We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired hotel”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #368 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Old and tired hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days. The hotel looks ok from the exterior but it's worn out internally.

The hotel corridor looks tired and dimmed. The door is not fully sound proof as we can hear people talking inside the room while walking towards our room. Despite the old building, our room is clean but not spacious. The bathroom is also quiet clean but the tiles look tired. There's a water dispenser located at the lift area. However, there's no staff checking at the unit constantly, as the emptied bottled is not replenish for the whole evening until the next morning despite we have informed the front desk.

As it is the hotel policy for no operation of the air-conditioning unit during winter/spring time, our room get a lil stuffy and filled with smoky smell during the night. We can clearly hear noises from the nearby buildings (probably nightclubs or disco) despite staying at the higher floor, which disrupt our comfort during our stay.

The plus points of this hotel is merely at the strategic location. There's a huge departmental store just across the hotel, and few nice restaurants and cafes adjacent to the hotel. It is also within walking distance to the nearby metro station which is very convenience.

Overall, the hotel need quite a congruous patchwork to be done. It's more like a motel than a hotel at the current stage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWilsonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    37
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
18
11
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip in May 2013. This hotel is purely surviving because it is in a good area, close to several department stores and restaurants, as well as its close proximity to the subway and the airport limousine bus stop. Otherwise this is a budget hotel at the minimum.
The hotel is old and needs a lot of renovation and repair. My first room was very hot and the air conditioner didn't work. When I called front desk about this, I was told that the air conditioner wasn't working and was moved to another room that supposedly had a separate air conditioner unit that I could operate to adjust the temperature. While the room was slightly cooler than the first one, I couldn't use the air conditioner for either the unit or the room. So most nights it was very warm and was even blowing heat into the room. You could smell smoke from the hallways and it was noisy from the streets despite being on the top floor (10th).
The rooms are basic and somewhat clean. The bathrooms were not clean and had grime throughout. The bedding was stained and the towels were old and had holes. There wasn't even a clothes closet, only three hangers on a wall hook. There wasn't even a safe box provided, so I carried my documents and valuables with me the whole time.
You get one complimentary bottle of water and can get water from a water cooler in the hallway.
Wi-fi is only available in the lobby and the TV choices for English were limited to CNN and a local Korean station.
There are no other facilities other than a small business room, a wedding hall and disco operated by the hotel.
We decided to pay for the breakfast buffet, but I wasn't impressed. I had to ask for tea as it wasn't included in the service and most of the food selections were basic: bread, eggs, some Korean dishes, a sparse fruit tray and rice.
Most of the front desk staff seemed uncomfortable and too harried to deal with guests. Only one young man Mr. Han, was always courteous and helpful.
If you are a business person who only needs a place to sleep and nothing else, then this is for you; otherwise I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahogany76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
큐, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear mahogany76,

Thank you very much for your review, and we are very sorry about all the issues.

From reviews, we are trying to solve and improve our problems.
For room and facility issues, they take time but we are planning to improve step by step. We also are trying to renovate the hotel to give customers more pleasant experience staying at our Hotel including all the equipments and free wifi throughout all the rooms. We also are troubled over smoking issue. However, we will soon come up with a solution. Until then, I will let our maids know about this issue so that they can improve for better and cleaner service.

Eventhough we could not give you satisfaction this time, but we will try our best to improve so that next time when you visit we will provide satisfaction. Once again, we are very sorry and thank you for sharing your comments. Thank you.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for a week while visiting family and sightseeing. The hotel was booked and paid for by my generous family for it's location. The staff members are so courteous and helpful. The rooms however reminded me of a budget inn, complete with the stench of cigarettes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVictoriaSeoul, 온라인 담당자 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello, Mr/Ms. dkrmd.
Thank you for your compliments about our staffs. I'll pass the words to our front desk officers.
And I'm sorry that our room had the cigarette scent.
I'll let our house keeping know about this issue, and improve ourselves.
Have a good day, and hope you'll come back to Korea sometime again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked for 4 nights. Travelled with 3 small kids. The room is quite comfortable despite of the space is small. Bath room is dirty.. Already prepared to bring our own bag as the hotel did not provide concierge service. Our travel guide informed us prior to hotel check-in. Near to mart and sub way. I guess that hotel is favourite hotel for Chinese tourist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuslizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVictoriaSeoul, 온라인 담당자 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello, Mr/Ms. Yuslizy.
I’m sorry you had to carry your own bags to your room. We do not have concierge service yet. But we’ll consider about it in the future.
Have a good day and hope you come back to Korea for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

stayed there for 3 nights in July 2011, it was part of a package... was told that it was a 3-4 star but its worst then any budget hotel i have ever stayed.... i stayed mostly in the Lobby and only went back to the room when I'm totally exhausted...

1. Door had tool marks, like it has been forced open many times with a crow bar...

2. WIFI only available at Lobby, not in room.

3. Bathrooms looked like its from the 80's...

4. Room itself looked like a replica of 贞子's room from movie, The Ring (technically its a japanese horror movie when a female ghost climbs outta the TV.)

5. Room has a 80's CRT TV... (the same one in the movie where the ghost climbs out of... =( )

6. Beside a nightclub called Dont Tell MaMa... seriously... not joking...


Summary:::

If you're looking to have an 80's theme Seoul travelling plan... sure... why not...

If you have a "weak system" ( It was a twin room, but we werent alone if you know what I mean... ) Pls avoid at all cost...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brighton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVictoriaSeoul, 온라인 담당자 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello, Mr/Ms. Brighton H.
I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. But thank you for your review. We’ll take this as a push for better service.
That damaged door is now replaced with a new one.
We are currently working to have the wifi connection in each room as well.
The TVs are mostly replaced with the flat screen TVs, just that you unluckily had the room that wasn’t yet replaced.
Thank you again, and we’ll improve ourselves further to meet each guest’s satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on room No.617 on 7-9 Apr 2012 It's very old and need renovated . Hotel room is small , bathroom is dirty have fungus on tiles and sanitary ware, old TV. But it close MRT station ( Line 4) around 400 Meter and you can take MRT to Dongdaemun ( 4 station) and Myeongdong (6 station). And aroun hotel have many local Resturant( BBQ Korean style) but they can't speak English.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room on road side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NuNuN_TiTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVictoriaSeoul, 온라인 담당자 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello, Mr/Ms. NuNuN_TiTi.
I’m sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. Yes, our hotel is an old hotel, and we are running through renovation partially at a time.
We’ve cleaned the bathrooms with fungus problem. We’ll improve our hygiene for future customers.
Thank you for the review. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The only good thing of this hotel is the location which near sub way

Really bad bad service
No one help you carry your bag
Wifi just allow in the lobby
Look terrible
little dark
Reception can speak English just a little bit

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane600j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVictoriaSeoul, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello, Mr/Ms. jane600j.
I'm sorry you had a uncomfortable stay at our hotel.
Currently, we do not have concierge service, but we'll consider it for the comfort of our future customers.
We are now working to have wifi connection to all rooms, so we'll be prepared when you come back again.
Thank you and have a nice day.
General Manager/Executive Managing Director Jesse Lauriston Livermore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Benikea Hotel Flower
#191 of 472 in Seoul
61 reviews
Hotel Mare Seoul
#313 of 472 in Seoul
47 reviews
Hotel Unique
#351 of 472 in Seoul
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harmony Hotel
#244 of 472 in Seoul
6 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#315 of 472 in Seoul
43 reviews
Saerim Hotel
#150 of 472 in Seoul
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 16, Dobong-ro, Gangbuk-gu, Seoul 01220, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Customers,Thank you very much for taking a look at Victoria Hotel.Victoria Hotel is located at GangBuk area in Seoul, a 3-minute walk from the Mia Samgeori Line 4 subway station and a public bus stop.Enjoying easy access to public transportation, Victoria Hotel is a 15-minute subway ride from Dongdaemun Market, Namdaemun Market and MyeongDong Shopping Center. It is just 10 stations(approximately one hour one-way trip depending on the traffic) from Incheon Airport by Airport Limousine Bus (Number 6101).There are many restaurants, E-mart shopping center, Hyundai department store, and Lotte department store, which will fulfill your needs, around Victoria Hotel.Equipped with air conditioning and heating, rooms come equipped with free internet access and a flat-screen TV(cable channels), and a safe. The room also has a vanity and work area, while the private bathroom provides a bathtub with shower.(Some of the rooms do not have a flat-screen TV. However, we are planning to upgrade all the rooms very soon)Free wifi access in the lobby is available.(We also are currently working on free wifi connection in the rooms)Victoria Hotel features a restaurant, a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour front desk, free parking. Tour arrangements and currency exchange are also available. Carlton Coffee Shop & Restaurant serves traditional Korean specialties and Western dishes.Victoria Hotel may not be one of the most expensive hotels with fancy facilities in the world. However, our staff and I will do our BEST to provide the BEST and comfort experiences in Korea. We wish to see you soon. Thank you.General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing