We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work and feel in holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Palace Seoul
Ranked #53 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I traveled for business with all my family (2 kids) and found here every comfort we needed; rooms has a small kitchenette , playroom for kids, breakfast ++++, garden bbq and swimmingpool on the roof are great to relax!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rostberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Rostberry

Much obliged to you for posting your recap here at Tripadvisor in favor of our property. It is rewarding for us to note that it has been a supportive ‘work-holiday’ combo for all of you. Thanks again, look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 701 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked a 2-bedroom and a 1-bedroom at this property for 5 nights.Everthing went well from the start to the end of our stay. The staff are polite, speak reasonably good English and are attentive and helpful. The breakfast buffet has a good selection and the internet connection works perfectly well. The property is conveniently located in the Insadong district and very near to 3 subway lines. It is very safe here as there are police everywhere guarding the Japanese and US embassies 24/7. The airport limousine bus service stop at the Anguk station, a 5 min walk to the Somerset. There are many restaurants, cafe, fast food outlets nearby so finding a place for a meal is not a problem. We will return to this property when we next visit Seoul.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear CTSim

Great to receive your review in favor of our property as stated here on the page. It has been our pleasure to be of service to you and your guests. It is rewarding to note all worked out as planned and you have had a more then good stay at our Residence as well in Seoul.
Better even to note that you will be returning back ‘home’ to us, in due time. At such stage; feel free to call in with me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Convenient location, right round the corner from the Gyeongbokgung palace and a 5 mins walk to Insadong. A great base to explore the exciting city. It's located in the Embassy area, right next to Japanese embassy and a block from American Embassy. I would imagine that Somerset would be very popular for business travelers as well.

We stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Very well appointed. Generous size with all the amenities one would need on a stay, including hair dryer, kettle, fridge, iron, washer/dryer etc. It's great for us as we were travelling with a toddler. Toothbrushes and toothpaste were absent in the bathroom but housekeeping brought them to us very swiftly after a call to reception.

There was a gym and playroom on site though we didn't get a chance to use them.

The staff from reception to housekeeping and concierge were responsive and helpful. Concierge helped us with our DMZ day tour arrangement, bookings of taxi and restaurant. Kudos to residence manager Eddie and his team for the exemplary hospitality.

Breakfast were of good variety and quality. There were adequate choices of bread, eggs (there was an egg station), vegetables, fruits, juices etc. There was 2 Jura coffee machines in the lounge where we were free to choose. Appreciated that bagels were in the spread one morning when we were there. Would be great if cream cheese could be provided with the bagels. Tables were cleaned quickly.

Overall a very satisfactory stay. We would be sure to return to Somerset Palace in our next trips to Seoul!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevenheaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello Sevenheaven1,

This is truly a great reward for us as a team to receive and I like to thank you for providing this write-up here. Certainly look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to ‘home’, soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days and its good if you are travelling on business. The rooms are apartment style and the staff is very friendly. The only draw back is that they dont have an in room dining some of us are not that fluent in Korean guys to order from out. Check in and Check out was smooth.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shammu_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Shammu_b

Thanks for the positive write up stated here above. Good to note you have enjoyed your residence with us. Look forward to see you coming back, soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks for a business trip, but was pleasantly surprised to learn what a great location it was for sightseeing. I walked to two palaces, three museums and two shrines. The hotel is close to two embassies, so there are police everywhere which made me feel really safe. The room was very clean and included everything I needed to feel at home. The breakfast buffet was okay, not great, so I often went to Starbucks instead which was across the street. The restaurants in the building are nice, but really pricey and you can't charge to the room. The front desk staff were really friendly and quite helpful. I definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear WendyL

Good to note you have benefited favorably from our property's location and services rendered. Appreciate you outlining your stay-experiences here with us and look forward to have the chance to welcome you back, soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we come to Seoul, we stay here. It is right by the palaces, insadong, jogyesa temple and bukcheon. There are plenty or tourist options around.

This is an apartment style hotel for business travelers. There is a full kitchen and a washer/dryer in the room. When you are traveling with a baby it is essential.

The free breakfast is fine. It is nothing spectacular but they have high chairs. There is a playroom and a business center.

Tip : if the room is stuffy, dial housekeeping and ask for a remote for the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intspyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear intspyop,

Write-ups like yours, as a repeat-guest, about our property are a great recognition for us to receive and highly appreciated having it listed here for other Tripadvisor readers to assess.

Thank you for your efforts expressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I spent 13 nights at this hotel this time in March. As usual, I enjoyed the top location and the quality of services ( courteous staffs, well appointed spacious room). This was my third stay at this hotel and I am really happy every time. The hotel is located so close to the presidential palace and Kyungbok Palace which is one of the main tourist attraction in the center of Seoul. There are lots of local restaurants and cafes near hotel with Insadong just around the corner. I will go back again next year to Seoul for longer stay and I am hoping the hotel will not be booked out. The hotel also has a convenient store in the building,one German restaurant and a Pizzaria. I am wondering if the hotel offer a loyalty program. This place more of hotel serviced residence so it has small kitchenette in the room.

I have never found any information regarding this topic. The reception staff did not make it very clear. Hopefully the Manager Bae can answer this question.

Room Tip: If you get palace view, it is beautiful but not much sun comes in the room as the room is facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie_Bae_RM, Manager at Somerset Palace Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear KS52,

A true honor to have your review about our property posted here, as a repeat guest to our Residence. In our industry, such recognition, is equal as to a standing ovation for a performing artist.

To answer your query about loyalty program: at current such is unavailable to us. Hopefully, this will change in the future and we will be able to extend. Meanwhile, if you wish to keep updated on specials and others: please register at The Ascott company website for ‘on-Line membership’.

Feel free to call in with me, as and when your travels guide you back to Seoul, again: next year, if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Insadong
Orakai Insadong Suites
Orakai Insadong Suites
#86 of 505 in Seoul
556 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Insadong
Hotel Sunbee
Hotel Sunbee
#31 of 505 in Seoul
422 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Shilla Stay Gwanghwamun
Shilla Stay Gwanghwamun
#93 of 505 in Seoul
245 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#38 of 505 in Seoul
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Palace Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Palace Seoul

Address: 7 Yulgok-Ro 2 Gil, Jongno-Gu, Seoul 03143, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Seoul
#26 Business Hotel in Seoul
#36 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $110 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Palace Seoul 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Seoul beside Gyeongbok Palace, Somerset Palace is in the heart of city's business and financial districts. Somerset Palace offers a tranquil environment, beautiful gardens, a rooftop swimming pool and great city views. Several embassies and offices of multinational companies are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Palace Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Palace Seoul Hotel Seoul
Somerset Palace Hotel Seoul
Seoul Somerset Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing