We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
260
95
7
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
260
95
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jongno ga station great location line exit potato soup purple line boutique hotel walking distance metro station literally steps bukchon hanok village directly across the street restaurants and bars street food triple room changdeokgung palace fluent in english korean bbq
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 371 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Lovely staff at the Makers Hotel who are more than happy to help in any way they can.

The location is excellent; directly across the street is a multitude of great restaurants, bars and shops.

The only danger is that there is so much to explore in the neighbourhood that it’s hard to leave and explore more of the city!

3 nights in Seoul is certainly not enough. The Makers hotel is a good base to explore and the staff give wonderful maps and directions.

Bear in mind that the accommodation is fairly utilitarian. The beds are extremely firm but the lovely and accommodating staff were more than happy to give me a mattress topper on request.

Decor is cool, fellow guests I spoke to enjoyed their stay also and the Makers pros definitely outweigh the cons!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank thriller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKERS HOTEL S, 프론트 매니저 at Makers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear thriller_7,

Thank you for complimenting our staff's service, located area, and atmosphere! We’re glad we were able to help out with what we can to make your trip comfortable. Hopefully you had incredible memories in Korea and once again thank you so much for spending your time to review! We hope to see you again to provide better services! 감사합니다 :)

Best regards,
Sally
Customer Experience Specialist
MAKERS HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Location of the hotel is excellent. It is right next to a subway station that is attached to 3 lines. It is in the funky Ikseon Dong neighbourhood which is full of eclectic shops and a wide variety of restaurants. It is also conveniently located near to many historical sites. The staff were very helpful (restaurant recommendations, transportation, directions, general inquiries) and they genuinely seem to enjoy making your stay positive. The rooms are on the smaller size but is clearly as described on their website. The rooms are well maintained, organized and clean. The bed mattress is hard but manageable. Noise was quiet in the hotel (only normal city noise every once from outside). The lobby and common areas are very nicely designed.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Service
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKERS HOTEL S, 프론트 매니저 at Makers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear Angie C,

Thank you for complimenting our convenient location, local area, staff's service, and room! We actually have a mattress topper prepared if requested. In case if you visit us again, please let us know in advance to prepare it for you. Hopefully you had incredible memories in Korea and once again thank you so much for spending your time to review! We hope to see you again to provide better services! 감사합니다 :)

Best regards,
Sally
Customer Experience Specialist
MAKERS HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2019 via mobile

This is my 1st visit to Seoul after 15 years and the staff at Makers Hotel provided good service from providing us directions to the places we wanted to go (Sally) and to recommending a good Korean BBQ Hanam Pork (Young) which we enjoyed. They are friendly and fluent in English which makes it easier for us to communicate. I loved the vibe from the hotel lobby to the area around the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with enough space to put 2 big luggages and move around. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jojoshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKERS HOTEL S, 프론트 매니저 at Makers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2019

Dear Jojoshu,

Thank you for complimenting our staff, located area, and atmosphere! We're glad we were able to help out with directions. Hopefully you had incredible memories in Korea and once again thank you so much for spending your time to review! We hope to see you again to provide better services! 감사합니다:)

Kind regards,
Sally
Customer Experience Specialist
MAKERS HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2019

The Makers is located right at the top of the steps from the subway station and right across the street from a really trendy restaurant and shopping area. The Staff are excellent; friendly, helpful, and enough English speaking for those of us who only speak English. They helped us with finding restaurants, sites, everything. They also told us that Google Maps doesn't really work in Korea so you need to download Naver. The rooms are basic, clean, and have well fitted bathrooms. The beds were hard compared to what we are used to but perfectly fine for the 5 days that we spent there.
We would be happy to stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2019
1  Thank D8993QLchristopherg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKERS HOTEL S, 프론트 매니저 at Makers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2019

Dear D8993QLchristopherg,

Thank you for complimenting our staff, room, and located area! Hopefully you had incredible memories in Korea and once again thank you so much for spending your time to review! We hope to see you again to provide better services! 감사합니다 :)

Best regards,
Sally
Customer Experience Specialist
MAKERS HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2019 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at Makers for 4 nights, a place with warm hospitality perfectly situated right in front of the Jongno sam (3) ga exit 4. Vintage feels all around with clean well-kept rooms, well insulated windows (good for sound reduction from the street) and good set of utilities provided. We slept well.

Big thanks to the really helpful English-speaking staff who made the stay as comfortable as possible.

Location is great part 2: You will be in the hustle and bustle of one of the trendiest up and coming neighbourhood - ikseon-dong, a gentrified hanok alley with beautiful cafes, restaurants and boutiques - and a quick 10 minutes walk from quirky and cultural insa-dong shopping area.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 929hlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKERS HOTEL S, 프론트 매니저 at Makers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Dear 929hlt,

Thank you for complimenting our room, staff, and the located area! Hopefully you had wonderful memories in Korea and once again thank you so much for spending your time to review! We hope to see you again to provide better services! 감사합니다:)

Best regards,
Sally
Customer Experience Specialist
MAKERS HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews