We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth considering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Heliopolis
Ranked #18 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Cairo is one of those cities where there is no 'best area' to stay in. Some people prefer to book a hotel out near the pyramids; others prefer to be downtown. If you are sightseeing it really doesn't matter where you stay as you'll end up traversing the city at some point or other. I haven't stayed at this hotel since it was a Sheraton property, quite some years ago. It has recently been refurbished and I found it very good. The rooms were very pleasant, there were a number of excellent dining options (Mexican, Chinese etc) and the pool/garden are was very relaxing after a day in town. The staff were all very helpful and I highly recommend this place. The only negative was the rather-too-loud music at the pool, although the staff was happy to turn it down when I asked them to. And internet usage was free, which is not always the case in Cairo hotels!

Room Tip: Garden view rather than street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 813 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

i loved the stay in this property it has 8 restaurants i guess and the rooms were excellent. breakfast was lavish.
the best part was the relaxation in the casino after work.
if i'm going to egypt i'm staying here only.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunzi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

the staff and the hotel was amazing everyone was nice and helpful the rooms were very nice and comfy ,the resturants were very good so many of them it was hard to choose but the chinese /japanese was the best ,area around the pool was just great and the staff were very good ,asking if you needed any thing ,lots of place to eat or just have coffee

Room Tip: just be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We spent a night at the hotel between out flights from Hurghada to Amman. So the hotel rooms are really nice and the free internet was really helpful. The hotel is 5 minutes from the airport so it is really close and gives you a lot more time to sleep in the morning when you have an early morning flight.

The breakfast was good and had a nice varied selection. The juice was also quite nice.

So my only two complaints would be the items on the menu are really pricey (even moreso than the Kempinski- but I can live with that).

The other complaint was one of the restaurants- we ate supper at the Italian restaurant at the hotel but the service was useless (the only time in my entire 37 day trip I unhappily paid a service charge). We asked for a pizza. When it came out of the oven - it sat on the counter for a good 5 minutes before it was taken into the kitchen to be sliced which took about another 5 minutes (at least). So we eventually got our meal a good 40 minutes after ordering. Then after we got the meal, nobody bothered to check if we needed our drinks refilled, or our dishes taken away. We eventually had to get up and go to the counter to ask for our bill, about 10 minutes after we where done eating. The most irritating part, the waiters kept on fussing over the other (larger) groups in the restaurant (-read larger tips). So a 3 star restaurant in a definately 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuleimanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I was a bit disappointed when I saw how near to airport hotel was, as I thought it was in cairo down town on nile, however when I saw inside the hotel it was beautiful, first class, the rooms were lovely, really nice breakfast, good restaurants, drinks very expensive, a lot of rooms just have very big shower, no bath, but best beds ever slept in, tea & coffee in room, internet, nice pool area heated, you can hear planes fly over if sunbathing but did not bother me, hotel taxis are about 3 times more expensive, just walk across road and flag one down. city star shopping centre is about 10 minutes away and good shopping. After seeing hotels around sights and downtown I think this was best. only down side was we booked three rooms at same time and all rooms were on separate floors, and it is a very big hotel.

Room Tip: when booking ask for bath if you want one,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urshy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontTowers, Director of E-Business at Fairmont Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Thank you for your esteemed post. We are delighted to know that you loved our new rooms and found our beds the best. We fully understand your comment regarding the location of each room that you booked. Kindly send us a note next time you book more than one room, and we will make sure to block them earlier on the same floor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon…

Best regards,
Mohamed Hussein
Director of E-Business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

What to say about a 175 USD / night hotel - it better be good in this price range !
So there is not much to comment, this is indeed an excellent hotel with plenty of choices concerning the restaurants and the eating style - from French to Asian food with anything inbetween.
A word of warning however : the prices mentioned on the menus (for food and drinks) are EXCLUSIVE of various taxes and that is a pity. It would be fair to the client to mention the prices INCLUSIVE of all the taxes, because now all of a sudden after the meal / drink the bill is over 20 % more expensive then anticipated. Not very good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The hotel was beautiful with great amenties. A perfect palce for business conferences. The ambience is really good with brilliant staff. Had a great experience in Cairo. Please visit and must stay!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankitasingh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
9.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
8.5 mi away
Fairmont Nile City
Fairmont Nile City
#7 of 139 in Cairo
1,799 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Towers Heliopolis
9.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
5 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Heliopolis

Address: Al Uruba, Heliopolis, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $137 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 588
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Fairmont Hotel Heliopolis
Fairmont Hotel Cairo
Cairo Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing