We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location and lots of obliging staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City View Hotel
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, great location and lots of obliging staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

City view lived up to our expectations with plenty of friendly obliging staff. It was exceedingly well organised with ample breakfasts. We took several tours organised by the efficient Salam with Alfie, a very competent and erudite guide. The drivers were skilled at navigating Cairo's gridlock traffic. The hotel overlooks Tahrir Square on one side and the Egyptian Museum on the other, very good for watching the locals plus there are plenty of restaurants and ATMs close by. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel as good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    125
    44
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
106
69
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for a night while on a long layover. It was easy to arrange pick-up at the airport, and the hotel is very well located in the center of Cairo. Great views of Tahir Square and the museum. The rooms very extremely neat and nicely decorated. They also helped me arrange a quick tour to Giza. I would 100% come back here, and would strongly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The rooms on the square are a bit noisier, but then you do get the view of Tahir Square/the museum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We chose / booked a triple room by emails and used free taxi pick-up (since tourists avoid Tahrir Square area these days). Room was comfortable and big enough but bathroom was just perfect. A small tidy hotel at heart of the downtown Cairo. Everything is just a short walk away. And they provide tour / taxi services for far but important places like Giza (others too) at reasonable prices. Note that, its quite noisy (Usually Egyptians speak very loudly) & a little unsafe all day and night, especially because of ongoing protests at Tahrir Square. Breakfast was really fulfilling and even could substitute lunch also. Staff is also caring and attentive 24 hours. Now what I didn't like that everyone tries to make extra bucks in hotel, directly or indirectly. Their first preference is to get extra income from additional services and for that even they can convince you smartly. They fixed me to buy a SIM for 30 EGP without any talk-time credit in that. Its call charges cost me just like international Roaming. Anyway rest of the things were satisfactory. I think its a good place to stay if you wanna explore Cairo closely and independently.

Room Tip: Check other rooms too, and go for brighter and quite room. Do not fancy balcony or window view, inne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajneeshVenkta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

City View was an good hotel if you're on a budget. It was quite small but the rooms were clean. It is right next to Tahrir square which is quite noisy and sleeping wasn't easy. Although it was noisy the location is very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel got us a tour guide who was very helpful and if you decide to go to this hotel then I would definately recommend asking for him. His name is Mahmoud Badr and his phone number is 00201007584117, it is worth getting him because he knows what he's talking about. The breakfast at the hotel is basic and they didn't serve the food themselves and needs variation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newcomer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located across from Tahrir Square, near the center of Cairo, the subway, the Nile and Zamalek. The staff is very attentive, especially Marco, who will surely be of great help for travelers from Spain and Latin America, he speaks Spanish very well. The rooms are clean and breakfast is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio_41972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This small Hotel is directly at the Tahrir Square. Therefore, it’s very close to all the important spots and from the breakfast room you have a great view. The price is just great and the staff is also very nice. I will always stay there again when I am back in Cairo :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

On my first visit to City View Hotel I was pleasantly surprised and found everything, including the staff and the in-house cafe/restaurant to be just wonderful! I will definitely return! Thank-you for a wonderful visit. I hope to return again soon, insha'Allah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aishah_Schwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.4 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 138 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
11.2 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#9 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Hotel

Property: City View Hotel
Address: 1 El Bostan St. Downtown, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City View Hotel is located in the heart of the City within walking distance to the marvelous Egyptian Museum and the hotel offers its hospitality to both business and vacation ravelers for our facilities and services have been designed to meet the expectations of our discerning guest. City View Hotel is located in Tahrir Square (Revolution Square) exactly in the shadow of the magnificent Egyptian Museum and it offers you a complete range of services that will help make your stay a pleasant and memorable one. The unique location of City View Hotel is helping you to find easily a variety of restaurants, banks, embassies and metro are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing