We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location surrounded with great eateries”
Review of Doulos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doulos Hotel
Ranked #99 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful location surrounded with great eateries”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location of the hotel was within 5 mins walk from the train station, Jongno 3ga and about 10 minutes walk to Insa-dong.

Aside from the little incident we had on our first night at Doulos where the drainage in our bathtub was clogged, we did have a relatively good stay at the hotel for 6 nights, and they did arrange another room for us quite swiftly the next morning.

The hotel was also surrounded by many amazing eateries such as the Korean BBQ, grilled fish etc. We had our best meals all around the hotel.

The hotel also had a laundry room with dryer but you had to pay 500 won for it for each use.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilianRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    255
    51
    6
    3
See reviews for
46
175
136
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manado, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you come from the airport, choose airport bus transport only pay 10,000 won. Cheaper if you you subway, but confuse and heavy if you bring your heavy luggage, different line of subway, you must move and walk through stairs, and must carefully see the sign of exit line (if you wrong exit line, will bring you into confusing way! I chose the wrong option (subway) and took hours to find this hidden hotel. If you use the bus, it will easy to find and walk only 100 m. good location if you just walk around this area, a lot of traditional food and good place at night walking. if you want to other tourist attraction, it easy to find subway and you or bus, you can go to seoul station or other station near to many tourist attraction. Not bad breakfast (dont expect more for the breakfast, it just small business hotel) and friendly staff with good english. the room has small space but very clean.

Room Tip: the hall and the room is just small space. All you can see the view from window, are other building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Doulos was a great place to stay in Seoul. Doulos has a great location in central Seoul. Even with all the chaos of the city Doulos made me feel relaxed and welcomed. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Although the rooms were small they were clean and well designed so you never feel overly cramped. It worked great for me and my girlfriend! Remember to make it down for the breakfast. It was always tasty and had a large assortment of foods from many cultures. Doulos was the first place I stayed during my month in South Korea and it was by far the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnerMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Decent for a short stay for travelers on a budget - clean (small) room & bathroom (thanks for efficient daily housekeeping service), daily breakfast spread was simple and sufficient (small variety of bread & pastries, hard boiled eggs & soup), and location-wise, it's within 5 mins walk to exit 15, Jongno-3-Sam-ga station (from which we could easily take the subway to Myeongdong, Dongdaemun etc). Excellent service from the front desk staff - all of whom spoke good English & were very helpful in providing recommendations on food, directions and assistance to book taxis for our family. There's a convenience store diagonally across from the hotel.

The surrounding area of the Doulos hotel wasn't very interesting - mainly shops selling plaques; the walk from the subway exit to the hotel at night was alright (alleys were pretty dark as the shops were closed; but we felt safe). There wasn't any cupboard to hang up our clothes nor place to lay our luggage bags on (had to leave suitcases on the limited floorspace; and stand these up to walk around the room).

For similar price range, one can get a larger & more modern room at one of the motels in Jongno-3-Sam ga area (such as Amare Jongno; which is located in equally good location vis a vis distance to subway exit, and with better surrounding environment where it's more bustling with restaurants) however, the mattress at Doulos was certainly better (provided better sleep) than (typically) hard mattresses at Seoul motels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li-the-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I had a great time at Seoul last April.
Doulos Hotel is superb. Small room but very nice for solo traveller.
Very clean, had a great sleep. TV is not working though, and need to have more electric sockets though.

There are many food stores around. Locations is very great and accessible. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
133 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is centrally located in the Jongno 3-ga. You can easily take the train from/to the airport or bus #6002. No need for expensive taxi.

Staff greeted us, and during our stay they were always very polite and serviceminded.
Housekeeping did a good job keeping our room clean.
Breakfast is good, selection is a bit limited.
Wifi-connection good.

Our room was very small, so if you like to spend some time at your hotelroom while travelling, this is not the right hotel.

Hotel has self-laundry in the basement for a small fee.

Overall, a good hotel if you need a place to sleep while in Seoul - and dont require any luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holter-Nilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Doulos Hotel has many things going for it.

The hotel's style should be familiar to those who are well-aware of the Japanese business hotel concept. The standard rooms are small, enough to fit a double bed, a large-enough table that also has your TV on-top and the fridge at the bottom., and a toilet with tub. Sufficient for you to rest for the night. There is however no room kettle provided. Two bottles of water are provided each day and if you need more water or hot water, you will need to trudge downstairs to level 2 where a hot/cold water dispenser and free packets of tea are available.

It is close to the subway station of a major Soul subway line, walking distance to some of Soul's attractions and hotspots such as Insa-dong. The room is cheap and a buffet breakfast is included with the price of your room.

This would be almost perfect if not for housekeeping. Housekeeping is inconsistent and sometimes slow. On one-day when we returned to our room after 4pm to rest for a while and dropped our souvenirs, the housekeeper was still not done with the rooms on our floor. We told her we would take only 30 mins and to come back later after we were finished. However when we were about to leave the room, she appeared to be putting her cleaning items away. When we told her she could now clean our rooms, she did not appear pleased and muttered something under her breadth in Korean that did not sound pleasant.

Inconsistent housekeeping is evident such as when on one day sleeping robes were replaced, the next two days they weren't, and then replaced again on the 4th day. Same with bed sheets. They appear to be changed on random days rather than everyday or every other day.

I wish I could rate this hotel higher. Reception staff were pleasant, the price and location of this hotel is hard to beat. But housekeepers need to be better trained in both their duties as well as interacting with guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Windthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#89 of 472 in Seoul
230 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#104 of 472 in Seoul
354 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#70 of 472 in Seoul
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Rian Hotel
Rian Hotel
#109 of 472 in Seoul
142 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
AMASS Hotel
AMASS Hotel
#119 of 472 in Seoul
107 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Makers Hotel
Makers Hotel
#18 of 472 in Seoul
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doulos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doulos Hotel

Property: Doulos Hotel
Address: 112 Gwansu-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-420, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#48 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Doulos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doulos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doulos Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing