We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have only one evening in Cairo, this is the place to go!”
Review of Sequoia

Sequoia
Ranked #11 of 4,161 Restaurants in Cairo
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“If you have only one evening in Cairo, this is the place to go!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent four evenings in Cairo, and this was the only one that I can describe as truly amazing. We tried Abu El Sid (our first dinner) and Cairo Tower (our third), but this was the only place that gave us one of those 'magical moments'. Fantastic atmosphere, great service, and delightful food. Great shisha as well. Unfortunately, like so many venues in Cairo the only thing lacking here is a decent wine list, but we eventually found a red cab sauv from South Africa that did the trick. IMHO, all things considered, this is *the place* to go in Cairo.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AACN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    507
    136
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
438 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A meat market with good food”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I joined some executives from a major international food processing company for business discussions at this venue at their recommendation. It is contemporary and Nile side. In fact, it is built right on the Nile.

Years ago, I remember this as an Andrea restaurant - one in a chain of famous grilled chicken and tourist favored restaurants sprinkled around Cairo. But this venue was too good to waste on grilled chicken - not that the grilled chicken wasn't excellent. So it changed hands, given a new name and was updated with slick graphics and a "meeting place" cachet. And it certainly lives up to this reputation - crawling with slick, vivacious, upscale Egyptian young women and men.

The food isn't bad either!

I had a fresh pomegranate juice and followed that with Alexandria style chicken livers and vine leaves. It's all I wanted and it was served promptly and with a smile. One in the party just had shisha and one had chicken shawarma, which looked excellent.

The weather was perfect and the lights of Cairo, including the pleasure boats plying the river, added a touch of the surreal to the evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location/atmosphere, great food!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The food is amazing, the location is superb (very romantic), and the service was fantastic. One of the best dining experiences overall.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing, service was really good even though we showed up with a large group. The atmosphere was so cool, the view, the energy and vibe was fun. The fresh bread, right out of the fire oven is off the hook.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wgelhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My home from home...”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Sequoia is on the island of Zamalek in the middle of the Nile.
The ambiance is amazing. Super friendly staff and great location....
The delicious food is Egyptian/ Lebanese and the pricing is reasonable.
This is by far my favorite spot in Egypt. Wether im on my own or with an entire foreign film crew I'm never disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sequoia also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Sequoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing