We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For tourists or those that have never tasted the genuine food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abou el-Sid

Abou el-Sid
Ranked #12 of 4,143 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
619 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
“For tourists or those that have never tasted the genuine food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Abou El Sid's only positive thinkg is that you can drink booze while smoking the shisha.
Most foreigners fall in love with the place. I do believe that for any Egyptian that is well aquainted with the food onthe menu, the disappointment becomes high.
The atmosphere can be mystique being always on the dim lights and even dark side, with loud music, very arabesque style.
So the atmospher and settings are by far better than the quality of food, which I consider poor and not at all recommended. But if you wish to go have a beer, perhaps even appetizers than it is worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SHA12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    337
    109
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere at Zamalek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

my husband would not believe me when I told him were we should enter. That is not a a restaurant, since it just looks like any entrance to a house, but after the experience the night before he should have been prepared. When you enter the building you come in to a cosy restaurant with nice decor, we were given a table in the side room, which did not disturb us since that ment we could eat with the locals. There were quite a lot of tourists in the main room. The food was very good even though my husbands could have had a bit more flavour. I love the place and will come back again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatarinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Too cold!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Love the ambiance and the decor, but hate the cold air due to smoke extraction. Food is excellent; staff are not friendly. They leave shisha pipes' coal burning next to the counter, and when you approach the cashier to pay with your card, be aware of that. They burned my bag and said only "sorry" as usual.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank veigapaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for a group dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Abou el-Sid has an extensive menu of Egyptian classics. They have everything from ta'amia and ful to stuffed pigeon and lentil soup. The restaurant is set back on a side street off 26th of July and upon entering you are transported to a world of old Egypt. Good prices for a nice dinner: 50-80LE for mains and 30-50LE for mezze. Our group of 11 shared about 10 mezze and I was so full, and then the delicious mains came out steaming! I wish I'd had room for dessert, as they looked delish. There was something on the menu for everyone: meat eaters, vegetarians, gluten intolerant, and picky. Good service and great atmosphere.

There is smoking inside, including shisha, and the music did get a bit annoying after a while. No outdoor seating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stacyhackner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“egyptian yes but also with the negative sides”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

food is average, range of drinks limited, service rather slow but very friendly. nice athmosphere, rather gloomy and with a lot of smoke. if you cant stand smoking people while eating skip it. prices are ok. interior very beautiful.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank specht-auf-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abou el-Sid also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Abou el-Sid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing