We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average hotel, central but noisy location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cairo El Borg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average hotel, central but noisy location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent a couple of nights in this hotel and it was a very average experience. Rooms are your consistent Novotel standard, dinner is good and wifi is overpriced. Check in and check out could have been quicker. The price was reasonable but it's not somewhere I'd like to stay longer than 2 nights

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mali81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Cairo El Borg. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Abdellatif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    252
    98
    43
    31
See reviews for
108
144
90
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at this location during 3 nights. The location is super, near the metro station and within walking distance to restaurants and the famous Tahir Square. It has a relaxing top roof spa/café with views of the city on a clear day the Giza pyramids can be viewed. The staff is friendly the rooms are minimalist spacious with hardwood floors.

Room Tip: Upper rooms for the best city views I preferred river views toward the Cairo Museum and Tahir Square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TustinCAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Cairo El Borg We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Abdellatif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel met my expectations, it was good value for money. The hotel is located in a good location and near downtown area, it is very near to Tahrir square but it was safe and not dangerous. Everyone at hotel was nice and friendly, and quite helpful as well. Rooms are really clean and beds are comfortable. I think it is okay to stay here if you don't mind minimum hotel facility and services. The room service food was quite delicious, it was above average. Would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Semistark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Cairo El Borg We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Abdellatif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

the rooms are clean and nice, but the staff there are not experienced. first time to call the reception without an answer!!
at the breakfast time, we went to the restaurant, it was completely empty!! the food was there except for the bakery things but no body to server. they told us that the bakery is made fresh and we spent more than 30 min waiting and they brought us some bad bread to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maged_eish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Cairo El Borg. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Abdellatif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I enjoyed the wonderful sunset time on the hotel roof. With a very nice food quality and friendly staff with a speedy service despite the crowded place at sunset time in Ramdan(Iftar) .The weather in august was surprisingly refreshing to the extent that we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MohamedElaasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your Iftar at Novotel Cairo El Borg We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your visit at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Abdellatif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel met expectations as a typical Novotel property. Service all around was friendly and efficient. Included breakfast was very good, with large selection of food. Location is great - central to attractions without being too close to Tahrir Square, where demonstrations take place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubakjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Madame

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Cairo El Borg We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Abdellatif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've been here before and was just here in June and its gone downhill.
I would stay here again- as long as the price remained below $60.
It's simply not worth more than that.

I have to be honest- its fine. There is nothing wrong with it, but its just got so much potential to be so excellent- and its not. It could be the new Cairo Hilton with its rooftop cafe bar and its nice pool garden. But its average.

The rooms are clean, and well appointed. Some others moaned about the noise I heard nothing. The cleaning crew are brilliant.

The receptionists were busy stressed and did their job reasonably. But I became rather irate at simple questions not being answered. This is unusual in a nation as friendly as Egypt.

The breakfast waiters showered attention on my wife when I was not around- and when I turned up I had to bark at them to get coffee. Unlike some people, I don't mind them being friendly to a pretty girl as long as they get my coffee too. Small point- I know, but Egypt is a nation of excellent service, customer service and friendlyness. (in spite of a few other shortcomings- That's why I like the place.). This place was not up to Egypts high standards.

The internet was HORRENDOUSLY expensive. So I used my vodaphone dongle. I suggest all travellers get dongles in every country they go to.

The hotel is also dry- as in no booze. You can take it to your room (if that's what you feel like doing) but you cannot have a beer on the roof terrace or by the pool. You used to be able to do so in the past, but they have gone dry. I did not drink at all in Cairo for health reasons.

BUT- In my opinion, this is absolutely incompatible with its Accor Status. The IBIS hotel in Dubai has an excellent well stocked bar, and thats a 2 star hotel.. If this was Saudi Arabia or Sudan, I would have no problem with the dry status, as that is prescribed by local law. But in Cairo? The cultural heart of the middle east, a secular nation? Very strange.

Again I would stay again as long as the prices are low. If they get anywhere near the $85 mark then I'll pay $100 and stay in a real hotel, or downgrade and stay in Midan Talaat Harb.

So all in all- A nice IBIS hotel. Maybe they should rebrand and lower the prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turkbalikadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Cairo El Borg. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Abdellatif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#11 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#41 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo El Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo El Borg

Property: Novotel Cairo El Borg
Address: 3 Saraya El Gezira street Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Cairo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo El Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your Novotel Cairo El Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo El Borg Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing