We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant atmosphere”
Review of Sequoia

Sequoia
Ranked #9 of 4,182 Restaurants in Cairo
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love this place, its one of my favorites in Cairo. The atmosphere is very friendly and the quality of food is good. A little bit pricey I'd say but its definitely worth it. It has the most beautiful Nile view and a special sushi section. Its perfect for a romantic date, celebrating birthdays, new year's eve, a family gathering, or just chilling and enjoying a good view. I highly recommend visiting it during your stay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    976
    517
    140
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good sushi, but not value for money”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

great view, horrible service. if you are going to go make sure you spend the demanded amount they charge!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoiaonline, Public Relations Manager at Sequoia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for visiting Sequoia and for taking the time to share you experience. We are always looking for our guests' feedback in order to constantly enhance our service. We're sorry to hear that your experience wasn't perfect. If you would be so kind as to share your views on how we could have made it better for you, we'd really appreciate it. Please feel free to email us or respond here.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good, I guess”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I don't usually like to eat alone in a restaurant but wanted a good meal for my last night in Cairo. I was recommended Sequoia. It is definitely a place to be seen. Large of groups of good looking 20 somethings and large families celebrating birthdays seemed to be the main clientele.
They didn't know what to do with a single person, but eventually got me seated. Service was slow to arrive! Mojito cocktail was decent. Food was very good. I ordered wine to accompany my meal and was simply asked if I wanted red or white. That's never a good sign. I selected red to go with my lebanese mixed grill. It is one of the worst wines I have ever tasted. My seating was a bit annoying too, as the European Champions League final was blaring over the whole restaurant, but I couldn't see the screen to know what was going on. Overall a decent experience, but that wine was truly awful, and no, it wasn't corked. I had a few sips to check I wasn't going insane or should send it back for one that hadn't gone off. It was just bad wine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoiaonline, Public Relations Manager at Sequoia, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for visiting Sequoia and for taking the time to share you experience. We are always looking for our guests' feedback in order to constantly enhance our service. We're sorry to hear that your experience wasn't perfect. If you would be so kind as to share your views on how we could have made it better for you, we'd really appreciate it. Please feel free to email us or respond here.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very few other eateries in Cairo that I'd describe as a pleasant place. This is both a pleasant place, and the food is good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilipBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“In touch with the Nile”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

a lovely place for summer evenings and sunny winter days. outdoor sitting on the Nile bank. casual atmosphere and very good food. a must when visiting my beloved Cairo especially to tatse Egyptian cuisine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marly610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sequoia also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Sequoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing