We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for- maybe less....”
Review of Arabian Nights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arabian Nights
Ranked #8 of 54 Cairo B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for- maybe less....”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I would not stay here again, even if I had the slightest inclination of going back to Cairo. It was generally a bad experience- no taxi driver can find the place, the air-conditioning is stuck on one temperature, the light in the bathroom was broken, I could feel the springs of the mattresse, the bathroom drain stank, people were shouting outside of the room in the middle of the night and the breakfast was abominable (REALLY bad). Also, the hotel sold us a boat trip down the Nile- with dinner....even if you do decide to stay here, DON'T fall for this- I felt like I was at a budget wedding (lasers, cheesy live music, belly dancer etc) in the 60's, the food was old-age home Sunday roast standard- don't waste your money.

I was also stuck without water in the middle of my shower in the morning...apparently the whole street was dry, but it was the cherry on top of a mountain of disappointment!

Pros: a bed, cheap and good wi-fi...and the location if you want the local downtown slum vibe.

Females, unfortunately I recommend covering up, unless you want to get oggled at the whole time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    12
    4
    9
See reviews for
13
30
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel here is pretty standard. The rooms are decent size, clean and there was a mini fridge in our room, fast wifi, and the location is nice and central in Cairo. You get breakfast included which is bread, eggs, jam & cheese, fruit and coffee which we thought was really good! Where Arabian nights really stands out though is their staff. EVERY single person from Hassan at the front desk to the guys working upstairs at breakfast, even the owner Abraham was BEYOND nice and helpful. Truly I would stay there again just because the staff was so exceedingly friendly. They set up a day tour of all the pyramids for us which was also great. Pics are Amazing! You can see on our travel site [www.chasethesummer.com|http://chasethesummer.com]
I know every places has it flaws, so I'll give full disclosure and say the shower wasn't great ( no pressure when the shower head was on the wall so you have to hold it in your hands) but really it wasn't that big a deal to us, we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed two nights - great location (not as noisy as I expected) if you want to stay in Islamic Cairo. Clean rooms and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yangtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

"spick and span" are the words that i would describe the cleanliness of the hotel.

i am also very impressed with the wifi speed, even from the room. One of the fastest speed i could get during my stay in Egypt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is my fourth time over the last three years staying at this hotel. The staff are very friendly, speak very good English and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Rooms are a reasonably sized and very clean with AC and satellite TV.

The rates at this hotel coupled with the friendliness at the hotel has made it a pleasant stay for me. For sure I will return again and again because I feel as though this hotel has become my second home.

Hotel is located close to the Khan Khalili Bazar and the world renowned Azhar mosque and University.

Room Tip: Its best to go with the private ensuite if you are willing to spend that bit more. But there are ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The staff is so helpful and nice. The price is perfect for limited budgets and students. If you want a real feel on Cairo and it's inhabitants, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yorkers in Ladakh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

In historic Darassa, where you can enjoy old Islamic Cairo, this family-run hotel was a pleasure. I had stayed at a 'five-star' hotel Mena House in Giza, and it did not have the personal charm of this place. Breezy shaded area on the roof to read and relax, hospitable owner Mohammed and his family..a welcome one night respite at the end of a journey. Wish I'd heard about it on the front end of the trip....you can walk from the hotel to Alzar park, the Islamic art museum, several famous mosques...

Room Tip: just ask - they will make sure you are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkersinladakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
4.6 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#65 of 137 in Cairo
39 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 137 in Cairo
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Nights

Property: Arabian Nights
Address: 10 Al Aded St off of Mansouria Street | Darassa, Islamic Cairo, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Arabian Nights 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to have won the TripAdvisor 2012 Award of Excellence. Come let our friendly, energetic staff help you discover the true charm of Cairo. Enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms, free breakfast, free wifi and complimentary hot drinks anytime on our gorgeous rooftop. We have thirty air-con rooms available with private bath and satellite TV. We also offer shared facilities. Members of our highly trained staff are fluent in both English and French. They are ready to facilitate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Arabian Nights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Nights Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing