We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good 4 star property with good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cairo El Borg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“good 4 star property with good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here here with my wife during the fag end of our Egypt trip, good business hotel with clean rooms,clean toilets, and a very nice cute little pool and jacuzzi.Great location overlooking the nile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rajarshipanigrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir ,
First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg
we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    265
    104
    47
    33
See reviews for
119
149
100
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Nice hotel in good location just by the "Borg" (the tower of Cairo) right next to it is the 6th October bridge and floating boats of Blue nile and Saraya where you can have dinner and party on weekends.

everything was nice, clean room, clean bathroom and service was nice, very polite employees, the only thing that I didn't like was the noise from a maintenance guy cleaning windows early morning, and I couldn't sleep properly.

I might go back to the same hotel but after I make sure that there is no maintenance work in it. since it has a quite location, because generally in Egypt drives use the horns alot, even if the road is empty.. wierd!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the main road windows (nile view) drivers use the horns alot. check the room before you check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Sir,
First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg

we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks!

Internet was WAY overpriced at 700 Egyption Punds per week and that was per machine! Too expensive for Egypt. Also- THERE IS NO BAR!!!! They do not serve alcohol. I was so shocked. It was really inconvenient to have to go to other hotels for a drink! The attached travel agency overcharged me for their car service a couple of times.....changing the price last minute.

Not everything was bad......room service and restaurant staff were nice and professional.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road may be better because rooms facing the Tower have to endure late evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank U99A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Madame,Sir
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Cairo El Borg. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Front desk staff lazy and unhelpful, I saw/heard several guests loosing their cool with them. Never got my wake up call - good thing I backed up with my iphone alarm. Had to have my room key replaced 4 TIMES in a 1 night stay. Had to ask 3 times for a extra pillow and ice bucket. Hotel is dry so if you like a cocktail/beer/wine there are a FEW other hotels in this area that supply, we had a mini fridge that was completely empty no soda or water but wouldn't have mattered anyway as it's only for show, it doesn't get cold at all !

I am a world travel and Cairo was the worst place I have been, thank God we only spend 1 night and a day to tour and then GET OUT! There is garbage everywhere, the worst infrastructure ever seen (ugly) - buildings are falling down every way, I have never seen thicker smog in my life the air pollution is unbelievable, beggars are very aggressive even with a local guide to back them off. The Nile river is a joke and filthy, it's full of flashing disco light boats all pumping out there own music trying to be louder then the next, we had to sleep with ear plugs but that still didn't do the trick completely, it went on until 3am in the morning.

I'm happy to have seen the ancient sites but I will NEVER go back!

Room Tip: There are other hotels for the same value that have a liquor license if that is something important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaBelle7226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Sir , Madame
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent
stay at Novotel Cairo El Borg.
We have noted your comments with regard to the absence of alcoholic drinks in the bar and the standard of hospitality provided by reception staff, and we can certainly appreciate your disappointment, please accept our apologies.
We value all feedback that we receive from our guest and will use it constructively towards improving the service that we provide In the same way, the front office staff has been advised of your comments.
They have been reminded that maintaining a high standard of hospitality is an essential part of their daily work. Every measure has been taken to ensure that all our guests are greeted with courtesy and professionalism.
Satisfying our customers is of paramount importance and I hope we will have an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment and regain your confidence in our service.
Yours sincerely,
Abdellati Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great central location in Cairo, every aspect was good except I find it weird & unacceptable that they do not allow us to take photograph in restaurant where we are now in the world of social media. Not only it causes some dissatisfaction to guest but also losses another chance of promoting via social media

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Madame,Sir

First I would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg
we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg , regarding the photos in the public areas as we value the privacy of other customers , I assure to you that it was a misunderstanding we apologized for it.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Cairo El Borg

Thank You
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

people at the front office not skilled at all and not professional. They told us that the roof was available for us all times, but every time i wanted to enjoy the view at the evening it wasn't available. This also applies to the gym which they told us was available all times but it turned out that it was available all times EXCEPT 6 pm and they did not inform me with this information before.
They also had this place called "Arjeela" which they always add things to your bill that you did not order. So every single time i bought stuff from there i have to call them and tell them that i did not buy what they put in my bill which was a waste of time and it's something not even close to professionalism.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansour A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Cairo El Borg. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Service was good, Room have good view on Nile, some Noise from the restorant in night.
Location very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahmood_ghassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experienceI , we very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Cairo El Borg.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.
Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward .
We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel
thank you.
Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo El Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo El Borg

Property: Novotel Cairo El Borg
Address: 3 Saraya El Gezira street Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Cairo
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo El Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Cairo El Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo El Borg Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing