We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DUMPLING HEAVEN”

Bukchon Sonmandu Insa
Ranked #100 of 38,273 Restaurants in Seoul
Neighborhood: Jongno-gu
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jongno-gu
Reviewed January 28, 2017

I cannot speak for any of the other food, but the fried dumpling here are out of this world. You get 3 big ones in an order, and every bite is like heaven. I am getting excited just thinking of them. Puffy, warm pockets of Korean goodness <3<3

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Lyndsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 109 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2016

Based on strong reviews, we decided to venture out to this place. It is not located on the main Insadong shopping row but on one of the side streets. The wait staff is typical, they just take your order and give it to you when ready. You have to get your own water from drinking container. the dumpling was good, but very large!! I end up getting combo dumpling platter and dumpling soup. It was overload of dumplings - which I wish I had skipped the soup. My husband got the nyeng myun soup which he seemed to enjoy. Overall good and if you like dumplings - it may be worth a shot to try this place.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank LizzyR322
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

We ate here twice during our time in Seoul and absolutely loved it. Hot, fresh handmade dumplings that taste great and are served quickly. The restaurant is a bit cramped but they also do take away too. Prices are low compared with nearby choices. You won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank Andyrock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Delicious dumplings that are a little salty. Menu is on the walls so don't be shy and call out what you want! Water/cutlery/radishes are self serve. We had a mixture of fried and steamed dumplings and they came straight away, hot and fresh. Deliciously flavoured with a decent filling/pastry ratio. The place was jam packed when we were there and due to being next to the open kitchen we came away smelling like fried dumplings... otherwise a great snack/light lunch when sightseeing.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank momo402
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016

Super Yummy Mandu, with some many options to choose from and affordable price. I love the open beef Mandu

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kristenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bukchon Sonmandu Insa also viewed

 

Been to Bukchon Sonmandu Insa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.