We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egypt holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Heliopolis
Ranked #15 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Egypt holidays”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just ok, but very far from all attractions. Only good if you need to be close to the airport or on a conference around that area... takes a long time to go to the city and taxis are NOT CHEAP from the hotel

Room Tip: go to the towers if you NEED to go there... food is very expensive and overall experience is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelww40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We understand your comment regarding the cost, the traffic and the time it takes to get to down town; hence, in an effort to enhance the experience of all our guests, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus daily to down town Cairo.

Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards.
Yara Atlam
Assistant Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    242
    90
    37
    36
See reviews for
99
95
56
364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Avoid this Hotel, they are very rude
We have stayed 5 nights in this Hotel, this is one place you should avoid.
-First trouble, the security personal inspect your bags at the door every time you want to come in, they search for food and beverage.  
The Hotel manager tries to implement his own unwritten policy "No food & beverage from outside the Hotel" we wasted a lot of time trying to ask to show us where this policy was written. The staff and their manager were very unhelpful and rude. There are many high quality cheaper restaurants outside the Hotel but you are not allowed to order from them. The manager wants us to eat the food we ordered in the street in front of the Hotel. It seems to me the manager is paid by the internal restaurants to implement his own rules, I wouldn't be surprised if this was corruption...
-Second trouble, Before we arrive, we made the reservation on 2 separate ones, the hotel staff were very confused, we had to check-in / check-out 3 times during our stay, they even deactivated our keys. 

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdelrahman E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review. We would like to inform you that “No food & beverage from outside the hotel” is definitely a hotel written policy and that our front office team is simply executing policy.
Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers is proud to provide 16 different outlets among which are diversified authentic cuisines that serve food and beverages of very high standards. In addition to the outlets, the hotel also introduced a new fast food style menu for in room dining that includes high quality cheaper items.

We do apologize for any inconvenience that has occurred and we look forward to welcoming you soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Regards,
Yara Atlam
Assistant Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Second visit to the towers section was excellent. First visit to main part of the hotel was a shambles because the front office staff are so poorly trained in either technical skills or customer service skills that they annoy the customer as soon as they arrive. 45 minutes to check in 3 guests!!! Third time they got even worse. An hour to check in four of us. The attitude of these amateur waste of time is appalling. Sack them and replace them with competent people.
The rest of the hotel is great as are all other staff. Housekeeping variable across our party.

Room Tip: Try the towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynnwales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your valuable review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers. Regarding the check in process, kindly note that your comment has been taken into consideration by the hotel management. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that have happened.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards,
Yara Atlam
Assistant Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I only attended a friend's wedding reception there... still, each staff member we came across starting from the car parking attendant was amazingly cooperative, polite, and helpful!

during dinner, i couldn't find my desserts' fork, so i went to the buffet to look for one and everything was cleared :D (and that is because every single item of food & desserts was exquisitely delicious) so i looked around, found one of the Chefs standing nearby, asked him to guide where can i find extra utensils; he called a host, asked him to find me a fork and bring it to my table, so the host asked where am i seated, and after pointing my table out; he brought me the fork in like 5 seconds later! it might seem like a trivial situation, but i really loved how they were decent & helpful about it! everyone was friendly & smiling! and again, the food was very delicious; it made me wish that i filled my plate with bigger portions :D

Thank you people of Fairmont Heliopolis for being friendly, yet professional! keep up the good work! (Y) :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habeeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy to learn you've enjoyed the quality of our service and that you found our food exquisitely delicious. Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers aims to turn moments into memories for our guests.

Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Regards,
Yara Atlam
Assistant Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at fairmont helioplis for two nights in september. The room was really good, spacious and clean, beds were comfortable , bathroom was spacious and spotless, shower box was big. Really i have no complaints again the room or the room service. My only complaints are on the front desk their proceedures while cheking in were weird, i have been in so many 5 stars hotel but no hotel ever asked me for a deposit and if i dont give deposite then anything i order i cant sign and ask to add it to my room bill but i have to pay in cash directly. The breakfast buffet was too good, there were so many different items like american, egyptian, lebanese, continental break fast, lots of variety and the food was clean and tasty. The restaurants and room service menu were really rip off, the prices were the highest i never saw simething like this, i ate at leonardo i ordered a salad and pasta only i was shocked when the bill came it was for 270 egyptian pound!!!!!!!! And i ate at the thai restaurant the food was original and yummy, go for glassy noodles with shrimp it was the best.

Warning:

Remember before you stay there that food from outside the hote is not allowed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip for 2 nights. Very nice hotel, lots of restaurants and bars in the complex - Chinese, Lebanese, Mexican, Italian, Thai etc the Lebanese restaurant was very nice, the Thai restaurant food was not so good but service was very good. Patisserie had lovely cakes and a good selection. Wi fi was free but this was not indicated on the information or check in. Rooms were lovely, standard room had a large walk in shower, English plug sockets, tea and coffee facilities but nothing in the mini
Bar unless requested.

At check out they tried to charge us for two cokes from the mini bar that we didn't have- it was empty.

Other than that a lovely hotel. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very nice hotel situated close to the airport which makes it ideal for a short stay in Cairo. Impressive lobby connecting the fairmont hotel with the fairmont towers. Check in was not as smooth as I was expecting and the staff did not apologise for the delay. Plenty of bars (both indoors and outdoors) and restaurants = breakfast and the lebanese restaurant were excellent; the thai restaurant was not very authentic and i found the food not spicy enough.
I stayed in a standard room which was a good size with an excellent shower and very comfortable bed. There were plenty of plugs by the desk and I could use british plugs without needing an adaptor. Free wireless and wired internet even if the opening page suggested that you had to pay for it - you just dialled 0 and got a free code.
If the reception were a bit more friendly, I would have given it a rating of 5

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theoCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Manager at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Room and that you liked our room’s amenities; media panel and WIFI. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed our diverse cuisines and bars and that you found Al Dabke, our Lebanese restaurant as excellent. Regarding your check-in experience, kindly note that your concern has been taken into the highest consideration by hotel management who will ensure to provide the highest service standards for which Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers are renowned.

Stay connected with us via our Facebook Fan Page: Fairmont Heliopolis & towers, Cairo & Twitter @fheliopolis!

We look forward to welcoming back soon at Fairmont Heliopolis & Towers.

Best Regards,
Yara Atlam
Assistant Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Towers Heliopolis
8.5 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
9.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
9.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
#10 of 137 in Cairo
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heliopolis

Property: Fairmont Heliopolis
Address: Al Uruba, Heliopolis, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cairo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 588
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Fairmont Hotel Heliopolis
Fairmont Hotel Cairo
Cairo Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing