We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Good Location”
Review of Bedouin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bedouin Hostel
Ranked #74 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good Location”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at Bedouin with my daughter on a visa run to Cairo. We were welcomed with a nice hibiscus tea and the staff was very friendly. Our room was a good size and the AC worked wonderfully (which was important since it was Aug.) We were within walking distance to Egyptian Museum. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for an inexpensive, simple place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic_JC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
4
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hostel was difficult to find. Our taxi driver drove us around for more than an hour asking pedestrians where it was. The first impression is shocking. Dirty and dingy. Very basic accommodation. The bathroom is not a proper one. Shower and toilet right beside each other with a drain which was blocked and filling up up the floor with dirty water (I had to buy flip flops to wear in the shower). Definitely of hostel quality. Breakfast is basic, tea, while rolls and a boiled egg. Be warned that almost everyone in Egypt smokes and this is not different in this hostel. The only saving grace was the kindness of the owner, Kareem. He and everyone else goes out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. They were supposed to pick us up at airport but forgot, make sure of your arrangements with them. Near to restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Urdorf, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Pro:
- Very good location, coffeehouses in front.
- Little car noise
- Ok value for money
- Good and working Free WiFi
- Very friendly Staff

Con:
- Not the cleanest
- We had to make VERY clear we didn't want a tour until they gave up on that.
- Doors do not shut properly, you hear every noise from the kitchen and the common area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissbelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed here with a large group in August 2010. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The airconditioning was perfect. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpfull! The hostel is on a central location; there are a lot of restaurants outside which you can choose from. International restaurants (McDonald's etc.) were also within walking distance.
We had a wonderful experience in Egypt and we would definitely recommend travellers to stay at the Bedouin Hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetshady89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

The hostel itself is average. The bathroom water pipe broke at 3am and showered the entire room (there’s just a half wall between the bathroom and our bed). All our clothes and luggage got wet. They cleaned the room by afternoon but the room still smells. Someone once commented they booked their excursions through Bedouin and got ripped off. Same thing here! Once we got into the hired car we were pressured to pay for whatever they asked for and forced to buy at their designated stores. We were driven to be cheated!! We were told that we can take our time at the pyramids if we pay around USD100 per person but ended up being rushed back less than 3 hours. The route wasn’t what they said it would be and we only get to touch one pyramid for 15 mins and didn’t even get a close look of the other two. The tour guide was actually a camel driver who barely speaks English. He even rode on the camel with my husband so he doesn’t have to walk all the distance (we later learned he's not suppose to do that). The whole camel ride experience was terrible and totally ruined the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This hostel is very basic, but if you are like me and travel on a budget, it just might be the place for you. When I travel, I am out and about doing things all day and so I only need a place to shower and sleep. If this is also your style of traveling the Bedouin Hostel/Hotel is for you. There is no TV but I don't care about that....the beds were clean and comfortable enough, there was A/C that worked quite well and a clean bathroom....that's all I needed and I got it at a great price. The staff is also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chwongris
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2009

The staff made this hostel. They were very friendly with good advice that didn't steer us in any touristy places. Their english is excellent. We also felt very secure with our valuables. Room was clean and had hot water. Bread and tea included for breakfast. Would defietely stay here again on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chwongris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
10.7 mi away
Sakkara Inn Hotel
Sakkara Inn Hotel
#8 of 58 in Cairo
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sakan 275
Sakan 275
#22 of 127 in Cairo
9 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
One Season Hostel
One Season Hostel
#9 of 127 in Cairo
109 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.1 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#65 of 127 in Cairo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedouin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Hostel

Property: Bedouin Hostel
Address: 4 Elwy St., Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Bedouin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing