We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wake UP Cairo Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Ranked #14 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My twin sister and I stayed here for 5 days while visiting Cairo. The staff was really freindly and helpful especially when we needed to get our India visa. The place has great view of Cairo, has a great location, offers breakfast and has hot showers! Some nights were a little noisy due to a wedding on the street but still overall a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    25
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
29
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wake up Cairo hostel is defo the place to be for young travellers. The hostel is in the heart of Cairo 5mins from the museum and Tahrir square. I'm a solo backpacker and stayed here for 5 days made tons of pod friends both other traveller fellows and the extremely nice and friendly staff at the hostel. The dorm and the rooms are clean and spacey. I love it and can't recommend it enough. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weennguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

... don't advertise having a common room with a TV available if your staff is just going to be watching it (in Arabic stations) throughout the entire day without regard to any paying customers who might want to spend a few minutes flipping the stations. Not sure why Lonely Planet was gushing over how nice the staff is. They seem pretty indifferent to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was my first time in Cairo and this hostel was great. The location is extremely central being minutes away from the Egyptian museum, tahrir square, the metro, etc. The staff were great. They were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I'll probably end up staying here again when I pass through in the fall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chr_chr55065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

this was my 2nd time to visit Egypt.it was Incredible value for money.i was absolutely impressed. What i got for 9 euros? - Perfect location: 2 minutes from the museum and Tahrir Square - Clean room and WC - Breakfast included- Staff was very friendly. Despite early arrival (5 hours before the check-in time) they allowed me to check in. I would definitely recommend it to everybody looking for cheap and quality stay in Cairo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Found this hostel through lonely planet, was expecting the rooms and toilet to be cleaner. We spent two of our first nights in Cairo there and to be honest for the price of a double room we found many better options than Wake UP. The staff though are friendly and pretty nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_Lin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is an oustanding hostel, especially for the cost. You are right next to Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum in the heart of downtown and can get to anywhere in Cairo from bus depot or never ending line of taxis. The hostel in managed by a great staff. They were all friendly, helpful, and fun to chat with. The hostel is not very big, so it has a nice charm to it as some hostels feel like you are bunking up in a mental institution. I really enjoyed talking with Peter who works the front desk. This is a very trustworthy place as I found out upon checking out when I had left my passport and money under my bed. A cleaning lady turned it in and I was relieved of what would have been a true dilemma. I would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: The common area have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deep W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.5 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.3 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#12 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,995 reviews
8.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 140 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dahab Hostel
Dahab Hostel
#2 of 126 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#1 of 126 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake UP Cairo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake UP Cairo Hostel

Property: Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Address: 33 A Ramsis st., Marouf Tower, 7th floor, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wake UP Cairo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing