We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great hike and stream for splashing

We thoroughly enjoyed our hike at Gwanaksan. We parked at Seoul National University and had an easy... read more

Reviewed August 6, 2019
janamt21
,
Osan, South Korea
via mobile
Birds eye view of the city

We were lucky to climb the mountain on a perfect day. Started at 9 am. It was clear and 20 c. It is... read more

Reviewed June 15, 2019
763dennisb
,
Kensington, California
Read all 30 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Seoul
from $64.50
More Info
from $45.50
More Info
from $39.60
More Info
from $33.00
More Info
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
23
5
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
23
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seoul national university great hike rocks trail forest scrambling tallest peak hiking climb bridge route stream temple exit station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 30 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our hike at Gwanaksan. We parked at Seoul National University and had an easy walk to the trail entrance. We kept to the path along the stream and stopped a few times for a dip and to cool off. Beautiful location and so easy to drive and park here. Our only complaint was you had to make an online reservation for the ropes course and our phone doesn’t have Hangul which seemed to be the problem with getting a reservation. No matter course guides were there waiting for participants and the office had a few people with nothing to do but make reservations. Too bad the Internet was the only way - modern technology didn’t work in our favor to add the ropes course to top off an already fun day.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank janamt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019

We were lucky to climb the mountain on a perfect day. Started at 9 am. It was clear and 20 c. It is a steep climb though a temperate broadleaved forest. So you are out of the sun. But very steep, straight up the mountain with lots of boulders. Have good shoes, take your time and bring water. We took about 1,5 hours to reach top and hour down. By the it was about 25 c and convective clouds were forming. Going down can be hard on knees. Most locales my age had walking sticks. Really impressed with the amount of people in 50s and 60s doing the climb. It is a great opportunity to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Today our view was perfect. I recommend going in morning on mild days. On hot, humid summer day the hike could be quite strenuous.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank 763dennisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

I and my friend went on hiking to Gwanaksan and it was the best thing I did in Seoul. It was very exhausting YES but it was so fun too. Sharing stories with fellow hikers on the way. It was a good exercise and so many older people go there on regular basis. I would too if I live there. Up there you can see a portion of the City, if not all. Very wonderful, cover-photoable shots in the top.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank billygoodlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

This is a great alternative to Bukhansan, which although great, is a bit out of the way if you are in the center of Seoul and short on time. I recommend starting at Sadang because the views from that trail are spectacular.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank TravelAngler725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

And not sure what to expect. The walk from the station to the entrance was tough enough. The seasoned old folks were warning us that it could be too difficult, looking at how inexperience we were. But we made it to the TOP! Not all easy and some slippery slope .... it all worth it. For the view and the sense of achievement!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank HockLye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews