We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, close to subway, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #405 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Old hotel, but spacious room and value for money. Close to subway which is brilliant, room was warm and spacious, only downside was the smell of stale smoke in the room, but clean and no tea and coffee facilities in room but Korea makes great tea and coffee everywhere so no problem. Most expensive tea I had was in the hotel breakfast room so no need to use it.

Make sure you go to Buchon- a great part of Seoul and brilliant views from the Seoul Tower on a sunny day using the downtown bus tour- just hop on and off all day- Great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerrynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 101 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 5, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 9, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 21, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 15, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

This hotel is one of the most economical that is advertised on the various hotel booking websites (price tends to vary somewhat - shop around for the best rate), and because of this I was wondering what to expect, however during my stay of three nights I found it of very good value.

Initially I had a large room on the 10th floor, however this had no Internet access, so the next day I was moved to an equally large room on the 8th floor which had high-speed Internet access. The access was cabled, although at the 8th floor a number of wireless networks were visible (on the 10th floor only a few were visible but of insufficient strength). Internet access was free, and of high quality (downloaded over 5 gigabytes of data in less than an hour and a half). I have my own cable but reception also offered a loaner cable.

All staff I encountered were exceptionally friendly, smiling and helpful, this included two younger and one older gentlemen at reception, a lady at reception, and two housekeepers. Not all spoke English very well, but they understood what I said without problems (as is often the case, people tend to understand more than they speak). I had no communications problems.

The beds in both rooms were firm and comfortable, with pillows which were a bit too thin for my taste however. Overall sleeping comfort was more than adequate though and I slept well.

The first room did not have an in-room safe, but the second one did. Both rooms had a mid-size (32 inch or thereabouts) LG Xcanvas flat panel TV, which had mostly Asian channels on it and two or three English language ones. There was also a small fridge, which was handy for storing cold beer and other drinks from the supermarket across the road. The bathroom was complete, with a shower over bath tub. The second bathroom also had a bidet, which the first one lacked.

There is a business centre downstairs which consists of a room with three PCs and an older laser printer connected to one of the PCs only. The PCs however are a bit messy in terms of what is loaded on there, all are different, with Windows and the browser being in Korean only (including any text typed came out in Korean) so I had to download the English version of Firefox to be able to browse, and subsequently load Acrobat Reader to read a document. Printing also did not work flawlessly, so best not to rely on this business centre for anything but the most basic work.

Other reviewers already commented that the air conditioning did not work, and this I can confirm too - perhaps this is the reason why this hotel charges more economical rates. In both rooms there were fancy controls for the air con, however the single, small outlet (really small for the size of the room) only blew "room temperature air" into the room, regardless of what temperature the control station was set to. Thanks to the fancy controls I could check the actual temperature in the room and this varied between 24 and 27.5 degrees celcius, with temperature changes occurring for no apparent reason. If you want or need air con in your room, this hotel is not the place to go. Windows however can be opened and this will let a bit of a breeze in, cooling down the room more eficiently than the non-functional air con.

Further more, both rooms had minor imperfections, such as a mouldy (or so it seemed) spot on the wallpaper in the first room, and small but visible damage to walls and furniture which had not been repaired properly, giving it a bit of a dated air, without the hotel giving the impression of being "run down" however. Also the floor in the second room was uneven, with some small "hills" appearing in the concrete below the carpet. Apart from these items the rooms were reasonably modern.

As another reviewer commented, there is a supermarket across the road, it is directly opposite the hotel and called E-Mart (yellow signs), you can't really see what it is until you enter the building as it has no windows. It is actually a department store with the supermarket on the ground floor and also at the basement level where the fresh foods are available. There are three more floors upstairs which have clothes and household items, and a top floor which has electronics including large flat panel TV's for prices lower than I have seen anywhere else, so it's worth checking out.

The area has hundreds of restaurants and bars, most of which are Korean and display signs only in Korean so they are hard to navigate so to speak. However there is a McDonalds and a KFC nearby (near the subway station; the McDonalds is at the same side of the road as the hotel, the KFC is at the opposite side), there is a French bakery-style shop, and there are several local pizza and chicken places in side streets. A Dominos Pizza outlet is also in the area but a bit further away (in a side street on the opposite side of the road, past the Lotte department store).

One reviewer commented that the hotel was "around the corner", however this is not correct if you arrive with the airport bus (which you can get at stand 10A at the airport; fare was 13,000 won when I took it; trip from airport to hotel took around 2 hours, without traffic jams). This bus will drop you off at Miasamgeori subway station (the bus stop in the middle of the road, above the ground from the station). Then you have in fact already driven past the hotel, which is on the same main road the bus drove on, and the same side. So you just need to exit the bus, cross over to the closest sidewalk (as the bus drops you at the bus stop in the middle of the road, not next to the sidewalk), and then walk back along the main road towards the hotel which you will see after a few minutes (it is a few hundred meters from the bus stop/subway station).

Overall conclusion: a hotel which offers very good value for money, with very friendly staff, free high-speed internet access, and located in a lively area. For this reason, despite its minor imperfections, I recommend it and will probably return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 10, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
2.1 mi away
Benikea Hotel Flower
Benikea Hotel Flower
#185 of 504 in Seoul
65 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Nostalgia
Hotel Nostalgia
#329 of 504 in Seoul
32 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Black Stone
Hotel Black Stone
#221 of 504 in Seoul
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Unique by Foret
Hotel Unique by Foret
#363 of 504 in Seoul
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden City Hotel
Golden City Hotel
#245 of 504 in Seoul
30 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Yaja Suyu
Hotel Yaja Suyu
#290 of 504 in Seoul
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 16, Dobong-ro, Gangbuk-gu, Seoul 01220, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $45 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Customers,Thank you very much for taking a look at Victoria Hotel.Victoria Hotel is located at GangBuk area in Seoul, a 3-minute walk from the Mia Samgeori Line 4 subway station and a public bus stop.Enjoying easy access to public transportation, Victoria Hotel is a 15-minute subway ride from Dongdaemun Market, Namdaemun Market and MyeongDong Shopping Center. It is just 10 stations(approximately one hour one-way trip depending on the traffic) from Incheon Airport by Airport Limousine Bus (Number 6101).There are many restaurants, E-mart shopping center, Hyundai department store, and Lotte department store, which will fulfill your needs, around Victoria Hotel.Equipped with air conditioning and heating, rooms come equipped with free internet access and a flat-screen TV(cable channels), and a safe. The room also has a vanity and work area, while the private bathroom provides a bathtub with shower.(Some of the rooms do not have a flat-screen TV. However, we are planning to upgrade all the rooms very soon)Free wifi access in the lobby is available.(We also are currently working on free wifi connection in the rooms)Victoria Hotel features a restaurant, a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour front desk, free parking. Tour arrangements and currency exchange are also available. Carlton Coffee Shop & Restaurant serves traditional Korean specialties and Western dishes.Victoria Hotel may not be one of the most expensive hotels with fancy facilities in the world. However, our staff and I will do our BEST to provide the BEST and comfort experiences in Korea. We wish to see you soon. Thank you.General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing