We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for it's money.”
Review of Yim's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yim's House
Ranked #78 of 959 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed for 10 nights with my family. Hotel is very nice. Rooms a pretty small but clear. All facilities was well working.Mr. Yim extremely friendly and helpful. There was water coolers ann every floor, microwave at lobby (till 22-00). Wi-fi is not on every floor, but PC's at lobby are OK. Good hotel for this money. Placed near Insadong and other major places. Location is very GOOD!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here on April 2012 for 3 nights.
Location : This place is near (I should say very near) to Changdeok-gung ang Jongmyo Shrine, It's about 2 to 5 minutes walking distance (may take longer if you tend to stop at every 5 steps to take photos, hi hi). In their website, they suggest 2 nearest subway station to their place, that is (Jongno (3)sam-ga station and Anguk station,I prefer the first one, because it is more straight forward and the road is less congested.
Rooms : I took 2 rooms (twin and triple). It's a bit small with no closet, but equip with a minibar. The shower room is clean and big enough for me. The window is small and high-up, so if you for any reason need to look outside, you may need to climb your bed. I did that.
Staff : Nice and helpful. Every morning, I will go and ask for direction, from them, just to confirm the right route, train line & station. One staff has a good command in English, the rest is OK, but still reliable if you need to ask anything.
Internet & WI-FI : Internet is OK, 2 PC is located in common room. WI-FI is weak, on and off most of the times.
Others : I read from some review that this hotel will lock their main entrance after midnight. They have confirm this when I asked them, but if happen that you come back after midnight, they will have staff to open the door, you just need to ring the door-bell.
Overall, I have good stay here and it is good value for my money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shud_mdnoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My last option for an accommodation turned out to be a nice and safe place to stay at. Yim's House is a 5-storey budget hostel located in the heart of Downtown Seoul, just a minute walk to the World heritage site Changdeokgung Palace.

2 months before our trip to Seoul I started to get in touch with the hostel manager through www.seoulbusinesshotel.com and I got, almost always, a prompt reply. The good part is that they don't ask for a downpayment or a sort of reservation fee. It has been about TRUST from the very beginning and surely you'll trust the Yims too!

My friend and I booked a Twin Room, KRW55,000 per night. That's very affordable considering they have the amenities as those in a 3-star hostel: fresh towels, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, hot & cold water, toiletries (bathroom and facial tissue, shampoo, bath soap, body wash).

Non-Korean speaking guests will not have any problem as the staff can converse in English. Going around Seoul will be very easy as Angok and Jongno-ru Metro Train stations are just a few minutes away. Convenience stores, coffee shops, restaurants and other specialty stores are within walking distance from the hostel as well.

Based on my experience, I will recommend this hostel to budget travelers like me.

Ahn nyeong ha se yo! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank janagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in November 2011. My wife did the selection and booking based on the good reviews we read. At first I was a bit apprehensive when we arrived as it was located along a quite and narrow road but the taxi with GPS managed to locate it. However the receptionist was helpful with information and helped book a tour to the DMZ. As in most reviews the room though small was clean, affordable and comfortable with attached bathroom and toilet which is most suitable to our needs. It also has the convenience of a lift. The great thing was its location. It is very near to the Issadong area and a metro subway station and many eateries and mini marts are nearby. An ancient palace (historical heritage site) is located not very far away. We like it and wanted to book it again for our return to Seoul from Busan but it was full on those days as it was a weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid holidays and weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BirdmanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

..stayed there for 2 nights on September. Small room yet very clean, affordable and comfortable. Good location. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We've stayed here for 7 nights last August as most hotels were fully booked.

The guesthouse was clean and well maintained. The triple room was a bit small (with 3 luggages, there was hardly any room to move around) but the good thing was there is an attached bathroom which was spacious and with a bath tub. The hot and cold water was also working well. But I have to mention, though, that guests might need to bring their own towel as they only provide hand towels. When I've requested for a bigger towel, the owner wasn't very friendly and said they didn't have any even though I saw some big towels being dried along the stairway/corridor. Toothpaste, shampoo, bodywash and soap were provided.

The triple room has a double bed and a single bed. The sheets were clean and the beds were ok but for some reason I didn't get much sleep. The AC as well as the TV worked just fine. There is also a small fridge in the room and a water dispenser in every floor. There are 2 computers in the lobby with free internet but they close at 10:00pm. No wi-fi in the room. T

Although the owner wasn't very friendly, the other staff and Mr. John (owner's brother) were very helpful when asked for some advice and guidance.

The location was pretty good...accessible by bus and subway. Somewhat difficult to find at first but once you get used to it, it's actually near the main road and within walking distance to Changdeokgung Palace. A lot of restaurants near the subway and a convenience store just around the corner from the hotel. You can also walk to Insadong for souvenir shopping.

Overall, for the price I've paid for seven nights, it was really good value for money. I wouldn't mind staying here again...just need to bring a big towel next time, I guess ;0)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chingquit_auh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

the room is comfortable with tv, fridge and also very clean toilet. water dispenser is available on every floor. Mr Yim is a friendly person..the other workers are also friendly :) Near to bank, subway station, bus stop and also 24hours mart. computer with internet and microwave are available on the ground floor. overall, i'm very satisfy with yims hotel house.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank agasshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinchon / Ewha
Roi House
Roi House
#52 of 959 in Seoul
30 reviews
Hongdae
MAY guesthouse
MAY guesthouse
#74 of 959 in Seoul
31 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Bibimbap Guesthouse
Bibimbap Guesthouse
#9 of 959 in Seoul
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
YE'4 Guesthouse
#50 of 959 in Seoul
30 reviews
Wooju House
#26 of 959 in Seoul
38 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
STEP INN Myeongdong 1
STEP INN Myeongdong 1
#11 of 959 in Seoul
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yim's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yim's House

Address: 24, Yulgok-ro 10-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-360, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: $40 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yim's House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yim's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yim`s House Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing