We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Ranked #68 of 529 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

While the service was good and the location is central to shopping and some historic areas, the price is very high for the accommodations you receive. The room is small and the bathroom is VERY small (a modular capsule of sorts). I felt like was in a motel rather than a hotel and definitely feel I overpaid. It was clean, but there was an odd smell to the room and the carpet needs to be replaced. It did have a good TV with cable, a safe, and a mini fridge, although, the closet did not have a door. One other drawback was the energy blackouts they had each night in the middle of the night, resulting in the air conditioning turning off and the emergency overhead light in the room turning on (around 2:00a one night and 4:00a another night); thus my low rating for sleep quality. Not sure if the hotel had control of this or not, but it was not pleasant, to say the least. If I return to Seoul, I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Melissa C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong Dong. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Please, feel assured that your comments are not taken lightly and I have raised the issue with the related department.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 2,796 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We chose this hotel for a number of reasons:
1. The Airport bus (costs KW10,000) stops right in front of this hotel.
2. We wanted a Suite room but not too expensive
3. We wanted a hotel that was walking reach the popular Myeongdong shopping strips
4. We wanted a hotel with a self-laundry service for us to have only clean clothes as we head down to Jeju Island after this stay
5. We wanted good view of the city

This hotel satisfied each one of the reasons above. The room was very comfortable with very fast WiFi (20 mbits average) with a self-laundry service on Level 3. The MRT station and connecting underground shops were right next to this hotel. Myeongdong shopping strips, money exchanges and tons of food and cafe options were also right next to this hotel. Our Suite room faced the big Shinsegae roundabout with view of the Seoul Namsan hotel and amazing night view of the hustle bustle at Myeongdong. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and rooms that face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear samoy75,

Warm Greetings from ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!
We would like to thank you for choosing ibis Seoul Myeong-dong as your accommodation.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your staying at our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.
Your kind words have been passed on to our team and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in the future.
Thank you.

Best Regards,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very well located, nice staff, goode food and rooms very clean. It was a total success choosing this hotel, definitely I will come back when I go to Seoul again. There is a bus that goes from the airport directly in the hotel gate, very useful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank rossbram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear rossbram,

Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong Dong.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank jyp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had stayed there on earlier trip (in 2012) and overall experience was positive.
So stayed there again on this latest trip. Experience this time was mixed Maybe this is because this is not my first trip to Seoul and also have had chance to stay at other Seoul hotels on other trips.

First the plus points. As noted by other reviewers, Ibis' is well located:
(i) quick access to Myeongdong (the 'back entrance' of the hotel's building opens out directly into a Myeondong side street) and the from the front it is a quick nip into the underground shopping center which connects to the Lotte department store,
(ii) within walking distance - especially in less humid weather - to a number of tourist sites (City Hall, Deoksugung Palace, Cheongyecheon, Insadong etc)
(iii) 5- 7 minutes walk to two subway stations- Eujiro (1)il-ga station and Myeongdong station.
(iv) the 6015 airport limousine to/from Incheon stops directly in front of the hotel;
(v) efficient, helpful and articulate front desk staff

The areas for improvement:
(i) had booked a non-smoking room. However stale cigarette odor seemed to permeate my rook (was on the 16th floor);
(ii) room was looking tired and shabby with discolored carpet and peeling paint in the modular bathroom;
(iii) housekeeping slow to make up room. On both my earlier and latest stay, noted that room was not made up when I returned from my morning outing at or around 1-2pm in the afternoon;

Other structural points to be noted: (i) bathroom is a modular unit type and can feel quite confining; (ii) two lifts only to serve the entire hotel which occupies the 10th floor to the 19th floor (reception/restaurant/hot bath) of the building.

Room Tip: The ice dispensing machine is located opposite all the '04' rooms. They can make quite a noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odyssesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Odyssesian,

Warm Greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent stay and for taking the time to share your feeback on trip advisor.

Your comments regarding our facilities, it will be carefully noted to be improved for our future planning.At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit!

Thank you so much.

Best Regards,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

From July 23 to July 31 I stayed at the Ibis Ambassador Myeongdong. This hotel was selected for my vacations through the reviews posted in TripAdvisor!!! and really, it was an excellent hotel. The Airport Limousine Bus number 6015 stops just in front of the hotel for less than $10 (10,000 WON). In the first floor I received a Welcome from the Information Desk Employees, which speaks English fluently and are very polite and courteous, particularly Kim Gye Young, which is a Trainee Employee, because he is a student of the Kyung Hee University, Ja Min and Kyle. They gave me advices and the orientation so I made the tours by my own using the Subway. This personnel was extremely efficent. The Check in should be made in de 19th floor. I received a prompt service. My room, which was 1610 was very clean, with a double bed, a desk with chair, small bathroom and Wifi free of charge. Be advise that the hotel only provides a Body and Shower Gel. You should bring your own shampoo, conditioner, shaver, etc. Don't expect anything of this in your bath. The air conditioned works good and most of all, ít is very quiet so I can sleep after a long flight from Puerto Rico. They also have 3 Computers in the 19th floor and the guest can use them free of charge!!! In front of the hotel you have Lotte Department Store, a huge 13 floor store, very expensive!! but in the Basement (B1 floor) you have a Food Court and Supermarket. Just few meters at the left side of the hotel you can find a lot of Boutiques, stores, Starbucks, Seven Eleven Market, etc. The location of this hotel is in the heart of Seoul. The City Hall and Seoul Plaza (performances free of charge every weekend!) is just a 7 minutes walk. You can take de Seoul Tour Bus for less than $10 very near the hotel, which is Hop on, hop off Tour bus and you can see all the city of Seoul. Undoubtedly, I recommend this hotel to everybody who seeks a good price hotel with an excellent location, clean rooms and efficent personnel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a high floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elyrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear elyrivera;

Warm greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong Dong.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We chose this hotel for our transit in Seoul because of its proximity to Myeongdong, a market in Seoul where we planned to spend time to do some shopping. The hotel is also a stop for the Airport Shuttle, so transfer from and to the airport is very easy. You can buy tickets for the shuttle from the front office, and they take credit card for payment.

The hotel is special because the reception lobby and the coffee shop is not on the ground floor, but on the top floor of the hotel. It offers a spectacular view of Seoul while you are waiting or having your breakfast.

The staff were especially friendly, and they are ready to help you regardless of the time of the day. Our flight was delayed and we didn't get to the hotel until nearly 10 PM. But the staff were just as quick as if it were early morning.

The room was very clean, well organized and well designed for a small hotel. Although the bed was rather small, but it was comfortable and warm to sleep in, even in winter time.

The hotel provides vending machines in each floor. And even if you can't find what you want in the machines, there are 7-Eleven, McDonald's and Starbucks stores around the hotel for 24/7 dining. There are also many good restaurants in the vicinity, getting dinner is a easy.

And for shopping, there is no shortage of choice. If the market around Myeongdong is not suitable for you, you can get across the street and visit the Lotte World. And if you feel like you want to explore Seoul a bit further, the Subway station is nearby.

It is so much fun to stay here. The price may be a bit steep for a similar room in an Ibis, but you get so much more in convenience.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Stephen S;

Warm Greetings from Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong!
We would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your staying at our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Thank you.

Best regards,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeong-dong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Royal Hotel Seoul
Royal Hotel Seoul
#38 of 529 in Seoul
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#36 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $86 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing