We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Nile River

Nile River
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.00*
and up
Nile River Dinner Cruise with Egyptian Show
Ranked #34 of 746 things to do in Egypt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Stretching for 4,187 miles, the longest river in the world flows from its major source, Lake Victoria in east central Africa, through Uganda, Sudan, Ethiopia and northwards into Egypt to the Mediterranean Sea.
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 4 nights on Domina Prestige Emilio 5* superior. I really enjoyed this cruise and would love to to a longer one next time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,071
    247
    79
    35
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dagenham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“7 night cruise on M/S Semiramis”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

we booked with flights and packages, croyden, James was fantastic, got me everything we wanted, Next we booked to cruise on the Marhausa sentado, on arrival we were taken to the M/S Semiramis, told it was upgrade, mmmm, after a chat with the guide, had a good look around, not bad, we expected it anyway as of the problems, we were advised by the airline it was risky to go, Im a tough old bird, wont let a lot of silly men put me off, I knew in my heart there would be no trouble to the tourist, a lot never went, great loads of room on the flights. we were docked for 2 nights in luxor, as we have done everything before on a visit we were just going to sit back and really relax, The boat we were supposed to be on was docked down a bit from us, so of we went with big smiles and ask to see round the Mahrousa, they welcomed us on board, they were repainting it and sprucing it up for next cruise, had a good look around , lovely boat a small one, so we were very happy to be on the sunrise Semiramis, we had a great week, and was strange to have to boat to ourselves while all was out on the trips. we were spoilt rotton, upgraded to all inclusive, best option, as water and tea coffee on tap all day, and we drank a lot of it. Rooms were clean, plenty of room, twice daily service, some fantastic towel creations,as we were not on any tours didn't get envelops tipped staff as we thought they deserved, Huge sun deck and could get 5 strokes across the pool, everything was clean, food was great, Huge windows that opened and what a sunset, was on the boat from 3rd to 10th July, the Manager was very nice, and we met his family, would recommend for a relaxing cruise, just do the nile, Big tip, at Luxor airport, over to the left as you exit plane, Take $15 US, keep it in your passport, as you will be directed to a booth by the tour reps, they charge £20 for the privilege of getting your visas, Just go over to the left, to the bank booth, get visa there, if they try to stop you show them the $15 say that's all you got, just go, they wont stop you. then go straight out of security. wait for transfers out side, there was NO hassel, NO trouble, a truly wonderfull week, was sad to leave, everyone on that cruise got on so well, We Will do it again, AND a very big Thankyou to Hasan the guide, he was a great help to us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ra II Nile Cruise”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We did the 7 day Nile cruise in October 2011 booked with Thomas Cook. This is an amazing way to see Egypt.

The boat itself was clean and the rooms were good. The food was brilliant in spite of the limited cooking facilities. The pool is very refreshing. The bar is ok but they turn the air con up very high so it is chilly.

We saw so many sights on the organised visits out that were all included in the price. However some of the best sights were seen just cruising along the Nile such as locals playing football on the river banks and all the children running down to the boat to shout hello.

We also did the Abu Simbel optional trip (extra cost) by plane which is a good trip and would not recommend doing the trip by road as some who did said it was a very long day and not very comfortable.

We were apprehensive about getting a stomach bug as you do hear stories on boats like these but we did not have a problem. The ice was made from bottled water and the salad was washed in bottled water too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“MS Grand Rose - Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just did a week on this boat 26th june-3rd July. It was amazing. We usually do not do all inclusive holidays, but this worked out wonderfully as there was a good mix of excursions and relaxing. Despite everything that was on the news about Egypt we felt perfectly safe, no problems.

The Boat: The cabin was very large with a nice large bed and the air conditioning was just what you needed after coming in from the heat. We were surprised every day by the towel art and the housekeepers attended to our room twice a day while we were off the boat. The food was excellent and was a great choice and no problems with hygiene etc...The drinks were also good and all the staff were quick to help and make you a drink. The bottles of water were a great help, we drank loads every day. The sun deck and pool was lovely after our excursions and cruising the nile was made lovely by the relaxing atmosphere. The dress up night on the boat was the best evening and most people dressed up, best to buy your costume off the boat if your feeling brave, its a lot cheaper. Also, the massage service on the boat was lovely.

Excursions: The excursions were brilliant, early starts, but since you are back to the boat by lunch it did not matter. We had plenty of time to look around the temples, I was concerned we would not get enough time but we did. Hady was excellent guide. We did two optional excursions, one to the botanical gardens and Old Catarax Hotel and Abu Simdel. Both were wonderful and worth the money. A tip with the sound and light show at Karnak. We walked over to the temple ourselves and it cost only £10 instead of the £30 charged on the boat. So if you are not bothered by the horse and carriage ride then i recommend doing this. Also when off the boat the hassle from people can be overwhelming but a strong no thank you usually stops them. Haggling an actually be quite fun if you do shop. I could not believe how much we got to see on this holiday.

Currency: Quick tip about currency, they will except anything. On the boat it is probably better to pay for excursions in sterling, as they use the bank exchange rate. Off the boat a few places only accepted egyptian pounds, like at the valley of the kings and paying for tutankamun's tomb, but most shops and stalls accepted sterling. It is best to take lots of pound coins.

All in all a great holiday and would highly recommend to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank midlander23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“MS Grand Rose fabulous”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just had a week on the MS Grand Rose. It was fantastic, one of the best holidays we have ever had. I went with my husband, my 16 year old daughter and my mum 77. The ship was lovely, the staff were just great, the trips were fascinating, food brilliant, cabins super. Our rep was Peter Israel and he was superb. We knew there were problems in Egypt but we always felt safe. I cant describe how fantastic the trips and sites were. Both my Mum and my daughter loved the whole thing. I have never met staff who were so friendly and helpful. They welcomed us to their country and were great. We went with Red sea holidays via Golden Ticket travel. we would all do it again tomorrow. I have to say the entertainment was also good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank alitastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile River also viewed

 

Been to Nile River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing