We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but the most expensive Ibis I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Ranked #55 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, but the most expensive Ibis I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

While I always like to stay at Accor hotels because of their (usually) great locations, this one surprised me in some ways. First of all, the location is great! Right smack in Myeong-dong where there is always something going on. The metro station is almost in front of the hotel, Lotte department store is across the street and the night market is around the corner. I loved all of that. Now, usually, Ibis is an economic hotel as it is mainly focused on business travelers. Rooms and services are usually minimum in many ways but clean and comfortable. We are a family of 4 and they did not have joined rooms so my kids stayed in a room next to ours. The rooms were comfortable and they include wifi. This is also the first Ibis I've ever stayed in where they have a restaurant and the food is very good there. The people in front desk speak English and were very courteous. The only down side is that it is somewhat expensive. I was surprised given that it's an Ibis. I imagine it's because of the location. Anyhow, we enjoyed our stay and Seoul is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear beepages,

Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!
We would like to thank you for staying with us.

I’m so glad that you had a great stay in Ibis Seoul Myeong dong.
Especially, we would like to deeply thank you for your kind compliments on our staffs and our products.

Your compliments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Again, thank you for choosing Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong.
And, we would like to welcome you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Steve,Choi
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    1,354
    275
    38
    16
See reviews for
576
671
368
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulungagung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

this is an average hotel. not many taxi driver knows the hotel. it is near subway station. just 5min walk. bed is ok. clean. unique bathroom. the breakfast was good. the worst thing about this hotel is that there wasn't any porter to help us carried our heavy luggages, or even a luggage cart. OMG...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank yen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear yen2,

Warm greeting from Ibis Seoul Myeong dong!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Seoul Myeong Dong. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

In regards of our service staff at the 1st floor, please note that this problem was an exception to our normal practices.
Of course if guest with lots of luggage and staff is available at the moment, we have to open the door for guest convenience.
I will raise the issue with the all information desk staffs and also supervision will be reinforced accordingly to avoid the recurrence of such incident in the future.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

my wife and i stayed at the ibis myeongdong for two nights. we took a taxi from the train station and the taxi driver immediately knew where to take us. this was a relief for i have struggled many times before to (together with the taxi man) to find a hotel in Seoul. so far so good. check in went very smoothly. front desk staff are friendly with a perfect command of English. rooms are clean, bedding crisp and the buffet breakfast not bad at all. the only drawback i would say is that the standard room is a wee bit small but it would not stop me from returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis-Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear lrlundie,

Warmest greeting from Ibis Seoul Myeong dong
and and thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

All of us will continue to provide most exceptional service to all our valuable guests and ensuring most comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you soon with a warm hearted service at Ibis Seoul Myeong dong!

Sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ibis Myeong-dong hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the key attractions in Seoul, for shopping and for eating. The hotel is located a short walk (<4mins) away from 3 subway stations and directly opposite the huge Lotte Department store (the basement food hall is an excellent place for lunch, a snack or just a wander around). Great selection of Korean and international restaurants in the local area, as well as retail stores, ranging from Uni-qlo to market stalls. There are easily half a dozen Starbucks' in the immediate vicinity.

As for the hotel itself, on checking in we were given a 'non-smokeing' room which wreaked of smoke. After a quick trip back to reception and a quiet word, we were switched to a much better room five floors higher, so were quite pleased. The rooms are of a good size with comfy bed. The shower is large by hotel standards, and the bathroom adequate. We had the hotel breakfast a couple of times on our stay and found a great range of western and eastern dishes, both hot and cold.

I would definitely recommend this as a base if you are a tourist in Seoul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear wombattoo,

Warm greeting from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

I would like to deeply thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor.

Your comments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Thank you for choosing Ibis Myeong-dong.

And, I would like to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time in Korea, the room was slightly small however it's very convenience and close to shopping district or restaurants. All the staffs were very friendly and helpful. For the price we paid, it was cheap and totally recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bl3ss3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Bl3ss3d,

Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Seoul Myeong Dong. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Richard Chung
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in Nov '12 and found it's location to be just perfect. Step out of the hotel and you will be undecided as to which way to go for there are numerous restaurants and shops surrounding it. The rooms are a little small but well kept, it won't matter much cause you will be out and about most of the time. There is always something to eat or buy anytime of the day just around the corner. Service was always with a smile and english was well understood. So happy with our stay that we have booked a room in April '13. To the staff of Ibis "gamsahabnida".

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binedlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Binedlow

Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!
On behalf of the management and staff of Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong, we would like to thank you for staying with us.
I’m so glad that you had a great stay in Ibis Seoul Myeong dong.
Your compliments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.
Again, thank you for choosing Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong.
And, we would like to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I am a long haul Cabin Crew and am more than harsh when it comes to less than 5 star hotels.
This hotel is modern, very clean, great amenities and even a Very clean Korean Bath facility. Perfect location, right in the heart of this trendy shopping and eating area. Lots of big name shops like L.V. and funky smaller ones. It's in the company of more rather large and better known hotels in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auzzieflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear auzzieflyguy,

Warm Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong.
It is always a pleasure to receive your kind feedback.

We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. It allows us to ensure and improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you soon with a warm hearted service at Ibis Seoul Myeong dong.

Sincerely,


Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#10 of 471 in Seoul
1,251 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#17 of 471 in Seoul
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Property: ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#27 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#36 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing