We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in good area”
Review of Hotel Kobos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kobos
Ranked #181 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Located in a quieter area near National Assembly. A 5 minute walk from the Subway and lots of eating places nearrby. The airport bus stops 5 minutes walk away . The staff were fantastic, helpful and welcoming. The room was a treat, heated floors, filtered water machine and a computer in the room. The bathroom was huge with a spa and the shower doubled as a sauna. Breakfast was plentiful and a reasonable selection. Its maybe 6 to 7 subway stops to Seoul station or City Hall. Would atay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterAUCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kobos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 107 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Because of the price, I was worried this was going to be a love hotel. Some personal care products in the room made it feel that way. But it wasn’t. Hotel in good location walking distance to subway and airport bus. Room, facing street, was quiet. Bed was comfortable enough. Breakfast was free and adequate but getting seating was tough. Rooms were somewhat old but reasonably comfortable. Bathroom was large. Cleanliness could definitely improve. A small piece of chicken bone under the sofa and a bit of hair on the floor were not confidence builders. Overall, however, it would not classify as filthy. Room had a hot/cold water dispenser, some English channels and free WIFI that worked. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a decent stay for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTB_BIKE_MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here during our trip to Seoul over the New Year. It is not hard to find. From the airport, just hop on the Airport Bus that makes its stop at the Lexington Hotel. Walk through the Lexington, once you reach the other side, you will need to make a right at the corner where the French Bakery is (forgot the exact name). Then make another right, and a few steps down and you will see the hotel which would be just slightly across the large Wa Bar (a restaurant/liquor place).

Kobos is a business hotel. The rooms are ok. It is one of the friendliest hotels in Seoul in terms of price. I think we got our room for about 50$/night. We came during the coldest season of Seoul (around -15 to -17 degrees C!) so the heated floors were a hit for me and my wife. The room though felt like a prison cell. It was the right size, but had a tiny window. Shower was nice. They had a separate shower and a tub. The bed was also comfortable. There was also a mini fridge so bringing lots of water and drinks into your room wont be a problem. No safety deposit box, though. And the room absorbed a lot of noise from outside plus footsteps from the top floor and noise from the hallway. Smoking is also allowed in the hallways so if you hate the smell of cigarette smoke, you have been warned.

The hotel is located within a business district area so expect a lot of white-collared type folks during lunch hour. Around the area, there are a lot of restaurants to choose from. We especially liked this restaurant beside the French bakery, which was like a smokeless grill type of restaurant. A bit pricey, though, but well worth it. There is also a Dunkin Donuts, a 7-11, several other Korean and Japanese restaurants plus bars/pubs. It is also relatively safe. Me and my wife would walk around the area even at 2 in the morning and never felt scared.

It is about a 10-minute walk from the hotel to the nearest Seoul Metro station (National Assembly station). I found their subway system to be so complex. Compared to Hongkong's or Taipei's subway system, this one would need several weeks of getting used to and understanding.

Breakfast was ok, but not something worth looking forward to. The staff are ok. They could understand English but cant really keep a conversation going. One of their lady staff though was really friendly and really helpful! I forgot her name but she was the one who spoke good English. She gave us a lot of information about places to go to, booking our tour, and was nice enough to always ask how our day went or how we were.

For a short stay, I'd say this would be an OK place to retire in after being out and about during the day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Located five mins walk from the national assembly metro station, staff are not very friendly and seem pretty pissed off, but after staying here for a few days, i cant blame them as the same staff seem to always be on the reception desk. Room's are very very tired and dated, even though the hotel is only 10 years old. Hotel room had condoms on the bathroom floor when checked in, the hot-tub bath belched out brown water when switched on. The Sauna-shower, didnt work... switching the room lights off was a nightmare, as was on the tv remote....all in korean (no english) and the ondol.... was so hot, you could not walk on the floor.... we asked the reception desk how to switch it off and they had no idea, and suggested opening the window, which looked out on to a noisy street...... Breakfast was a collection of kimchi, rice, CHIP'S, flour soup.... they also have youghurt and fruit pieces if you turn up early enough for the fight to get them.... Location is average, 40 mins from downtown, and the seoul metro have now introduced express stops and this is not one of them....... avoid.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank namsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for a total of 9 nights at Hotel Kobos last June 2012.
Was satisfied over-all but location was pretty far from all the usual places I go to.

Arrived at 7:30am and couldn't do an early check-in because hotel was fully booked so I asked the front desk lady where was the nearest motel was instead. she was nice enough to apologize to me sincerely several times for not being able to accomodate my early check-in. No problem, my fault I didn't inform the hotel that I was arriving early.

Finally checked-in at 2pm and the room was nice with a LCD tv, Desktop PC, free wired internet (no wi-fi in the room), huge bathroom with tub. comfy queen size bed. complimentary mini bar with 2 canned fruit juice, water, crackers.
No toilet seat bidet which was common in korean hotels.

they offered free breakfast at the lobby resto but I always slept till 11am so didn't get to try their food.
Staff were friendly and spoke good english so it was easy for me to communicate with them.

Good Value for the KRW 100k per night charge.

Would I stay here again? Yes, already stayed another 9 nights in July 2012.

Room Tip: Get a room with the window facing the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silverkatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have booked the hotel last minute and got a very good rate. Good things about the hotel:

1)It is very close to one of the stops on coach line Airport-city centre.
2)Reception very friendly, not the best English but they try to help as much as they can
3)Rooms comfortable and extremely warm in winter
4)Close to underground station. Maybe reasonable close as you have to walk 10-15 min.
5)Close to river and 66 building which offers fantastic view of the city, there in nice walk paths along the river
6)The surroundings are is reasonably quiet

Not so good things:
1)Breakfast room is very small, selection of food could be better.
2)Bathroom big but old and dated, steam room did not work at all.
3)Not the easiest hotel to find, when taking taxis I used to mention one of the bigger hotels next to Kobos as no drivers would know this hotel.

Overall, my stay was very nice and I would stay here again…

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariuszKluzniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Good business Hotel and even better to stay with family. My wife and I stayed here for a night and particularly wanted it to be a safe one (not a love hotel). This was just it.

The best feature is friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is just about ok, they could either have it in a bigger place or can just pack it and send it to rooms.

Location is another key feature, reaching Gimpo, seoul station or Dangdemoun market (in the middle of the night) is all easy and affordable in taxi. Though metro station is near by did not try that, as i found a bus station hardly 100 m from hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sridhar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Yeoido
Hotel The Designers Yeouido
Yeoido
Yoido Hotel
Yoido Hotel
#261 of 500 in Seoul
61 reviews
Yeoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
#93 of 500 in Seoul
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Hotel M
Hotel M
#304 of 500 in Seoul
33 reviews
Yeoido
Hotel Benhur
Hotel Benhur
#186 of 500 in Seoul
48 reviews
Yeoido
GLAD Hotel Yeouido
GLAD Hotel Yeouido
#63 of 500 in Seoul
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kobos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kobos

Address: 9, Gukhoe-daero 72-gil, Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul 07238, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Yeoido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $52 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kobos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kobos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing