We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
176
255
53
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
255
53
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance laundry room jongno ga station cheonggyecheon stream major subway breakfast is served dumplings double bed stayed here for nights definitely stay here again shopping district exit cereal english luggage taxi cons
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 493 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Both the 6002 airport limousine bus from the international airport (Incheon) and Exit 15 at Jongo 3 (sam)-ga metro station will put you on the correct side of the road to begin your search. Walk down the narrow lane that runs between a drug store and a jewelry store. (It is only a few paces from the top of the stairs of the subway station's Exit 15.) After you start down this lane, take your third right. (A previous poster said to take the second right, but this is incorrect. The first two rights are little lanes. The third right, the one you want to take, is a small road big enough for cars.) The third right is about 100 meters from the bus and subway stops. After you turn right, Doulos Hotel will be about 50 meters down on the left side of the road. Don't expect to find this hotel based on the deceiving picture, which makes it look like it's out in the open. What's been airbrushed out are the multitude of love motels and trophy/plaque/medallion shops crowded in around it, so that you never see the place until you're actually there. The neighborhood has a Blade Runner feel to it, with a jumble of neon and wires overhead. Lots of alleyways in Seoul look like this, they are fun to get lost in, and I get the sense that they are quite safe.
As for the hotel itself: I had a deluxe twin, and by Asian standards it was bigger than I expected. Although there were no drawers, it had two little closets. (Based on what I've read here, the standard rooms must be pretty small.) The bed, bedding and pillows were quite comfy (not the rock-hard mattresses so common throughout the region). The location is good, and the workers were friendly. A few things bugged me: The Wi-Fi never worked in my room for my entire three day stay, although it worked fine in the dining area and in the lobby. The front desk took my room number down and said they'd fix it, but they never did. When I talked to the maintenance engineer about it, he said to try the wi-Fi downstairs, which makes me think that it never works on the higher floors. I just wish they'd have been upfront about it. In addition, my room had terrible lighting, more form over function. The breakfast didn't have eggs one of the three days. And my bathroom had the lowest sink/counter I've ever seen. (If you have a toddler learning to brush his/her teeth, this is the hotel for you.) In the end, this hotel is perfectly adequate, maybe a touch better. Just don't get your hopes up.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice place, located 2 minutes from the subway, and within 5 you are ON the subway. Gret bed, with very comfotable beds and extremely nice pillows. Room are on the small side. We had deluxe room. Standard rooms must be extremely small. English spoken at the friendly reception.

Great shower - lots of hot water and good water pressure. Nice breakfast. Hot water for tea and coffee available on 2. floor but not in the room.

Very quiet, but walls a bit thin, so if youre unlucky with you neighbours, there might be some noice For us, it was really quiet...

For the price, I do not think you can get a better place than this. A bit small roomsize and AC a bit noisy (but effective) but everything alse above expected. Booked at Agoda.com which was a bit cheaper than other booking pages.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We took the International Airport taxi which had a set rate of 65,000 won which included tolls - a great way to travel to the hotel after a long plane ride since it takes well over an hour to make the trip. We had the added advantage of an English-speaking driver who was very informative about many aspects of Korean life. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and attentive. The room was fairly small, but clean with a good bathroom, fridge, air conditioner, free wifi. Our only difficulty was that one side of the bed was against a wall with no reading lamp - awkward for older people! Additionally, the room lighting was not good. Breakfast was included in the rate and offered hot and cold options - quite adequate for our western tastes. The hotel also has a laundry room, and although I didn't check it out, I noticed a reference to a theatre in one of the basement levels. The hotel is more than happy to look after luggage for people with flights later in the day. We had spent our first day exploring on foot, and on the day of our departure went on an organised tour. It filled our time well and when we had collected our luggage from the Doulas we returned to the airport by bus which leaves from very near the hotel. There are many restaurants in the area of the hotel, which is also close to attractions such as Cheonggyecheon Stream, Insa-dong, Changgyeonggung, Gyeongbokgung, Dongdaemun Market etc. More remote sites are only a taxi ride away, and taxis are readily available and very reasonably priced - it is best to ensure you have the name of the place you are to visit written in Korean to show the taxi driver. We would certainly revisit this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Probably a twin room would be preferable to double if the position of the bed is such that one side is against the wall.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

For less than 100 USD - free in room wifi and very comfortable room in a very nice area of Seoul.

Walking distance to the main palace, and along the river park. Also, the service at reception was flawless and they did not hesitate to make recommendations. There are tons of great restaurants nearby as well.

Did not stay for breakfast so not sure about the quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajk1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We made our way from Incheon Airport to the Doulos Hotel by Airport Limosine 6002. When you exit the arrival hall, you’ll find many lines of passengers waiting for their buses. Go to the ticket booth and buy your ticket. The lady selling the tickets spoke English and was helpful in telling me where we should wait for the bus. In our case, it was stop # 5B. There were two men helping to load and tag our bags before we boarded the bus. The bus announcements of approaching stops were announced in Korean and English.
We got off at Jongno 3-ga and then set about finding the hotel which we knew was located off the main road.
The easiest way is to face the shops and look for a laneway which has a small pharmacy (with a green cross on the front façade) on the left and a jewellery shop on the right (the numbers 14K and 18K are on this façade). Walk down this paved but uneven laneway to the second exit on your right. This should be a bitumen roadway. Follow the road to the right and you’ll come across the modern entrance to the Doulos Hotel on your left. These laneways are lined by many trophy shops. At night, the closed roller doors give the area an unsafe, seedy look but many people use these laneways and we did not feel uncomfortable using the laneways at night.
The long way is to face the shops and then walk to the nearest intersection on your right (Supyo-ro) where there is an Isaac store. Turn left here and walk down to the first roadway. Turn left here again and walk down until you find the Doulos Hotel on your right.
Check in was smooth and easy. The reception staff was always helpful with our enquiries and spoke good English. The hotel was decorated in a modern, understated style. It has the name of Doulos Business Hotel on the top of the building.
We stayed here for 5 nights.
Our room was clean, small and tight. There was space at the foot of our bed to put our bags. There was one bedside table and a desk for the flat screen TV.
The small fridge contained the two free bottles of water we received every day.
The bathroom had a bath and was a reasonable size. We were provided with many toiletries.
We were provided with room slippers and bathrobes.
There was an air purifier in the room. Hanging of our clothing was done on a wall hook…no other space was available.
We had free Wi-Fi in our room.
There was no room safe. There are safety deposit boxes at reception.
There was no provision for tea/coffee making. On the second floor, there are vending machines for the purchase of hot/cold drinks. Free hot/cold water is provided by another machine.
The complimentary breakfast was provided in a large, bright room on the second floor. The spread consisted of 2 juices, 2 types of bread, 2 types of cereal and milk, some pastries, some fruit (fresh and canned), some vegetables, 3 types of hot food (these were the only items that changed each morning). The staff here was always friendly and smiling. We were happy with the choices given in the breakfasts….it was complimentary breakfast after all!
The major plus of this hotel was its location. It is in a busy area with many eateries. You have a choice of fast food places, restaurants, local eating places or street stalls. We were able to walk to many places from here. Insadong is 8 minutes away. Dongdaemun - 15 minutes. Myeongdong - 15-20 minutes. Gwanghwamun Square 15 minutes. Cheonggyecheon stream – 6 minutes. Gyeongbokgung Palace – 20 minutes. Changdeokgung Palace – 20 minutes. In addition, the area is serviced by many train lines making traveling around the city very easy.
We were impressed with the small touches that gave the hotel a ‘boutique’ feel eg. the provision of bathrobes and an air purifier in the room; the Doulos name was labeled on the floor mat, the bathroom towels, the pillow slips and even the disposable cups for drinks.
We enjoyed the bed and the bed linens.
Summary – pro – clean modern hotel in good location
- cons – small room, hotel located in dimly lit back street
This hotel was good value for a clean, modern hotel (with free breakfast included) in a centrally located area.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Seoul.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JuneTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews