We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food in the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo
Ranked #15 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have eaten in this restaurant twice recently on visits to Cairo and both times the service and food was absolutely lovely.
The hotel looks stunning inside but I have never had the pleasure of staying overnight as a guest.
The restaurant is very welcoming and the staff are all excellent. There is plenty of choice on the menu and each dish is beautifully presented.
Recently we had the great fortune of being offered a bottle of wine at half price, in the dining room! Obviously we took them up on the offer and it was delicious.
I think it is one of the best restaurants for Thai food in Cairo and would recommend anyone who is staying nearby to try it. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for.
On our way out we discovered the Dusit Thani has it's own bakery, so we bought some bread, breakfast pastries and macaroons. All were delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradisas_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
There are newer reviews for Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have stayed at the Dusit Thani Lakeview Cairo during a business trip. I would recommend it because of the lovely setting, the cleanliness and the room - very spacious and with all the amenities. The restaurant didn't disappoint me and my colleagues.
The meeting room are very well equipped, a conductive environment for proper meetings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed there for about 2 weeks, very good place for somebody that is looking for a quite hotel. I suggest it to anyone going to Egypt. They don't have a spa yet which is the reason of the 4/5 rating.

Room Tip: My room was at the same level of the outside garden, I had a small balcony & I can go outside an...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simtastik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Open for only a bit more than a year, one could understand some "breaking in" might still be going on, but not to this extent. We were a group of 6 adults, occupying 5 rooms, and there on business. Definitely NOT amenable for a business stay! WiFi is non-existent. There were power outages off and on every morning of a 7-day stay. ALL of the rooms had serious issues with drainage. The showers would not drain and getting in to one from day to day brought back memories of the "rinse pits" we used to have to step into as children to get to the swimming pool-- cold and mucky. The rooms, while spacious, were not very conducive to longer stays (i.e., if you like living out of your suitcase, this is perfect for you because there are no dressing drawers and little closet space.) The staff, while very friendly, seemed largely uninformed and were usually in uniforms that needed cleaning and/or mending. We were there for a week, and it wore thin after the first two days. Not a visit we are likely to repeat... too far off the beaten path to make it worth the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easterndixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I have stayed at the Dusit Thani now at least 5 or 6 times over the past few months. The hotel is very friendly and very clean. It is trying hard to be a 5 star hotel but is let down by a few minor points, although nothing that would put you off staying here.
Rooms are spacious and modern with all the ammenities you would expect. Everything works 99% of the time. From a business travellers perspective the internet is slow and it is painfull in that it drops you out every 5 minutes if it thinks the connection is inactive. Which means that you can not downlaod anything. The speed is very very slow and it is sometimes even difficult to make Skype calls. This needs to be improved and the wireless network is difficult to get things to connect to i.e. ipad and iphone.

There are alos lots of very short power cuts which disapoints a little especially when TV drops out at good part of a movie. There are no movies on demand and not much in the way of TV channels to watch.
The restaurants are very good , great Thai food. Out door restauarnt by the pool is great place to eat at night although menu is a bit limited and evrything is quite dry BBQ based food. The bars are very very quite as you might expect.

The pool area is great and pool is about 25-30m so doing lengths is great, shame they do not encourage you to swim early in the morning. Does not officially open until 9am when most business people are away to work.

Gym is good with good range of anerobic equipment as well as weight machines, always clean and free water on supply.
Staff are all attentive and once the hotel fills up and settles down it will be a great place to stay and they might achie their 5 star dreams.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in New Cairo area, which is very much developing area and not a great deal of restaurants etc. to chose from outside hotel. In a year or so I expect this to change with malls, shops and restaurants sprining up all the time.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade or a pool view room. Pool access rooms are plus $50 and although most are empty t...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forresterhill_lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I was a honeymooner and staid for 1 night as the hotel is close from the wedding hall and we Used the Landscape for outdoor photos.
1-Good location in New Cairo.
2-Checking in and out doesn't take more than 10 minutes.
3-Taking the approval for photographing a day before checking in took a long time and I was told that I'd to come physically and
that I can't take the approval by phone and after wasting 40 minutes at the lobby waiting from someone from the marketing dept. I was told at the reception that I hadn't to come and I can take the approval by phone.
4-The room was clean and the hotel is a nice contemporary style but a bit poor as Thai style.
5-The breakfast caused Stomach cramps to me and my wife despite it was only Spanish omelettes .
6-The staff was helpful and it was easy to request a late check out (16:00) instead of (12:00)
7-I took a standard room with queen bed and it was full of all the facilities that I needed for a short stay but I didn't try the internet.
8-Expensive food but not good.
9-Clean and quiet hotel but there were a problem because of the door joining my room with the beside one (it was closed) but I heard my neighbors baby's screaming for 15 minutes before sleeping.
10-Shampoo, Body Lotion, Shower gel and soaps are made of natural components and didn't cause any problems for hair or skin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Nice hotel, located in new Cairo although, quite a distance from the centre of Cairo and 30 mins from the airport. As the area is New Cairo, as can be expected, there is a lot of building works going on, that said, nothing which upset my stay. I was advised that the hotel was still under being expanded, although I was unable to see where?

While the hotel is built on the Dusit Thani, Thai style nearly all the staff were local and the Thai restaurant had staff from the Philipines, although they provided good services. The food was not good and to my opinion not authentic Thai. Perhaps the chef was not Thai either?

My room was clean and large but the water from the shower, weak and not warm and the internet failed to operate the second day of my stay.

The hotel was clean and simple but lacked the Thai experience.

Overall, the hotel was a good average hotel.

Room Tip: Check the room before accepting, especially the bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DiverT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
3.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
989 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
3.2 mi away
Royal Maxim Palace Kempinski
7.4 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#2 of 139 in Cairo
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo

Address: El Tesseen Street | City Centre, Fifth Settlement, New Cairo, Cairo 11835, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#15 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $142 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the New Cairo district in close proximity to major local attractions. The surrounding area is resplendent with waterfalls, broad tree-lined avenues and sparkling lakes and streams, a mere 20 minutes from Cairo International Airport, and linked by the expressway to the world-famous pyramids of Giza. The hotel offers a total of 449 spacious guest-rooms, a range of dining and entertainment options and recreational facilities, in addition to the tranquil Devarana Spa (opening soon). Dusit Club lounge, Dusit Gourmet and Thai culinary experiences are among the unique features of Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo. The magnificent 1,674 square-metre pillar-less LakeView Ballroom is a fully equipped setting accommodating up to 1,500 guests, in addition to its remarkable terrace that takes up to 400 guests; while the Dusit ballroom and 16 function rooms enjoy natural daylight and are supported by a business centre and pre-function foyer. Other 4 breakout rooms are set to accommodate smaller meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Lakeview Cairo Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing