We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, location and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Australian Hostel
Ranked #3 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great staff, location and room”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Staff were great, location was good and my own room was fine. The bathrooms were cleaned regularly and Wifi worked. They organised several trips for me which was great and definitely a must in Egypt, makes things sooo much easier. I would be put on a bus or train and met at the other end. Use them to buy your tickets otherwise they will be 'sold out'!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    26
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
21
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I liked it's place the most .. Near everything in Cairo .. The rooms are clean the bathroom too .. Have plenty of restaurants near by so don't ask for meals just a place to stay .. There is WIFI and TV .. i watched Chelsea vs. Man Utd there .. Have three rooms, one with a bathroom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My fiance' and I stayed at this accommodation for 4 nights and frankly that was enough. We had planned on staying there 1 month, but were bitterly disappointed with what we found. It did not start off very well with the pickup from the airport with the driver (a taxi procured by the hostel) driving away from the airport with no lights on at 03:30hrs and driving down the road like a Formula 1 racing driver. The stair-well upto the Hostel from the road is disgustingly dirty and would be condemned in a Western City. The lift would get stuck on floor 3 and would not open, meaning having to go upto level 4 and walk down, but a stuck lift in such a location is a serious worry. Upon arrival at the hostel itself, despite having booked in advance, we found the night receptionist asleep on the cushions in the lounge area. Then having woken him up, we had to wait for around 20 minutes whilst he found sheets etc to make the bed.
When we got up around 09:30hrs, we had to wait until around 11:00hrs to get breakfast and that was a disappointment. The air-con in the room would not drop below 25 deg c, so that was a waist of time. At night the night receptionist would have the television on in the lounge blasting out most of the night.
When we went to pay for a few days, the staff tried to hit us for $2.00 per person per night over what we were due to pay so we demanded to see the owner. The owner admitted the charge we had been asked to pay was wrong and remedied the sum due to his credit. We had booked the next day to go to Giza to see the pyramids and the owner had assured us that our breakfast would be ready at 08:00hrs for us to leave at 08:30hrs. You guessed it, the breakfast was not ready and were told that the driver who was taking us to Giza would get food for us on route. This did NOT happen. When we returned to the hostel around lunch-time, my fiance' quizzed the male receptionist as to why the driver had not gotten us food and she was dismissed by the receptionist in a very UN-friendly way because she is a female which I over-heard and took to be very sexist. I then challenged the receptionist myself and he was far more accommodating towards me as a male. 10 minutes later, we were given 1 fried egg between the two of us and 2 hot dog rolls between the two of us.
The night receptionist would be found asleep on the floor every morning and with the current unrest in Cairo, this was very concerning that anything could happen in the night and guests could be in grave danger asleep totally UN-aware anything was wrong.
This hostel moots itself on the Australian branding, Australian hospitality across the world in very good, but this hostel is a million miles away from being anything Australian.
My advice, don't stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cape To E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you wanna crash for a day or two at the downtown in Cairo, this is the place.. Close to Tahir squire, bus station (if you wanna go to the airport), metro and surrounded by amazing food joints..I spent close to 5 days here while I was exploring Cairo and Giza

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunilkaushik15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed two nights during June 2013 either side of travel to Luxor. Paid EGP100 total per night for two people in a double room with two beds, balcony and air-conditioning. Breakfast included. Bathrooms shared and towels not included. Excellent Wi-Fi available throughout the hostel. Staff can organise a taxi to and from Cairo Airport for EGP60 each way. Made a booking by email with the Hostel directly and paid in full on arrival. Nile cruises, Pyramid visits and other excursions in Cairo and around Egypt can be arranged at reception. Staff member Tamir was particularly helpful arranging travel to Luxor and took us to our train at Cairo Station. Location is good, with shops, restaurants and cash machines nearby. Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum are a 10-15 minute walk, Khan El-Khalili Market a 25-minute walk, Giza Pyramids a 25-minute drive and Coptic Cairo a 15-minute drive. El Horreya Café and Bar is also within walking distance, serving cold Stella Beer for EGP10. Recommended as a good budget option and I would stay at the Australian Hostel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Hostel away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuzurura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I loved this hostel! For both the service they provided as for the fact that in the middle of the crazy city of Cairo I did get some peace. Stuff super friendly but not pushy, decent and well behaved. Room & bathroom very clean. I really felt comfy in there. And I am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are two girls travelling around Africa and found this hostel to be the best ever! The rooms were big and clean, plus the common area was a cool place to hang out. We felt really safe and welcome there and honestly could not have asked for a better place to stay. The staff were cool and helpful and organised tours around Cairo and to the Oasis for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,421 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#2 of 127 in Cairo
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairo International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Hostel

Property: The Australian Hostel
Address: 23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat St, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Australian Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cairo city centre, this budget hostel is a 10-minute walk from the Egyptian Museum. It has a 24-hour front desk, communal room and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at The Australian Hostel have air conditioning, a tea/coffee maker and a private or shared bathroom. Some rooms have a balcony. Guests can enjoy an Egyptian or continental breakfast in the mornings. The Australian's communal kitchen allows guests to cook their own meals. The oriental-style communal room equipped with comfortable couches and a coffee table is a nice place to meet other travelers. The Australian Hostel's staff can help arrange tours of Cairo city centre, local museums and the Pyramids. They also provide maps and sightseeing brochures. The Australian is a 15-minute walk from the Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Australian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing