We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“popular coffee house”
Review of El Fishawi

El Fishawi
Ranked #24 of 4,161 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“popular coffee house”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

a very popular name with tourists who want to try a local coffee house, smoking shisha and resting with a nice cup of tea or coffee after visiting the bazars of khan el khalili... but too commercialized due to tourist influx

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    121
    42
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I went there last week, as a part of visiting Hussein Mosque area. Place is old & every thing shows oriental magic. Staff are very welcoming, urging to service. nice atmosphere. The only down side is the beggars, ignore them & you should have nice time. A must visit I think.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ibn-Batota36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sit there and feel real Egyptian flair”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is a must to go there, just sit there and enjoy this place where many many famous people used to sit.
Annoying are just the sellers who want to sell anything to you, just ignore.

Helpful?
Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“5am in Cairo!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was in Cairo again recently, but this time it was during the end of Ramadan. Needless to say the city was bursting with people and the noise level was incredible. Sleep was not going to happen. So most nights I would end up here to watch the world go by, interact with the locals and to drink mint tea and partake of the pipe. It was an oasis to me. Busy but wonderful. We were never hurried along and best of all we were treated the same as the locals. We ate lamb and falafel followed by more tea. Incredibly cheap place to hang out. We walked here from our hotel the Cairo Windsor, often at midnight, and never had any problems. I felt safer here than in my hometown of Victoria, BC in Canada! Each time I am back in Cairo I stop in here!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alima J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxor
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ah! Fishawi's!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fishawi's still holds onto it's atmospher after all these years.
I just wish that i could have been around when many of the old writers used to sit and have shisha and coffee. A great place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank marilyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fishawi also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to El Fishawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing