We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food service 3rd rate during Gala Ball”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo
Ranked #15 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Food service 3rd rate during Gala Ball”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel has let itself down with the terrible food service at a Gala Ball event I recently attended.
It is always understood that large ball events are a bit hard to cater for, however 5 star hotels normally do it better. With such nice facilities it is disappointing when they muck up the evening when they are unable to serve your table in a decent way.
The main problem was with the starter where they had served 4 for at least 20 minutes before the remaining guests had a starter served which was not as they had ordered. Another 15 minutes and it was close enough to correct, even after 2 requests to complete the full table for service. It took nearly an hour as we watched other tables enjoy their main and we were still to be complete to start.
I hope it is not representative as the rest of the hotel seems great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    236
    90
    49
    28
See reviews for
245
198
47
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Strategically positioned in New Cairo area, far from the traffic jams and close the airport.
Dusit Thani is a good hotel with large rooms and 2 good restaurants. The Thai restaurant is great and the international restaurant is also very good. A large lobby area with a bar, live music and a nice swimming pool complete the picture of this nice hotel with a Thai flavour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visit this hotel last year as part of our round trip in Egypt and stayed here 3 nights.
It's an amazingly beautiful hotel with nice, clean and very spacious rooms and bathrooms. When the cleaning personnel arrived they filled the incesence burner in the bathroom and lighted it so when you came back from a long day visiting Cairo you got a lovely scented welcome. Personnel is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is varied and very good. Since our plane to Aswan left at 5 o'clock in the morning they prepared us a very large breakfastbox to take along without even asking: it was just waiting for us next to our luggage they had picked up a little before.
The pool looks magnificient (we hadn't time to try it out since we were always out and about in Cairo and his surroundings), the lobby has a high wow-factor: just perfect!
The hotel is located rather far from the pyramids and other spots to visit in Cairo but that didn't bother us at all because Cairo is a busy, smog-filled, filthy city which we could leave at night and enjoy peace and quiet cleanliness and fresher air.
I probably never return to the pyramids but maybe will return to this hotel for a short relaxing break!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanjaVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

the best Jacuzzi ever,nice infinity pool and very nice breakfast and reasonable price.I love this hotel and been there many times every time i love it more
it's a bit far from city center but you can go and have a break there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I enjoyed my stay very much.
The hotel itself is very nice in terms of style and cleanliness. The lobby is nice, I only didnt like the fact of smoking poeple being around, and the noisy musician at night.
The staff are friendly and helpful. I especially liked the followup after every request I made to make sure my requirment was satisfied. The checkin and checkout process were quite quick.
The room is nice and cosy, the furniture is in good condition. It is suitable for a single, a couple or a couple with only one small kid. More than that would not be good.
The bathrooms are clean even though they have a strange design making you feel crowded.
The internet speed was good.
I wouldnt recommend it for families as there is no amusement for the kids at all. In fact there is no amusement for anyone, no pool tables, no entertainment, only the pool and its not the best pool you could get.
The location of the hotel is quite isolated but again, it all depends on the purpose of your trip.
The food in the main restaurant Branzino is very good, breakfast and lunch. The Lebanese restaurant Tajine was also very good though it is very expensive, I wouldnt recommend the soup though.

Room Tip: The part of the hotel which has the rooms is like two tripods, similar to the Mercedes-Benz sign. Ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very Far from the city and driving in Cairo or even riding in a car in Cairo for the weak hearts is not advisable. staff are friendly but they are seeking tips even from saying good morning to you. all the people there seem to be giving you their hands even before thinking of giving them tips. never let anyone bring you a mobile charge card they will charge you the double and dont use the limosine it is very expensive.

hotel is ok to a certain level, the electricity was cut for 5 times last night and we were not able to take the elevator to our rooms and they blame the power stations !!!!!

never again to the same hotel or that area fifth settlement, actually never again to Cairo, the Pyramids are pieces of brick, it is better to read about it first. if you like to know Arabic history go to Jordan, Syria, even the Gulf region is quite interesting and go to Tunisia too.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliPathfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel is in 5th district one of the best development in Cairo, nicely designed and good service. Location is on the main street of the 5 th district and it can serve both business and leisure guests.... Food was ok but service better, my room TV had to be fix
Ed twice and at the end I had to surrender... I enjoyed very much the FO and limo service, as well as working and meeting partners In the lobby... I just wish they had 1 switch to turn off all the lights at once.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone and on business Avoid first floor rooms overlooking the gardens since you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
3.2 mi away
Royal Maxim Palace Kempinski
13.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
#10 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
14.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
13.5 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo

Property: Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo
Address: El Tesseen St, Fifth Settlement | New Cairo, Cairo 0000, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#7 Family Hotel in Cairo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#15 Business Hotel in Cairo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the New Cairo district in close proximity to major local attractions. The surrounding area is resplendent with waterfalls, broad tree-lined avenues and sparkling lakes and streams, a mere 20 minutes from Cairo International Airport, and linked by the expressway to the world-famous pyramids of Giza. The hotel offers a total of 449 spacious guest-rooms, a range of dining and entertainment options and recreational facilities, in addition to the tranquil Devarana Spa (opening soon). Dusit Club lounge, Dusit Gourmet and Thai culinary experiences are among the unique features of Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo. The magnificent 1,674 square-metre pillar-less LakeView Ballroom is a fully equipped setting accommodating up to 1,500 guests, in addition to its remarkable terrace that takes up to 400 guests; while the Dusit ballroom and 16 function rooms enjoy natural daylight and are supported by a business centre and pre-function foyer. Other 4 breakout rooms are set to accommodate smaller meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Lakeview Cairo Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing