We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Australian Hostel
Ranked #3 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed here recently and had a very good time due to the relaxed atmosphere of the place. Our room was spacious and reasonably clean, and it's very quiet at night. The big plus is the central location--close to the Egyptian museum, the metro, and close enough to walk to Islamic Cairo. We had free WIFI, and while breakfast was mediocre with bread, jam, cheese and a boiled egg, it was made up for by the generous amounts of coffee. Staff is friendly and informative about how to get to places / sights. Fyi, we had free transport to and fro the Giza pyramids as we stayed for 4 nights, and it was a good experience on the whole; we weren't hassled much, and didn't have to go through the horrendous experiences that many tourists complained about. A note though about the driver--he will try and ask if you want camel rides, etc. and you should make it clear from the outset that you don't want any of these things and that he should bring you directly to the entrance. The driver wasn't very pleased and did try with his camel ride act, etc, but we stayed firm, and in the end he did as we asked.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    26
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
21
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

very clean and friendly stuff ,i would recommend this place to every one coming to Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amrhabibi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Australian Hostel and we thought it was a great place, Cheap prices big room and the bathrooms were clean as well. The staff that I met were all very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in a great location for walking around.
Would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I have been to Cairo before so am not first time traveller or ignorant of hostel life. Booked this hostel as it was in a prime location and advertised great facilites. So called guest kitchen is a broom closet that is unable to be enetered due to junk blocking doorway, no in room security lockers despite booking room with ensuite (most expensive).Breakfast is a boiled egg and roll. Bathrooms were disgusting condition with broken tiles and mould and shower heads broken, we had an ensuite. Rooms not clean at all. Beddding not clean. Wild feral cats allowed to roam freely through building which is a converted? warehouse and sleep on couches in hostel lounge. Lounge area is always full of staff watching movie over internet which counts for 24 hours desk however someone (not staff) was able to walk up and read all our private check in details written in book left open on desk. The person even commented on certain aspects of our booking. Went with partner to further student travel from Australia looking for good location for student travelers but very disappointing.So called Tour desk and prices for trips advertised on web outdated. Booked trip to Aswan and Luxor and paid 320 USD each to Australia Hostel a huge sum in egypt only to receive less than one star hotel and left in street for hours in between tours as they checked us out of hotels after only 4 - 6 hours of use. This was to get us to purchase other local tours to fill in the time. I kept all receipts and estimated we had been overcharged a total of at least US200. The staff at hostel play with use of words like tour, which actually means just a small mini bus ride with every seat crammed full, no airconditioning on long trip from Aswan to Abu simbel, and dropped at entrance to site, and left to own devices to pay entrance etc. Took a day car organised by hostel to Alexandria. Paid top dollar and driver was told by hostel to take us to certain sites. We asked driver to take us to other places and he refused. When we complained the staff at hostel said they would punish the driver and beat him, and that he would have to give us our money back. We were shocked and told them not to punish driver but they could refund our money. Never received refund from Staff at Hostel as we did not want driver to be beaten. Staff at hostel take the booking and the cash but will not take any responsibility for the quality of the tour. Tour operators threaten anyone who complainsreducing one male Chinese National to tears. Would not recommend hostel except for location, facilities very poor and certainly do not book any tours through them but use a reputable company that you have some redress with and are up front with quality of hotels and services used.
We managed to get a refund of 50 USD each from the Hostel staff but this still feel very short of what we should have recovered. Currency exchange is very poor and travellers are advised to use moneychangers located anywhere in Cairo except AIrport. This hostel is not recommended at any level except it is in heart of Cairo and cheap. Find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayhemdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We have stayed in the Australian Hostel in Cairo for 4 nights and it was all we have expected. We wasn't quite sure about the choice in the beginning - some friends said that we are crazy to stay in a hostel in Cairo - but it turned out to be the best choice. I wished we had more time to stay in the hostel and chat to the other travelers. Usually we have left at 9 am and get back at 12 in the night, very tired. The room had big beds and was clean. The breakfast was k – simple but k for us. I enjoyed the most the coffee with milk (I don't usually drink coffee so don't expect it to be strong). There was hot water at every hour. The location is very good (is near the Egyptian museum).The staff was very helpful. They had always asked us where we wanted to go and told us how to get there. Also they arranged for us to go to Giza and Sakkara and made a reservation on a night cruise on Nile (the traditional Egyptian dance was great; the belly dancer was very bored). One moment was awful: at the Papyrus Museum a guy who explained how the papyrus paper is made tried to touch me; I am not used to this behavior and I didn't know how to respond – now I believe that I should have slapped him and report him to somebody. Besides this the experience in Cairo was interesting.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catalunab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We booked a private room with ensuite in this hostel. I found the staff very helpful, they let me use their mobile phone for free and helped me arrange a private driver and tour guide for a day trip to the Pyramids on one day and a trip to Old Cairo, Islamic Cairo - including the Bazaar street and Eygptian museum on the second day. I didn't spend much time in the hostel but I could see the staff were very friendly young guys and were chilling out, chatting and lounging around with the travellers in the common area whenever I got back to the hostel.

The room itself was tidy, big and spacious with two double beds. Maybe the room was clean by cairo hostel standards, but I found it wasn't clean enough. There was some hair in the bed and in the bathroom the rubbish from the previous people had not been taken out and we had to request someone come and clean the toilet which looked like it had not been flushed and had some undesirable marks.

The breakfast which was included, was three bread rolls, one boiled egg, jam and butter and a cup of coffee served in the common area. We requested breakfast the night before at 8am as we had an early start, but at that time the next morning guys were still asleep in the common area, another person staying there told us we need to wake them up to prepare the breakfast, which we did, once he woke up he got someone to prepare it and it was ready around 35mins later..I don't know if it's like this everyday but just something to be aware of if you have an early start!

It's located in the downtown area of Cairo, which is about a 50EP taxi ride from Giza rail station, which is where the overnight train stops. You can also take the metro there from Giza for 1 EP. This is what we did, note when you buy your ticket check the change. We didnt' have small notes to pay for the tickets and used a big note and was short changed by 11 pounds, when we went back to the ticket window 30 seconds later the attendant just handed over the exact amount shortchanged without us even explaining how much we were shortchanged so it must have been deliberate!

The entrance of the hostel doesn't look nice but once you're on the floor of the hostel it is fine.

Overall it is good if you want a private room with bathroom quite cheaply in a comfortable place with friendly people. For me it was fine for just the one night. The free wifi is also a plus. I found it cost slightly less and included the breakfast if you book directly from their website rather than through hostelworld.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandarinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#21 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#2 of 127 in Cairo
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairo International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Hostel

Property: The Australian Hostel
Address: 23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat St, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Australian Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cairo city centre, this budget hostel is a 10-minute walk from the Egyptian Museum. It has a 24-hour front desk, communal room and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at The Australian Hostel have air conditioning, a tea/coffee maker and a private or shared bathroom. Some rooms have a balcony. Guests can enjoy an Egyptian or continental breakfast in the mornings. The Australian's communal kitchen allows guests to cook their own meals. The oriental-style communal room equipped with comfortable couches and a coffee table is a nice place to meet other travelers. The Australian Hostel's staff can help arrange tours of Cairo city centre, local museums and the Pyramids. They also provide maps and sightseeing brochures. The Australian is a 15-minute walk from the Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Australian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing