We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I've ever had; flavor combinations I didn't know existed.”
Review of Soigne Restaurant

Soigne Restaurant
Ranked #129 of 125,161 Restaurants in Seoul
Cuisines: Contemporary
Neighborhood: Seocho-gu
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Seocho-gu
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Went to this restaurant last night. The best meal and dining experience I've ever had. It was pouring rain outside, and they started with glasses of hot tea and a blanket for my wife. Five amuse-bouches to start (all delicious), the wines were excellent as was my beer (Flemish sour ale). Every course was amazing.

I think what really made the difference was how well the drinks paired with the food, and how the courses used local (and sometimes ancient) ingredients I'd never heard of, and prepared in novel ways with flavor combinations I didn't know existed. Each course had an explanation of the ingredients (both in English and Korean), and several courses were served by the owner/chef Jun Lee himself.

You'll have to pay a deposit when you make a reservation. Totally worth it, and when you go you'll see why this is done. The meal takes 2+ hours, and there are only 12-15 seats total in the restaurant.

Getting here was a bit of a challenge, as the closest Metro stop is the Express Bus Terminal, and it's a 10-minute walk (from the closest exit, #5) with poor signage. Walk south along the west side of Banpo-daero, turn right on the street after the Aston Martin dealer (Banpo-daero 39-gil), walk up the hill to the T, and turn left. The valet booth says SOIGNE on the top.

Simply amazing.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2sunilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2017

Outstanding new dinner men which just launched out, paying lots of attention to the details, the 5 amazing amuse bouches before starting the main menu. A must try!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flamingo_pink_516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

Things to note:
1/ service is attentive and several of the chefs come out to describle the dishes, nice touch
2/ the wine is supremely marked up...a glass of prosseco is about W30k
3/ the food had its moments of deliciousness but in general things were pretty muted
4/ strong presentation and beautiful cutlery
5/ definitely a 1-star place but felt like it was over-hyped by those that recommended it.
6/ two seating sections, one seated around the kitchen and another area that is 'normal'
7/ the standard set meal was about W145k

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank manageout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

A restaurant that is truly about experience and adventure. A wonderful journey, not only of food, but especially the beverage pairings, including craft beer. Chefs globally are only now beginning to pair innovative craft beers, sakes, other beverages in addition to wine, with their dishes. Soigne does this to an extreme and fantastic effect.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank RichardM4793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017

Everything is in my tittle. One star in the Michelin, a French name as a claim, nice view on the kitchen staff working, ordering the "best Soigné tasting menu" ... But NO ! It started unfortunately by a wet towel used for hands cleaning left on the table while appetizers served, by some limited information on why the mix of such ingredients - that said I loved the godfather story - or on the choice of the wines proposed, followed by a makerel served with a too strong ink taste - while a good stoty telling - and a pasteurized cheese ... There was no magic in this menu. Nothing to add except that it is a big deception and a bigger frustration !

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhP_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soigne Restaurant also viewed

 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Soigne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing