We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Ranked #52 of 469 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great Hotel. Stayed there a while ago, but forgot to review it. We had the upgrade room, with floor to ceiling window overlooking the main street. Room was spotless, free bottles of water. Right in the centre on Seoul. Next to L.V. and high class shops. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Felt very safe even at night in Seoul. Post Office down the road. The hotel dropped us off at the museum. The only problem was actually finding the hotel from the street, when we got dropped of by the bus from the airport. You can see the Hotel sign, but the entrance is around the right hand side, and you need to take an elevator to "reception" to check in. The staff are soooo helpful and polite. I would visit Seoul again. just to stay in the luxury and clean area that is the Myeong Dong. Also has a laundry and gym for use. that were very clean and easy to get to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Steven B,

Warm Greetings from ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!
We would like to thank you for choosing Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Seoul and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what westrive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit for Seoul.


Sincerely,


Steve,Choi
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    1,310
    268
    34
    15
See reviews for
547
649
350
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

great location, at the door step of shopping area, not far away from places of interest, if you do not mind walking, you can even walk to places of interest, hotel is quite near to train station, you could not have asked for more. I will certainly recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fcseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear fcseng

Warm greeting from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

We very much appreciate review regarding your stay at the Ibis Seoul Myeong Dong!

I will share your review with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Ibis Myeong-dong in Seoul for one night in early February 2013. Its location is great: for shoppers it's right opposite the huge Lotte department store which has a fantastic food hall as well as the usual high-end clothes etc. the hotel is also right next to the narrow streets of fashion and cosmetics shops galore in Myeong-dong. It's a short stroll to the City Hall and an interesting old palace with a yummy coffee shop next door for thawing out! Several underground shopping arcades are right next to the hotel, great in cold weather. As mentioned an airport bus drops you off outside the hotel anytime of day or night. The view from the cafe at the top of the hotel is great, I was face to face with a huge Brad Pitt and a bottle of Chanel No 5! The cafe has internet and a great breakfast for all tastes.
The room was roomy for me and the bathroom was adequate. The loo was interesting with all sorts of gadgets..bidet, warming seat etc. It was hot in the room and I suspect the aircon wasn't working at its best. There is a hot bath available on a higher level in the hotel.
The staff were friendly and spoke english pretty well. The lads in the entrance at ground level where luggage is stored were excellent and helpful. I'm not sure why the reception area is on the 17th floor rather than the ground level.
This Ibis hotel is good value for money and in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiKKy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear BiKKy321

Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!
On behalf of the management and staff of Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong, we would like to thank you for staying with us.
I’m so glad that you had a great stay in Ibis Seoul Myeong dong.
Especially, we would like to deeply thank you for your kind compliments on our products and service.
Your compliments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.
Again, thank you for choosing Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong.
And, we would like to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Ibis Ambassador Myeong-dong Hotel in February 2013. Obviously it isn't a 5 star hotel, but its comfortable (even if the room was a little hot) and good value for money, but of course, the best feature is the location... it is right in the middle of everything!! If you're a shopaholic, then you'd be hard pressed to find a more convenient hotel.
The rooms are basic and rather small, but good enough for me. I did enjoy having a bidet on the toilet though! The breakfast was good and the views from the restaurant were excellent.
The staff are friendly and helpful, although, the elevators were a little slow.
Getting there is very easy as the Airport Limousine Bus stops right out the front! 6001 from Gimpo and 6015 from Incheon. You only need to carry your baggage about 20 metres to the front door of the hotel. The subway stop is about 200 metres away also.
If I ever go back to Seoul, I am staying here again, and of course, would recommend this hotel to anybody!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Glenstar

Warmest greeting from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Seoul Myeong Dong.
It is always a pleasure to receive your positive feedback.

I will share your review with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

With regular trips to Seoul over the recent years, I've stayed at quite a few hotels, from 5-star hotels in Myeong-dong area to small business hotels near Insadong, the Ibis Hotel in Myeong-dong is undoubtably my favourite. Although the rooms are comparatively smaller than the 5-star hotels I've stayed at in the same area, not to mention the rooms are older than some of the newly renovated hotels nearby, the location, service and staff all contribute to why this is my favourite hotel in Seoul:
1) Location - Located just opposite Lotte Department Store, next to Noon Square, the hotel is so close to the busy shopping area of Myeongdong. With Seoul's busy maze of undergrounds and millions of stairs I need to hike up and down just to cross the road, the location of this hotel saves me many unwanted exercise walking up and down stairs just because I've done too much shopping and wish to drop some bags off in my hotel room in the middle of the day. Moreover, the subway station is located within a minute's walk, I have easy access to many prominent shopping places in Seoul, including Apgujeong, Apgujeong Rodeo, Sinsa, Yeungdeungpo's Times Square, Hongnik, Coex Mall and more... Last, but very important, the airport limousine stops right in front of the hotel, which is so convenient when I have to arrive at the break of dawn and leave with a ton of luggage.
2) Service - You know what to expect from Ibis no matter which Ibis you are visitng. Moreover, since my flight normally arrives around 5am in the morning, I'm usually super sleepy and tired by the time I get to the airport. Ibis always let me check in early by adding a little bit more money for the early check-in so I can sleep till noon before going out to lunch.
3) Staff - The staff are friendly, helpful and most importantly they speak English!! Even the staff in the 5-star hotels nearby Ibis have difficulty speaking and understanding English at times, whereas all the staff I've meant over the years at this Ibis speak the language like their mother tongue!
This is one hotel I will definately continue to stay at for my future trips to Seoul.
I sincerely hope they keep up their good service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aj_Princess_BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear aj_Princess_BB

On behalf of the management and staff of IBIS Myeong-dong,
I would like to thank you for staying with us.

I would like to deeply thank you for your kind comments on our product & services.

Your comments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

was here in beginning of Feb 2013. The location is ideal for shopaholic and city sightseeing enthusiastic. Locate in Myeong-dong commercial area in Seoul, Lotte and Shinsegae department store just 2 mins walk. Metro Line 4 Myeong-dong station just mins walk from hotel. 6001(Gimpo, Incheon airport),6015 (Incheon airport) airport limo provide step to step transport service from above two major Seoul Airports. Cost about 7000KRW, 10000KRW (Tmoney-prepaid transportation card acceptable), please prepare the exact notes coz driver wont provide change. Hotel staffs are nice and speaking effective english/japanese communication (compare with the rest experience in Seoul you will find very comfortable in hotel) .

Room Tip: need to ask staff about smoking and non-smoking floor or room, if you sensitive with smoking smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Nigel Y

Warm greeting from Ibis Seoul Myeong dong!

On behalf of the management and staff of Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong, I would like to thank you for staying with us.

Your comments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Agian, thank you for choosing Ibis Myeong-dong and I would like to deeply thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor.

I would like to welcome you in the future.


Sincerely,

Steve Choi
General Manager
ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#10 of 469 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Lotte Hotel L7 Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Property: ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#36 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing