We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location with very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Luna

Hotel Luna
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luna
Ranked #11 of 54 Cairo B&B and Inns
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very central location with very friendly staff”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Amazingly cheap for a private room on a main street dowtown Cairo. At night Talaat Harb Street is closed to cars and packed with an incredible number of people. And you just have to step out of your room to enjoy it! The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful, such a contrast with all those people sneaking around the pyramids. Only bad thing is that it is very hard to get hot water when you shower.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
36
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is a decent hotel for its price. The staff are helpful and our room was clean enough. The breakfast got us going but is not over the top. The street noise is very loud and Cairo is a nocturnal place - bring some earplugs. The location is quite busy and very close to the Egyptian museum,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeynom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Hotel located in downtown Cairo, but most find it difficult)) It is located on the top floor of a 4-storey old building probably built in 19 century))
In the same building offices are located, and just local people live. Therefore, it is difficult to find the hotel sign)). But thanks to the help of our Egyptian friend, we found it))
We took the most expensive room))) 40 US dollar)) with private bathroom (or rather with shower) and toilet)) The room is very simple. Of course the old furniture))
major disadvantage, toilet and shower walls are not thick and separated from the room only a small barrier which does not reach the ceiling - so if you sit on the toilet - and your friends in the room - it's all very well hear))
TV in the room was not, but there was a small balcony - from pleasant to look at the rising sun and the neighboring houses and streets watching the lives of local people)))From our balcony overlooking the courtyard where residents were preparing a meal - very interesting)) You can smoke on the balcony))
Overall impression of the hotel - well, poor but clean)
there in the hallway Internet, in the morning is a simple breakfast in the lobby you can buy mineral water and cola. the hotel is situated in the central ultse Cairo - near McDonalds a lot of different stores

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lex-1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Well, where do I start. Quite frankly, if it wasn't for the staff at Luna hotel, particularly "Mr Sam", Tarek and Kareem, we would be lost and penniless.

Whilst the entrance from the street is hard to find (its between a watch and a shoe shop opposite the bank of Alexandria's Cream and Pink arch and a department store - look up to find Luna's bright yellow sign), once you get to the 5th Floor, the hotel Luna itself is simple, clean, comfortable and safe, everything you need for a backpacker's base.

The showers and the street noise take a little getting used to, but they do have quieter back rooms if you prefer and you can always go up one star to the Bella Luna on the third floor. We could laugh at the shower, and quite liked the noise of bustling downtown to lull us to sleep, but what really makes it superior to every other place we stayed in for the 6 weeks we were in Egypt was the staff.

We came and went from Luna on our various jaunts around the country, but each time we came "home" to Luna we were greeted warmly and have genuinely left feeling sad at having to say goodbye to new friends. Kareem has a smile that would melt an icicle and Tarek's sense of humour is delightfully wicked, he even bought us some cake to share on our last night there for our 10th wedding anniversary!

The biggest asset Luna has is the cool, calm and collected tour advisor; "Mr Sam". Sam not only booked us the most incredible journey all over Egypt in the high season with just about no notice, but beat any other price we'd been quoted by hundreds of dollars and was always available to us any time of day via cell phone if anything came up. Seriously, I wonder about the ulterior motive of some of the less than favorable reviews about Sam on this site, maybe a competitor wrote them or something because he is nothing if not charming, patient and accommodating. My husband and I liked Sam's company so much that we enjoyed our last, and most memorable day in Egypt with Sam and his lovely family.

I need to particularly mention the medal-worthy miracle that happened on our last night. On arrival back at Luna late at night, Tarek checked our flight departure times for the next morning in order to book our airport transfer only to discover that our New Zealand travel agent for some reason had us departing from Jordan! (Yes - not only the wrong airport but the wrong country!) One hour later, Sam had booked us reasonably priced, early flights from Cairo to Jordan in plenty of time to meet out connecting flights. Amazing!

By all means, do your research before you go on tour costs, entry tickets, cruise and travel prices and know what to expect. Take these quotes with you for your own peace of mind but I can guarantee Sam will be able to get you a better price, at shorter notice. Don't waste his time haggling and bartering, it only annoys him because he knows we foreigners don't really like to barter, so he gives you the best price first time. Take it or leave it.

Before we left for Egypt we tried on numerous occasions to inquire through various companies about tours but everything seemed either too expensive or too risky (some companies asked for a substantial deposit which we weren't comfortable with, and rightly so, we met many travelers on our trip who had paid for tours before they left only to find they had paid 5 star prices for 3 star or less, or even worse, arrived in Egypt only to discover there was nobody to meet them.)
We ended up on the strength of Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor reviews just booking our first night in Egypt at Luna, thinking we'll meet Mr Sam and decide from there.

We spent the whole 6 weeks coming and going from Luna and traveling entirely on Sam's itinerary and didn't regret it for a second, and neither will you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger_and_Beckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed at this "hotel" during 2 short trips. The first stay was ok, my 2 friends and me shared a room which was quite clean. Careful with the sink (it was moving when touched). We had to ask for towels, which looked worn but clean. My second stay was horrible. Single-bedroom with shower, warm water was broken, no towels, the sheets on the only available bed looked used + cigarette-burns. When I opened the blanket, there were sitting 3 fat bed-bugs, hastily crawling away. As it was late night (1am), the desk-personnel who understood no english (but repeated "welcome, welcome to Egypt" about 100 times upon my arrival), had vanished.
There was no changing rooms and no sleep. Even if the price for this "hotel" is one of the cheapest to be found in Cairo, I can only recommend to those who are no bed-pet-friends: avoid this place at Talaat Harb 27!
Look out for a different place to stay. Go to Paris Hotel or Osiris Hotel, they are clean, well tended and with excellent staff speaking english and french.
Alternatively ask for one of the three-bed-rooms. They seem to be better looked after.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SABlNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanymoussa, Manager at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Interesting, isn't it, that this brand new TripAdvisor reviewer elected to wait until October 2010 to write about an alleged stay in November 2009, almost one year earlier, essentially to recommend Luna competitors (for which she did not write any reviews, suggesting she might not have actually stayed there). No further comment on our part is required, but readers' caution is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We had a short stay in Cairo and found this hotel to be conveniently located to everything. The staff was very helpful in arranging train tickets for us and providing good suggestions for restaurants, etc. We had a private ensuite room which was very clean and comfortable. One thing to note however is that the bathroom is only separated by a half wall from the rest of the room so the steam from the shower quickly heated the rest of the room and offered very little privacy. Breakfast was basic but sufficient. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thattravelgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Islands, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here for one night before we departed Cairo. We did not have a reservation and just turned up and they were able to put us in a nice room. The guy at the reception was very helpful and friendly.
The room had lots of space and air con worked perfectly. It was overlooking the street but we hardly noticed any noise and had a good sleep.
The shared shower was good with hot water.
This is an excellent place to stay if you want something cheap with no frills.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#58 of 137 in Cairo
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 137 in Cairo
576 reviews
0.0 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 137 in Cairo
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#1 of 54 in Cairo
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Luna
Bella Luna
#4 of 125 in Cairo
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Property: Hotel Luna
Address: 27 Talaat Harb St, 5th Floor | Downtown, Cairo 99999, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Luna 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Hostel Luna are small hotels located on Talaat Harb St, one of downtown Cairo’s most lively streets. From Luna, you are only a short walk away from the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities, within easy access to all means of public transport (metro stations "Sadat and Nasser" ) city buses, Ramses Train station and Turgoman Bus Station (to go anywhere in Egypt), and you are literally surrounded by shops, restaurants and cafes. You will find Four ATM machines right in front of the Hotel, as well as Banks, Exchange offices, Thomas Cook and American Express counters nearby.Luna offers spacious rooms, With high ceilings and original parquet. You can choose the type of room that suitsyour needs and your budget.Room with private bathroom and A/C, Room with A/C and Sharing bathroom, Room looking on the street or away from it (on the back side),Single, Double, Triple, Quadruple.Bed linen and Fresh towels are provided and changed daily.Enjoy 25% discount + the FREE pick up From OR to airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing