cairo, has a great location, offers breakfast and has hot showers! Some nights were a little noisy due to a wedding on the street but still overall a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wake up Cairo hostel is defo the place to be for young travellers. The hostel is in the heart of Cairo 5mins from the museum and Tahrir square. I'm a solo backpacker and stayed here for 5 days made tons of pod friends both other traveller fellows and the extremely nice and friendly staff at the hostel. The dorm and the rooms are clean and spacey. I love it and can't recommend it enough. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weennguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

... don't advertise having a common room with a TV available if your staff is just going to be watching it (in Arabic stations) throughout the entire day without regard to any paying customers who might want to spend a few minutes flipping the stations. Not sure why Lonely Planet was gushing over how nice the staff is. They seem pretty indifferent to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was my first time in Cairo and this hostel was great. The location is extremely central being minutes away from the Egyptian museum, tahrir square, the metro, etc. The staff were great. They were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I'll probably end up staying here again when I pass through in the fall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chr_chr55065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

this was my 2nd time to visit Egypt.it was Incredible value for money.i was absolutely impressed. What i got for 9 euros? - Perfect location: 2 minutes from the museum and Tahrir Square - Clean room and WC - Breakfast included- Staff was very friendly. Despite early arrival (5 hours before the check-in time) they allowed me to check in. I would definitely recommend it to everybody looking for cheap and quality stay in Cairo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
8.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 141 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
313.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#3 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#1 of 126 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
One Season Hostel
One Season Hostel
#3 of 126 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dahab Hostel
Dahab Hostel
#2 of 126 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cairo International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake UP Cairo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake UP Cairo Hostel

Property: Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Address: 33 A Ramsis st., Marouf Tower, 7th floor, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wake UP Cairo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing