We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Garden Palace Hotel
Ranked #118 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The rooms were we stayed were not properly clean, some of the furniture was falling to pieces, the carpet badly needed a good washing and they purposefully don't put toilet paper and towels in the bathrooms in order to get tips once you ask to have them delivered. It is one of those hotels where you need to use your keychain to activate electricity in the room and it's fine until you realise it doesn't work for more than 2 minutes (though this was probably/hopefully a problem specific to one room). We did not have breakfast (which should be included in the room rate) as we checked-out an hour before it was served. Our rooms were on the 8th floor and as there is only one elevator with limited capacity serving the whole hotel you either wait for a while or walk up the stairs. While climbing up the stairs we did get a peek of some nicer looking rooms but we did not inquire whether the rate is higher and if the cleaning standards are better. The hotel's reception area is agreeable but it does give an incorrect impression of the whole hotel's appearance. Overall, I wouldn't recommend it for more than one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MisSpectre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    11
    12
    34
See reviews for
10
14
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This place should be closed for sanitization/ health reasons. Carpets are smelly, beds are full of bugs, the window view on trash area. Add to that hotel is not safe, is full of drug addicted. Watch up for your safety.
also, no parking available which is different to what they are stating online.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maabdou2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

It's a very nice hotel with a good location and very nice and helpful staff , the room condition was very well. I will back to this hotel soon really very nice . The breakfast was very good and the restaurant was clean. The receptionists were very helpful. Thanks to all

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dody_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharm elsheikh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel has a very coozy atmposphere , rooms are nice and comfortable and well cleaned up everyday, i booked this hotel because its good price and i was very surprised with the service because it was more than what i expected, im really happy that i stayed in this hotel and also moemen from reception is very decent and helpful and i would definetly come back and stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katya f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is pretty basic, but there is always someone at the reception. either awake or asleep. I did feel safe in the hotel, there was always a porter as well providing drive. The room was clean, It was not cleaned in the whole week I was in the hotel, and I definitely did not see any breakfast throughout my stay.

The location is pretty good and what seems to be a nice area, near the embassies. Warning, the taxi drivers don't seem to know where things are and they definitely struggled finding this place. I would stay there again, but then again I am not rushing to go back to Cairo any time soon.


I slept pretty well as I was quite high up in the building, although that also did mean I was out of the range of the WIFI.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Scottlad87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is a cheap hotel, but much better than hostel. The rooms are quite spacious and there is a very useful trade around. And it is 3 or 4 blocks far from metro station. This hotel is near the U.S. consulate what makes the area is pretty safe to transit overnight.

Room Tip: They try to give you the worse room when you book it from internet, because they do big offers by in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank marta_aguiar_brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

At about 15 USD/100 EGP this is probably the cheapest hotel near to Tahrir Square and many government buildings, but it is literally crumbling to pieces. When you go up to your room in the lift you will wonder how a doorless lift from which you can see down the elevator shaft every got a safety certificate. The truth is that it probably did not. These days I am not sure safety inspectors are even working.

This time the room did not have cockroaches (see review from December 2012), but it did have crumbing walls and no hot water...it appeared someone had taken the actual connection from the hot water heater to the water pipe off. The toilet worked fine, but the place to put your toiletries was literally hanging off the wall. Towels arrived after a request to the porter who carries out most manual functions at the hotel, while the four receptionists seem to be constantly replacing each other on coffee breaks.

The staff is honest and friendly, but have always had problems with my reservation. They require not only the reservation number but also the PIN code when reservations are made on booking.com and I assume other sites, thus always print full reservation.

Breakfast is always boiled egg, two rolls, jam and piece of processed cheese with coffee or tea. The inside restaurant--I have never seen anyone eat there outside of breakfast--and small balcony on the ninth floor as cute, but usuaully covered by dust as is almost everything in Cairo.

A taxi to or from airport Garden City should cost you about 40 EGP, although they will ask much more, 40 EGP is a fair price. The hotel charges 70 EGP for their personal taxi. A coffee at the hotel is also about 8 EGP, you can better walk around the corner to Kasr al-Ani and get a coffee or tea for 2 EGP, that is much better. Make sure the taxi driver knows whee the hotel is in Garden city as they don't light the sign and it is easy to get lost in Garden City even for a taxi driver. If you really want to save money and don't have much luggage take the free airport bus to terminal one (most international flights arrive at terminal 2/3) and walk to bus and take bus to downtown...I think No. 974...for 2 EGP. Then walk fifteen through Tahrir if is is free form demonstrations or around Saad Zaghoul to Kasr al-Ani and ask from there.

The main advantage of this hotel (apart from price and downtown location) is the fact that Egyptians can actually afford to stay here. There weer more Egyptian middle class businessmen than foreigners. Although there was an odd American women who claimed the US Embassy had put her up at the hotel...that seems unlikely unless the US financial crisis is worse than we are being told.

If you have business in downtown Cairo and have a very limited budget, this might be the palce for you, but don't expect comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cfjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.2 mi away
Dreamers Hotel
Dreamers Hotel
#54 of 137 in Cairo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#61 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#68 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#49 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Garden Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Garden Palace Hotel

Property: New Garden Palace Hotel
Address: 11 Modareat Al Tahrir St. | Garden City, Cairo 02, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa De Angelis is provided with a parking area, a nice garden, among lemon groves, and in the garden you find tables, sun chairs and children games, ideal to relax after a day spent on the beach or visiting sites of cultural interest. Services: reception, breakfast from 8:00 to 10:30, daily cleaning of the rooms, midweek change of the linen, car park. Restaurants, shops and bars less than 3 km distance. City center, railway station, harbor, post office and banks less than 5 min. drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your New Garden Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Garden Palace Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing