We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Almost perfect but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yeouido Park Centre, Seoul - Marriott Executive Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yeouido Park Centre, Seoul - Marriott Executive Apartments
Ranked #62 of 451 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Almost perfect but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Aa a full-time business traveler I've seen it all --- the good, bad and ugly. The MEA is almost perfect. They offer excellent customer service, very friendly and polite front desk personal and prompt rely to special needs. The apartment is ideal for my wife and I. There's plenty of storage space, the washer/drier brings tears to my eyes after years of washing underwear in the sink, the kitchen is fully equipped, the apartment is spacious and well-decorated... the list goes on and on. Plus, MEA has a health spa and fitness center that rivals the best hotels in Las Vegas. My massage was among the top 10 ever. OK, so what's my gripe? I don't mind paying a premium price for a premium hotel, but it drives me crazy when I am gouged for the extras. How could a hotel of this caliber charge 100,000 won/week for Internet. Really??? A draft beer at the pub cost $15! I bought the exact same beer at the convenience store in the hotel for $3.50. A mediocre glass of wine at dinner: $14.00. Dear MEA Management, your hotel attracts seasoned business travelers. Please do not insult them with ridiculous prices! Instead of having a beer at the pub I have walked to the wonderful E-Mart down the street. Wake up and smell the coffee (BTW, a packet of Illy Coffee in the apartment kitchen will set you back $20! Really????). Please take a look at your pricing strategy. You're forcing customers to wonder what other ways you are trying to get into their knickers. I love this hotel and I plan to return again, but I will avoid the in-room supplies and the restaurants because of the excessive costs. Really.

Room Tip: Make sure to sign up for the breakfast buffet. It's one of the only good deals at the hotel. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    35
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
20
12
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida (home of the Gators!)
Level Contributor
200 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel room itself is spectacular. Very spacious, all you need to live for a long time. Dishwasher, washer/dryer... a full service set up. BUT, I would hardly call this a "business apartment", as the daily cost for internet is $18. That, in my opinion, is insane that they charge this much for internet. Not to mention, any other items you may forget: $8.75 for a razor. Laundry soap for one load, $2.20, a box for 20 loads from an outside store, $3.25.

As for the Spa, I went in and waited, and waited, when the lady finally showed up, she had no idea what type of packages they offered. I took my business elsewhere.

I also had a real problem with the attitude of the employees. I guess I just expect a little more respect as a regular Marriott customer.

Bottom line, beautiful hotel, good location, questionable staff. If you are going to stay here, stock up with all your needs (paper towels, soap...)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johndfffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

hotel is service apartment style with kitchen, living room area and bedroom.

rooms are clean and cozy

staff speaks fluent English

this hotel is great for business trips but the area is not very convenient for vacationing in seoul

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very comfortable and nicely furnished apartments in financial district. However very expensive and public areas and restaurants lacking in atmosphere. There are a few restaurants nearby and a large new mail just opened down the road. Colleagues stayed in the nearby Courtyard Marriot which was a lot better value and closer to the action.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love staying at the Marriott Exec Apartments - the extra space is something every traveler loves after a long week on the road. Throw in the included laundry machine and it is just like home. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: You will want a room away from the road if you are a light sleeper (away from the River).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a studio with kitchen, laundry, beautiful marble bathroom and a roll away. All rooms are non smoking even though it is not stated in the website.

Initially, I was hesitant in my reservation due to its cost. I thought $350/ night with tax and 10% service charge for 13 days was a bit high compared to comparable places like Oakwood Premier at Coex. Internet connection and breakfast were extra $100/ week and $24( not incl tax & service) daily, respectively. However, the place is definitely recommended for families and business travellers alike for the following reasons.

First, room and amenities:

1. Kitchen is well equipped. All you need is groceries. After a day of sight seeing, fun but tiring, last thing kids want to do is sit at restaurants to eat. It's nice to eat simple food, chilling with TV, and rest for next day at home like environment.

2. Miele laundry is convenient. I pack extremely light, just a carry-on and backpack for each of us, for 14 days of travel, all the way from Boston MA. Laundry every other day worked out very well.

3. Place looks just like pictures on their website, no misrepresentation what so ever... New, clean, state of the art room with electric adapters built in and iPod docking, great rain shower, relaxing tub, beautiful 25m lap pool and amazing work out facility. This Hotel even has 2 trek bikes ( adult size) for free use.

Second, location:

True, this hotel is not in the heart of most tourist sights. Rather, it is located in the midst of banks and National Assembly. But, it is just few blocks from 3 metro stations ( line 1, 5, 9) which means you can get just about anywhere with a single transfer at the most. And if you go far, you can take an express car as one of the station is a transfer station for line 5 & 9. It is also one of the few stations that was staffed all the time which was most helpful.

Some of the places we convieniently got to within about 30 minutes were National Museum, National Children's Museum, National Folk Museum, War Memorial, USO for DMZ tour, start point for City Tours, Insa Dong(souvenir shopping), and Chunggae Chun. Within about an hour were Lotte World, Coex Aquarium, Gwachon National Science Mueum, Seoul Land and Zoo. One thing to note is that traffic is very heavy in Seoul so taking taxi doesnt get you anywhere faster.

It is also located next to Yeoido Park where you can rent a bike (ample choice for all) to ride along paved exercise paths along the Han River. It was absolutely beautiful, relaxing and fun for our family. There is also a water park on the river for children which was great for a down day.

Third, people:

One of the most amazing thing about Seoul is the people and at this hotel was no exception. Just about everyone was able to help us in English with warmth. Couple of the people who provided notable service were restaurant managers Leeny and Mr Pang, and one of the van driver. One word of caution, while friendly, concierge isn't exactly most knowledgeable when it comes to tourism. They provide good business support, arranging transportation, bills, calls, groceries, etc. but not for helping you book organized tours/transportations to go to DMZ, Everland, Folk Village in Suwon, etc. I found concierge desk at Marriott Timesquare to be more helpful for that type of task.

Final thought:

I would visit this hotel again but wish they would include either Internet, breakfast or local calls in the package. While I really really liked my 13 day stay at this hotel and would stay again, I felt for some reason, more value at the Atlantis, Bahamas and Four Seasons at Hualalai, Big Island, Hawaii which are definitely not cheap places at all.

Room Tip: 2 adults and 2 children under 12 stayed in studio. We were comfortable. There are no bad rooms, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank runfeelbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just perfect. Room is modern, large, bathroom is big, with bath tub and rain shower, larger mirror. XXL flat TV, Bose sound system, iPhone docking station, very comfy bed. Internet wired or wifi is available for 100,000 won for 7 days. Paul French bakery near lobby, one Italian restaurant in the basement. Only minus is off location, away from city center. For me, due to nuclear summit in march, it translated into 30-40mins taxi ride in terrible Seoul traffic. Office neighborhood, so not really happening for dinner. But that's about it, much better than most hotel I've stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Yeoido
GLAD Hotel Yeouido
GLAD Hotel Yeouido
#61 of 451 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#10 of 451 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
#142 of 451 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeouido Park Centre, Seoul - Marriott Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeouido Park Centre, Seoul - Marriott Executive Apartments

Property: Yeouido Park Centre, Seoul - Marriott Executive Apartments
Address: 8 Yeoui-daero, Yeongdeungpo-Gu, Seoul 07320, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Yeoido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Seoul
#19 Family Hotel in Seoul
#24 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#43 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yeouido Park Centre, Seoul - Marriott Executive Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yeouido Park Centre, Seoul - Marriott Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Executive Apartments - Yeouido Park Centre Hotel Seoul
Marriott Seoul
Seoul Marriott
Marriott Executive Apartments Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing