We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset Palace Seoul
Nearby Hotels
$234
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$81
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$276
$193
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Koreana Hotel(Seoul)
$106
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$112
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
337
331
54
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
331
54
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher dryeranguk stationrooftop poolserviced apartmentjogyesa templelong staysmall kitchenwalking distanceconvenience storeliving roomrice cookerfull kitchenthe ground floorinsadong areadaily breakfasttwo blocksbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 753 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed in our first 2 days on our first time in Seoul and took the 2 bedroom appartment which is enough for our family of 5. Hotel is very centrally located. Within walking distance to Gyeongbokgung palace, nearby lots of restaurants and shoppings (Insadong), 5 min walk to Anguk station, closeby to convenience stores and post offices. Apartment is fully equipped with pantry and its necessities, washing machine and its necessities. Check in time is not convenient though (we could only check in at 3 PM) and don't go to the pizza restaurant on the ground floor, overpriced yucky pizza is what you'll get.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amaia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Amaia22

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our property here with one and all. Good to note that you favored from our overall service extensions as well as our location. Sad to note that the pizza did not work out equally. Will take it up with our restaurant –operator, to see that it is known to them for their action.
Hope that the overall experience, warrants a return, upon which you can feel free to call in on me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is a very good choice for both short and longer stays. It has a small kitchen, so you can eat in. The location is very convenient to both business and tourist activities. A short walk from many restaurants, subway station, shopping, and many more. I stayed there twice, and it was a very good choice. The German pub, downstairs has a very good selection of beers (and other beverages), and also meals. Prices are reasonable for Seoul. The Italian restaurant is OK, and the prices might be a little high for what you get.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelber155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Gelber155,

Thanks for the review stated here above, am in appreciation of you drafting it out & share here. Good to note you are enjoying your repeat visits at our property. Such is always a warm-hearted recognition for the team. Hope you will be able to make it a ‘tree-peat’ soon. Whereby I can be of assist to that, feel free to let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had most of the hallmarks but lack the attention to detail. Maybe Somerset Serviced Apartments were so-named to avoid being confused with the level of service and amenities provided for Ascott-branded hotels.

Ascott has always been the preferred choice of accommodation for my family whenever we go overseas. I stayed in a 2-bedroom serviced apartment for 4 nights. The Somerset had the usuals associated with the Ascott group – comfortable bedding, fully equipped and fuctional kitchenette which helps greatly when we need to whip something up quickly for the kids.

But I noticed that little details that makes for a great hotel were missing. The L’Occitane toiletries were not provided and we had soap-cum-shampoo dispensers on the wall. Not very classy. Dental kits were not provided. Little plastic detergent packs were not replenished. Even the meagre 2 mineral water bottles rationed for a 2-bedroom apartment were occasionally not replenished.

The stay was comfortable but lacked that wow factor. What was excellent was the helpful staff (Koreans – of the Southern variety - are superb and extremely polite and friendly by nature, in any case) and the location is superb. About 3 minutes walk from Angguk subway station and the Insadong tourist paradise North of the river that divides Seoul. The main Gyeongbokgung palace is 5 minutes walk in the opposite direction. And Myeongdond is but a 5 minute cab ride away. Location - in short - was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear F71,

Your observations are correct in noting that we are ‘different’ from our ‘Big Brother Ascott’ properties in particular matters such as amenities and others. It is however, unfortunate for us to note we were not able to ‘Wow’ you enough. My apologies for the water bottle refill mishap; I will take this up with our team for enhancement. On the other hand glad to note the positives highlighted, particularly in the ‘human sector’ of it all: thank you.

Hope that those positives secure enough reason for you to provide us the opportunity to be of service, again as and when your travels guide you back to Seoul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very centrally located in the main tourist area of Gangbuk. Entrance doors are poorly designed for a hotel.
Check in and out is quite slow.
Rooms are spacious enough. However the air con is not well designed.
Downstairs restaurant is quite good.
Breakfast selection is quite poor for those on a Western diet. There is no proper bread. Only this white, soft, unhealthy stuff you get many places in Asia.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank GGlen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear GGlen78

thanks for sharing your thoughts and impressions with us here. Am thankful to you for drawing attention to those matters which have been of lesser standard. This information will enable us to address and focus on those specifics, better, in order to ensure we get better at them.
Hope that, besides those issues listed, you will provide us the opportunity to welcome you back to the property, soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed for 10 days at this hotel and it was comfortable, clean and well priced. A hint however is to book through a korean website such as www.koreahotel.com where the rates are much better than going through booking.com or expedia etc. The hotel is located in the Insadong area and had lots of good restaurants nearby including a great korean bbq place. But it's fairly quiet at night, so for evenings we went to Gangnam or Hondae regions which were amazing. We stayed in a 1 bed and it came with washer, dryer, kitchen etc which was cleaned every day by housekeeping (who are very diligent). We found breakfast at the hotel was expensive and not particularly great so went to the Amandier bakery nearby for great coffee and pastries (although it doesnt open until 10am) or bought some pot noodles from the local convenience store. The hotel is close to the Anguk subway station which was convenient for getting around Seoul but otherwise taxis are very reasonably priced so we just did that. You must try a "hof (beer) and chicken (deep fried)" while you are in Seoul, so amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beibeibei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Beibeibei,

thanks for the review posted here. Appreciate your time taken to state the various as listed. Noted your thoughts and considerations and will review them to our benefit. As and when your travel guides you back to our property, feel free to let us know, in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews