We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Experience!!! It's too dirty! I moved to another hotel next day!!!”
Review of Venice Hosokawaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venice Hosokawaya
Ranked #23 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I thought since it's managed by Japanese women, it might no need to be worried. But actually it's my most terrible experience to stay in bgt hotel. The people in this hotel are all friendly , and they won't bother you to convince you to buy their trip. But it's really too dirty!!! I stayed in a double room without shower. The bed is sinking, almost broken. You can see the dust is cover on the corner of floor. The pillow and the towel looks unclean. The sharing shower, Oh! God! the floor is full of wet hair. and the shower water is too small, only 2 choices: hot and cold, no warm. Outside of hotel, the stair is too tattered, as a girl, I can't walk down by myself in night! I have to moved to another hotel. If you can speak En, pls choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosokawaya, Owner at Venice Hosokawaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2010

This is to address the June 7, 2010 review.

Thank you for your recent review of the Venice Hosokawaya Hotel. We're sorry that we couldn't address your issues with our facilities earlier, however we will do so here.

'Condition of the buildings'

Any visitor to Cairo will note that the majority of buildings are old and in a state of deterioration. This is mostly because Egypt is a developing country and has gone through two wars, multiple recessions and a multitude of other issues that have left a significant amount of the infrastructure in an otherwise non-photogenic state.

In short, downtown Cairo has seen better days.

Our hotel is an exception to the rule when it comes to budget accommodation. We run a clean ship and our operations are up front and every customer knows what they're getting up front, no strings attached, no hidden fees. We will happily show any of our potential customers any of the property and rooms.

'Beds and residual dust'

We have also finished a three week remodel of the hotel, including the replacement of all of the beds by the end of the year.

We are not the Mayo clinic, however we run a pretty tight ship.


Hot water systems that are not from the early twentieth century are relatively new in Egypt. There's two knobs for hot and cold water respectively. Any adult who has a little patience will learn how to operate the controls to get warm, luke warm, or steaming hot water. What we have for hot/cold water distribution is what is the standard for the country.

We are Japanese/Egyptian owned, and we buy our fixtures from what is currently available on the market here in Cairo.

'Pillow & Towel'

Everything is CLEAN. Once a pillow case, towel or sheet is used, it is deposited in the laundry. That is the baseline standard.

Our budget calls for replacement of linen items on the basis of usability and quality. Everything may not look new like it was bought yesterday, however we assure you it is clean and looked after.

We set the standard high for our cleanliness and appearance.


I've traveled to three continents, and its common - expected in fact - for wet hair to be in a wet shower after its been used by multiple people.

We clean are showers after the morning use and we clean them well, and yes, after the use by five or ten people, there will be hair. Not surprising. However we keep our showers and Hammam CLEAN! No exceptions.

We also PROVIDE shower shoes for the traveler that hasn't brought their own.


Once again, we encourage most people to make a mature and descriptive review of our facilities. If something is not up to your expectations, ask our friendly staff and we will accommodate as best as we can.

As an example, we've had vegetarians stay with us before who've requested a vegetarian breakfast and we were easily able to accommodate.

The same goes for most other requests to make a guest's stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you,

Owner & Staff
Venice Hosokawaya Hotel
Cairo, Egypt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2009

Some travelers might be put off immediately - there are much better accomadations elsewhere in Cairo (and much worse) - but, for the adventurous traveler, I say give it a try. Things that might initially turn you off: The colonial-era building has seen better days, the elevator sits decrepit at the ground floor around the corner from the closet somebody lives in. The staff will try and sell you their "excursions" but so will the staff at almost any hostel in Egypt (just make up a story, they'll eventually give up). Also, and perhaps most importantly for some travelers, the bed linens are not washed for your arrival. All of the sheets (I stayed here for over a month so I witnessed this) are washed about once a week. The beds are not particularly comfortable either. However, with all of the above said, I still recommend this hostel. First and foremost, the price is nearly unbeatable. When I stayed here in '07 the price of a dorm room was 15 Egyptian Pounds - less than 3 USD a day. On top of that, a meager breakfast was usually included. I say usually because they had a weird system of breakfast hours that seemed to change every day and which some times left you searching for your own breakfast...which brings me to the next perk: There is a market (souk) directly downstairs from the building. Here there is a bakery, all manner of fruits and vegetables, snack/drink stores, cheese, eggs, etc. Be aware, the hostel might try to charge you 2 Egyptian Pounds to use their kitchen. You can perhaps try to work out a long term arrangement with them to cut down that cost but, in the end, 2 Egyptian pounds is not much for your average, perhaps "western," traveler. To bring this review to a close, I'll mention one more perk and one more drawback. The perk: the balcony. Great place to meet other travelers and soak in the sounds of Cairo. A potential drawback: There is a speaker system for a mosque directly above the balcony and the call to prayer will issue forth from it quite loudly five times a day (including dawn, it might wake you up too...). It is what it is. It's part of the culture, if you are that put off by it, you might want to question why you are in Egypt in the first place. Good luck!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PostedPeregrinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

This is a great hostel.Great staff, especially Soni, the morning manager. We had come in to cairo for 2 days and were heading to luxor and abu simbel for 3 days.We hadnt booked anything and were going with the adage of getting things done when we get there, we had no clue how but figured we would do something!

Soni, not only helped to arranged every thing in those 3 days for us...he did it in the few hours before we were leaving for Luxor..we not only got a pick up and drop to/from the hostel to/from the airport, all pick up and drops from luxor airport, luxor train station, aswan train station ...were included. The hotels we stayed in both luxor and for a few hours in aswan were good, clean places, in the middle of everything!for a very reasonable price, which even included the convy to abu simbel and guided tours of east and west bank..we honestly could not have asked for more!

This is just one example of how the staff at Venice was. Everyone from the owner to the serving bot were corteous and always willing to help out.Breakfast was a filling affair, one eaten on the balconey with others. Since the hostel is Japanese, we were a few of the non japanese staying there. And i throughly enjoyed mingling with japanese tourists, comparing notes, just sitting in the reception.

There had been a mix up in our rooms, because of which the owner included drop of to the airport as a way of apology as well!Free pick up if you stay over 3 days helps you so much when yyou have come in from an international flight exhausted!The private room with a private bath was alright, i felt the bad could have been bigger as well as the private bathroom, but the double and triple bed bedrooms were quite huge but no bathroom with them!Less people, very very clean space is what i enjoyed the most...Just the quiet atmosphere is also what i liked..no alcohol..no drugs, no noise..just people mingling, coming going!

The locaction is PRIME!!!with a 24-7 fruit market below...and things open around it ALL THE TIME!!!downtown is a 15 min walk..and mcdonalds and adidas are across the corner!!I kid you not!

Venice hosokowaya is a total familly place and we actually met a lot of people living with their families there!

Its a small hostel which is a def plus!
On the whole a great experience..if i go back to egypt i am def going to stay there again!!

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Codettta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank jksdn883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank 崎山清貴
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dwbhba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Shoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.2 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#66 of 130 in Cairo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
#6 of 130 in Cairo
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#2 of 130 in Cairo
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#1 of 63 in Cairo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Hosokawaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Hosokawaya

Address: 4 Souk Al Tawfikiya Street | 4th Floor, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range: $14 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the exclusive Japanese Hostel in all of Cairo and Egypt. Our standards of excellence in service and cleanliness are unsurpassed by competitively priced accommodation here in Cairo. We are the only hostel that is run by an independent joint Japanese/Egyptian venture. Our resident managers are all fluent in Japanese, Arabic and English and will be happy to give you any information that you need during and after your stay in Cairo and Egypt. High Speed Wi-Fi internet access is available free of charge. We do free airport pick up or transfer if you stay more than 3 nights with us in single or double room. Along with our excellent staff and services we offer hotel reservation. Domestic & International airfare reservation. 1st class seating train ticket reservation. Sleeper Car train ticket reservation. Tour packages with your choice of 25 different and exciting itineraries. Arrangement for Arabic lessons and classes as individual or in groups. We are only a short fifteen minute's walk from the famous Egyptian museum and Ramses railway station. Get captured by the Venice Hosokawaya hostel ... !!!!!!!!Travelers should note:@ Our hostel doesn't allow non-married males and females to stay together in the same room, however, male and female dorm rooms are available.@ Drinking of alcohol is not permitted anywhere on the hostel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Venice Hosokawaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing