We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Ranked #51 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights. The experience was very good.
Arrived early and they managed to check us in early after some checking.
The staff that we encountered all spoke English. All of them were very helpful. They always greeted us with a smile when we left or returned to the hotel. Very helpful with all our queries. Credit to a staff called Benjamin. There were of course others, but too many to name (Those at the front desk on Level 1).

Pros:
1. Airport Limousine Bus Service just outside hotel (About 10,000 won from Incheon Airport. (Tip : There are coupons in tourist maps or tourist booklets that can give you 1,000 won discount)
2. It is a few minute walk to and from Euljiro-1 ga Station Exit 6.
3. Hotel provides free shuttle service to (one-way) certain tourist locations at 9am, 10am and 2pm. You can book with them the day before. For the different locations, you can check with them. (Saves you some travelling time and money taking train)
4. Hot Bath, Gym and laundry available. (Laundry and Dryer is about 1,000 won each per load)
5. Excellent Location. Lots of food, cosmetics shop, duty free shopping at Lotte, underground shopping centre, easily accessible to all tourist locations (usually just a few train stations away).
6. Free WiFi.
7. Not too expensive for its excellent location

Cons:
1. Rooms not very soundproof, usually can hear the cleaning crew pushing their carts in the morning when they go about their duties. Sometimes you can hear the TV next door. Not good if you want to sleep in.
2. No toiletries provided, only a lotion that is supposed to act as shampoo, shower foam all in one and a handsoap. You can buy toothbrush and toothpaste from a vending machine in the hotel if I am not mistaken on Level 10.
3. As others have stated, sometimes not quite sure how the aircon adjusted its temperature, but still within my comfort level. But sometimes it got a little stuffy, but with so many things around the hotel, you won’t be in the room much.

Overall it was an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room not close to the ice machine located on every floor, it maybe quiet noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagnant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Mr. Gagnant76


Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong. It is always a pleasure to receive kind feedback. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience due to helpful staff, shuttle service, facilities and more at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong.
Especially, as you mentioned, our location is very helpful to the traveler because it is very near to food stalls, restaurants, cafes and shops. ,and it is very near to the Seoul Metro stations (Euljiro il-ga) and has Airport Limousine bus stop in front of hotel.

Also, we would like to deeply thank you for your kind compliments on our staffs. Your kind words have been passed on to our team and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. And also concerning the air-conditioning and soundproofing, it has been carefully noted to be improved for our future planning.
In addition, we have a plan to set up toiletries in all rooms this month for our guest convenience. If you stay here again, we can provide it. Thank you for choosing Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, and we truly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future where we will do our best to exceed your expectations.
We would like to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    1,308
    267
    34
    15
See reviews for
544
649
350
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is extremely convenient, just opposite to the Lotte department store and a few minutes walk to the most crowded shopping area. The airport bus stop right outside the hotel which takes around an hour.

Hotel staff are very helpful and nice, the entire checkin process was done very quickly. Wifi is free.

The rooms are clean but quite small, and with only very basic amenities. Quite value for money in my view, the luxury hotel just across the street costs almost a double!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janjantong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, 제너럴 매니저 at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms.Janjantong,

Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We are happy to read that you had an wonderful stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel.
It is encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our as it is what we strive for every single day.
Cocerning the size of room, it has been carefully noted to be improved for our future planning.
All of us at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong would like to offer our sincere thanks for your kind review. We would like to welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We could have a better 5-night stay if not for the 25-degree Celsius aircon and the minute fridge that had no freezer compartment. However, location was perfect for exploring by subway. Also, getting from and to the airport by bus was a breeze.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Seah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, 제너럴 매니저 at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. 2Seah,

Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
I would like to thank you for staying with us recently. Please, feel assured that your comments regarding the status of air-conditioning was not taken lightly and I have raised the issue with the Engineering Department to improve current circumstances
Concerning air-conditioning and heating, it is centralized throughout the hotel floors. Hence, individual control of room temperature can not be conformed to the figure on control panel in room once in a while. The management has presently been working up to improve air-conditioning and ventilation system.
I look forward to welcoming you and hope that you allow us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. And, thank you for your understanding in advance.

with best wishes,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very hard to get the dates we wanted for this hotel on the net, and I realised why when we got there: it's right smack in the middle of the MyeongDong, the heart of the the shopping in Seoul. Right across the hotel was Lotte Dept stores, where one can get duty-free shopping on the 9&10 floors. Heavens for my wife:)
We took the airport bus 6015 from airport arrival terminal gate 12(W10,000 each), and it dropped us right outside the hotel.
Check-in was on the 19th floor, and they were warm and friendly; no hassle, got my card keys in no time and we were in our 15th floor room under 15 mins. In fact, all the staff here are nice and friendly; no bad experience at all.And all spoke English.
The room was average size, but the bathroom was a bit small, but good enough for both of us.Nice clean room and we got to change the towels daily. It was non-smoking and there were no funny smell.
Didn't take up the breakfast option as there are plenty of food outlets around the hotel.
Stayed 7 nights in this hotel and have no complaints whatsoever.
Tip : remember to ask for the tax refund(10%) on your hotel bill, if you qualify. They will give you a form to help you check if you are eligible.
All in all, a most enjoyable stay in Ibis MyeongDong!
Mobil phone tip : if you are out most of the time(like we are),rent an Olleh "egg" tether device from the airport(W8,000/day), as it can allow up to 5 phones/tablets to be hooked on the WiFi. We rented one and used it for the entire trip for our 2 mobile phones and a tablet.
Food tip : there is a fried chicken restaurant in the next building adjoining the hotel, and they serve the best fried chicken I've tasted.

Room Tip: 10th floor from rooms #1025 onwards may be noisier as the laundry room is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank WJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr. WJNS,

Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong. It is always a pleasure to receive kind feedback.
Your review is so cheerful and inspiring! All our team members at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong Hotel will continually strive to exceed our guest’s expectations by providing the most warm and caring service.

Also, as you mentioned, our location is very helpful to the traveler because it is very near to tourist attractions like palaces and shopping area. And it is very near to the Seoul Metro stations and has Airport Limousine bus stop in front of hotel.
In addition, I agree with your tip about tax refund and mobile phone rental. Actually, we have mobile phone and egg(wi-fi router) rental service.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Your compliments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great location! Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby!
My check in experience was good. The front desk staff is very helpful and the most important with smiley face and friendly. In fact, it felt too warm and extremely stuffy in the room

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gigiay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, 제너럴 매니저 at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Ms. Gigiay2014,

Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We are happy to read that you had an wonderful stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel.
It is encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our as it is what we strive for every single day.
Concerning air-conditioning of the hotel, it is centralized throughout the hotel floors. Hence, there might be a limitation during a change of season due to the fact that some may feel cold, on the other hand, the others might feel hot, such as you. However, this does not resolve the dissatisfaction you had. Therefore, we have spoken to the person, in charge of Engineering, and the management will commence on improving air-conditioning system.
All of us at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong would like to offer our sincere thanks for your kind review. We would like to welcome you again in the near future!

faithfully yours,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#10 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Lotte Hotel L7 Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Property: ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#36 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing