We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Okay for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benhur Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benhur Hotel
Ranked #168 of 451 Hotels in Seoul
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed at Benhur hotel for a total of 5 nights. The staff speaks very little/no English, and so communicating is quite a puzzle if you don't speak Korean (luckily we do). They are very professional and the room was quite clean. However, we had asked for a non-smoking room, and it seems that the room was actually a smoking room. Hence, the smell of cigarette was very strong, and we ended up having to buy air fresheners for our comfort.

We were offered free breakfast in the morning, but the food and its smell was not very appealing to westerners early in the morning.... (steamed rice, porridge, Kimchi, sprout soup and seafood). We do enjoy Korean food, but we stuck to the toasts and free coffee.

The room itself was nice; they had great amenities (shaving cream, toothbrush and paste, razors, lotions and shampoo, as well as in-room computer with free high-speed internet). The washroom was quite nice as well, with a rain shower and sauna. However, the bed was rock hard, and will give you a rather good backache if you are not used to sleeping on a hard mattress. Furthermore, they did not have self-serve washer/dryer service for customers, and we had to pay of we wanted our clothes washed (the service was quite expensive as well).

Yoeido is a very calm, professional and removed neighborhood, and so there isn't much to do. Still, the hotel itself is close to the National Assembly building, and is a short taxi ride from the 63 building. There are also quite a few Noraebangs (Karaoke) and restaurants in the area, but keep in mind that this is not as touristy as central Seoul, which means that you would get a better service if you speak a little Korean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mland031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
12
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Everything is fine there if you just need a normal residence for a while. There is internet in rooms, which is good, because you don't have to walk down to the internet room. You might be confused on how to open the lights, but you'll probably get it. The room is perfect for us, but the make-up table light didn't work. There's not a variety of food for breakfast but there's enough food to eat (of course). The service seems to be fine. You can also walk to 7-eleven close by to buy some snacks, or drinks. For me, I would recommend this hotel, because it's quite convenient, silent, and not crowded.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PowerPoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Good location, cheap price, kind staff. This hotel is very small but their rooms have enough fixtures & service. Breakfast is humble but delicious. If your purpose is business, maybe this hotel become a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mir12k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Had a pleasant stay at Behur Hotel this week. It is located in Seoul's business district called Yeouido, within walking distance to the famous Yoido Full Gospel Church. There is no shopping mall nearby as place is full of banks and financial companies. Nearby are some coffee joints, korean and western food outlets.

Room is clean, decor is nice with colored lights at ceilings. Place feels cosy with a big sofa and coffee table served with green tea and coffee, you can make hot water with portable electric boiler. The TV is big and next to it is a desktop computer with free internet, personal laptops can be used as well. The bathroom is clean and big, has a jacuzzi bathtub and also a personal sauna with shower.

I will recommend this hotel to people who are on business trips in Yeouido and also people visiting Yoido Full Gospel Church.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank raincool2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We found this hotel listed in a Seoul Lonely Planet travel guide. It sounded too good to be true at the price listed but we took a subway to check it out, anyway, It is a 2500 Won (about $2.00 USD) taxi ride from the Yeouinaru subway stop. The hotel is on the island of Yeouido which is a business and financial area of Seoul. The island is known for it's beautiful parks and views of the Han River. Our guide book turned out to be old and the price was 130000 Won for the room and an extra 20000 for our third person (A total of around 118.00 USD). We were tired and decided to take the room and settle in before going out again to eat and explore more of Seoul.
We were completely shocked when we opened the door and viewed the room! It was downright elegant! Marble countertops, flatscreen TV, computer, refrigerator stocked with all sorts of free drinks (yes, free... our 16-year-old-son asked)! Everything was controlled by remote control right down to the lights. The bathroom had a separate sauna, shower/tub combination, and sink area. Full sized toiletries were provided... right down to cologne! There was a bag full of toiletry items as well, coffee & tea with real china cups to make in the room, and a cold/hot water filtration system in the room to make the coffee, soup or whatever you desired.
We had two big beds made up with the finest of linens and the best feature of all... high thread count, super soft sheets! To top all of this off we had three coupons for breakfast in the morning which was a big, sit-down, Korean breakfast. We enjoyed eggs, soup, rice, toast, sausages, fruit, etc.
You can catch a Taxi at the end of the street to the subway station for around 2500 Won and go any place in the city, but there are also places to eat right around the hotel. There are also convenience stores, Dunkin' Dounuts, etc. within walking distance along the Han River. Wonderful, clean room with everything your heart desires at a very reasonable price!

  • Liked — Luxurious linens
  • Disliked — No shower curtains in Korean bathrooms!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank VDR928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Yeoido
Hotel Kobos
Hotel Kobos
#199 of 451 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Yeoido
Hotel M
Hotel M
#247 of 451 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Yeoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
#141 of 451 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Yoido Hotel
Yoido Hotel
#189 of 451 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Yeoido
Hotel Together Yeouido
Hotel Together Yeouido
#338 of 451 in Seoul
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#136 of 451 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benhur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benhur Hotel

Property: Benhur Hotel
Address: 7, Gukhoe-daero 72-gil, Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul 07238, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Yeoido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 451 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benhur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Benhur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing