We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay at Novotel El Borg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Ranked #23 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We staying in the Novotel El Borg and by and large, enjoyed it. We had an ordinary rooms which was large and the bed was king size and comfortable. The shower room was also of a good size. We weren't on a B&B deal, so breakfast struck us as expensive, especially compared with the prices of the evening meals. That said, it was a buffet with a wide variety of food, catering to an equally wide variety of tastes. The evening menu had a wide range of dishes and was good value. I enjoyed all the meals I ate there.

The hotel is dry, but the fruit cocktails on offer were excellent and a real eye-opener to what you can achieve with different fruits. Although I didn't use the hotel swimming pool I had a good look at it and it's kept very clean and it was attractive, much more so than in the photographs on the website.

The hotel faces the Nile and backs onto the Teacher's Club, which consists of a park and covered market type area. The Teacher's Club is popular every night with families and on a couple of nights there was loud drumming from wedding celebrations, complete, in one case, with a whirling dervish. I found all this fascinating and the club seemed to close at 10pm so it didn't keep us awake.

There aren't any restaurants terribly close by: you'll need to walk down the Nile for about 10 minutes or so to floating restaurants, but there are several of these: Nile City and El Pasha are good with several different types of restaurant on board (the latter serving alcohol).

We didn't take any taxis from outside the hotel, but walked a short way down the road and hailed one. Taxi drivers can spot a westerner from some distance so getting a taxi just isn't a problem and they are cheap. It's not too far from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian museum. We were there in the run-up to the referendum and although there were some problems in the Square itself, they did not affect us or our stay. Egyptians are very keen for people still to go to Egypt and we had a great time.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a cash machine in the foyer and a travel desk for those who want to arrange trips - a friend of ours was in the travel business, so we did not use the hotel's travel desk, but the prices for the trips looked reasonable.

Tipping is expected and you'll find that trying to keep a lot of small denomination notes is not always easy - even banks want to give you large denominations E£200 or so, but they will give you smaller ones if you insist. US dollars are accepted everywhere. The hotel bill can be paid in E£, $ or Euros, but not sterling. We paid in E£.

Overall, a good stay in a clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Madame, Sir

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 743 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

It was wonderful trip and wonderful stay. The hotel has an excellent location with friendly service. The room is spacious and comfortable. The access to the hotel is easy. If I plan to go again,I will choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Mohamad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Madame, Sir

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahbannaga
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights, rooms are clean, breakfast is awesome..Nile view was great...bit noisy, 5 minutes walk to Tahrir squar. Hotel staff were all polite and very helpful, but there was no wifi...that was not so good.....despite that fact that theu had a free apple station with like 15 minutes of internet acess. Anyway I enjoyed a good stay and would definitly stay there again..

Room Tip: Nile view, but ask for higher floors to avoid niose from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeirutMustang1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Madame, Sir


First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viclousa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canarycap
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our room was facing Nile. It was too noisy besides the great view.
The hotel is probably 3 years old, but the rooms looks like 13 years extensively used.
No wifi, but free secure parking.

The hotel needs more for verdict like good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Sir

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies regarding the noisy
At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 139 in Cairo
2,503 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
1,632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo El Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo El Borg

Address: 3 Saraya El Gezira street Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Cairo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $97 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo El Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairo El Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo El Borg Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing