We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Doulos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doulos Hotel
Ranked #118 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Excellent location in downtown Seoul. Close to public transportation. Rooms are on the small side but it did not matter for us because practically the whole day we were out sightseeing. Free internet access and breakfast buffet is great. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tworns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 492 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2010

stay 3 nights, nice hotel but will not back,
+good location : in chong-on 3 ga subway walk 2 mins
+clean and tidy room
+the female staff is nice and good english
-standard room is small
-breakfast time is too limit (07:00-09:00)
-no wifi
-no flextime check in and check out

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Once you found the Doulos Hotel – its hidden in the backstreets of shops all selling cups, pennants and trophies – you'll see the doulos hotel has a perfect location: 3 metro lines nearby, lots of restaurant and food stalls around, ample shopping opprtunities. The rooms are quite simpel and very small, the service is very friendly obliging. Definately would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelmutNassauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Initially, we had a hard time finding the hotel but I guess it was due to our own fault since we did not print out a map. Koreans are really nice, one korean guy we met at the street ( he was around his 20's) and brought as to the hotel. We arrived at the hotel around 12 midnight already since we arrived in Seoul around 9 pm. The rooms are small compared to the usual hotel room size but nonetheless, everything was just perfect.!

The staffs are very accommodating and speaks great english. I enjoyed our daily breakfast as well, nothing fancy but yet satisfying. It was a great place to spend the night after a tiring day of touring the beautiful city of seoul.

just one small comment though, there were a lot of motels in the vicinity..hahaha kinda off.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I booked this hotel because it was very reasonable at US100/night and it had great reviews from past visitors. I booked a deluxe twin bed room 4 months before our stay and assumed like all the other hotels we have stayed in-- that kids under 12 would stay with their parents free of charge (without extra beds.) We usually bring an inflattable air mattress with us.
We had to pay US$30/child/night. We had 2 kids ages 10 and 7 so our hotel rate boosted up to US160/night with no extra beds. Unfortunately, we are here a week before the G20 Summit (happening Nov.11-13, 2010) so all the hotels in Seoul are fully booked and the only other available hotels are US$350 and up.
The hotel staff is great. They did explain to us that their general manager is very strict and he did not allow more than 2 persons in a room and there are no other rooms available. The hotel is very clean. I guess having a very strict manager does have its advantages because the hotel is meticulouly taken care of. Our room is the biggest on our floor (we stayed in room 705) at the very corner with lots of windows and view of the streets. The bathroom has a tub, complete amenities including shampoo, condition, body rinse, toothbrush, comb, skin cleanser and lotion. The towels are a bit old but they are clean. They also provide slippers and bath robes. The beds are comfortable with duvet down blankets.
The location of the hotel is in the Gwanghwamun/Insa-dong area. It is just a few blocks away from the Jongno3(sam)-ga subway stop where lines 1, 3, and 5 all intersect. There are many restaurants in the vicinity including street food. Shops in Seoul close very late which is good for us tourist.
The breakfast of the hotel is alright. We got bread, pastries, hot creamy soup, fresh salad, sausages, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruits, tea, coffee, fresh orange juice, milk, cereal, and cheese.
Like: Cleanliness, courteous staff, free unlimited wired broadband internet (though wireless would be nicer), location

Getting to the hotel: Our flight arrived at 8:45pm from Manila via Cebu Pacific. We took the 6002 airport bus which stopped at the Jongno3(sam) station. I didn't know we had to press a stop button in the bus but good thing someone had to also go down on our stop. We followed the other fellow trip advisor's direction - facing the stores, took a right, then left on the first street and then left on the 1st big alley. The hotel is hidden in the dark alley so the best thing you do is look up and try to find the tall building with the Doulos Hotel lited up. Then follow towards that direction.

Dislike: Having to pay US$30 extra for kids.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dyuste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

As mentioned in prior reviews, this hotel is very clean and is well situated. We were able to walk to many markets and also have access to the subway. The breakfast was first rate!
The hotel staff was very accommodating and responded to all our needs. It is a bit of a challenge finding this hotel; if you take the bus from the airport as you exit the bus, turn right and walk to the first corner. Make a left turn and walk down a block or so making your first left turn. The hotel is on the right hand side set back a bit. Rooms are small but the bathroom and fixtures are all modern and updated. No room to spread out your things, but for a short stay or a single occupant, this would be an excellent choice!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a GREAT location, walking distance to many fun restaurants, subway lines, airport limousine bus stop and great shopping in Insadong. I was attracted by the budget price and free breakfast, and based on other recommendations, was expecting small rooms and kind of odd surroundings. Both of these are true, but the "scary alley location" is really just a very narrow business street that rolls down its doors and is dark at night. Yes, there are a few "love motels" but it never bothered us at all. Seoul, in general, has uneven streets and "sidewalks" with holes, little steps, curbs and many ways to fall down. Watch your step, everywhere. Also, the motorcycles are flying through side streets and you have to stay to the side. So, the Doulos is great (but even deluxe room is small), and we pretty much lived out of our suitcase for two weeks. Food in Seoul is amazing and very cheap, the shopping is overwhelming. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agraves26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#55 of 505 in Seoul
207 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#97 of 505 in Seoul
235 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Makers Hotel
Makers Hotel
#10 of 505 in Seoul
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#115 of 505 in Seoul
359 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Sejong Hotel
#76 of 505 in Seoul
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doulos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doulos Hotel

Address: 112 Gwansu-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-420, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#48 Business Hotel in Seoul
Hotel Class:3 star — Doulos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doulos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doulos Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing