We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Seoul”
Review of Samrikand

Samrikand
Ranked #3,553 of 125,408 Restaurants in Seoul
Neighborhood: Jung-gu
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jung-gu
Reviewed September 8, 2016

I was there a few months ago and forgot to write a review. If you are a tourist and looking to try anything different from Korean food, this is the place to go. 4 of us went and ordered nearly the whole menu. EVERYTHING was good, couldn't go wrong. Just amazing Uzbek (And the region Stan to Russia/Ukraine) home cooking. Amazing food and very very affordable. Service was great too, by a nice Uzbeki chap.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Misha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 10 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2016

This place would not even make it to the list of top restaurants/cafes in Uzbekistan. However, for Seoul it's not the worst option if you want to try some Uzbek food. Pricey shashlik/kebab, patir non/bread, and Baltika beer for the price of Sam Adams :)

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

In a side street you can see the Samarknd sign from the avenue. Small restaurant, about six tables. Basic dishes, I had a nice soup and an entree, with some green tea. The young waiter was very kind. He speaks English, Korean, Uzbek and Russian. It is a family restaurant, the mother cooks and the son and daughter serve. A relaxed atmosphere. I paid 17.000 KRW for everything. Near to the design museum.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bruno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2015

I have visited Samarqand on numerous occasions at different times of day and it has been equally fulfilling on each trip. I live quite far from this place, so that tells you how good it must be. I little difficult to locate, but once found, you'll never forget it.
They have recently installed an outside traditional oven for bread and this adds to the overall great experience. The massive skewer kebabs are two to an order so don't make the mistake I always do of going in there hungry and over-ordering! The beetroot salad is as good as it gets. I always order the lamb soup and Olivier salad and I have been known, on occasion, to order the dessert honey cake to eat first, just because it's so good.
Washed down with some Baltika beer, this is the perfect evening venue and with DDp and the shopping mecca of Doota nearby, you'll have an excuse to work off your stuffed feeling after.
Just go!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pepsimark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

Lovely staff, hearty meal and nice to try something different in Seoul. Tricky to find so check on a map.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samrikand also viewed

 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Samrikand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing