We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, terrible elevators” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hyatt Seoul
Ranked #29 of 451 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, terrible elevators”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed here over 10 times and generally like this hotel a lot. The positives - great rooms, thoughtfully set out and spacious. One of the best bathrooms in any hotel, anywhere (with underfloor heating in winter!) - just make sure that you shut the blinds - hotel is a bit of a fishbowl. Last stay had me nicely upgraded to a corner suite (room 1010) which I would highly recommend for any longer stays. A lot of light and a nice place to spend a few days. Higher floors are better and can be requested.

Food in Cornerstone is very good and I quite like the bar in the basement - both are pricey but good quality and with good service. Service generally in the hotel is very good for Seoul, with staff who genuinely are trying to help and care.

This hotel suffers from one major defect which will impact on my future hotel choice - the elevator system compels you to go to the 24th floor lobby before going taking another elevator to the room (and vice versa when exiting). Combined with the lack of elevators (one of the four now seems dedicated to handicap access) this can result in very long "transit" times which becomes increasingly annoying. This (recent) change in the elevator system is a major step backwards for the convenience of guests (and, I understand, was in response to the hotel getting a bit of a reputation in the market as somewhat of an upmarket "love hotel'. A better approach would certainly have been to have beefed up security at the ground level, not inconvenience all guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveMacca2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    319
    62
    33
    18
See reviews for
150
268
134
381
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a quality place to stay - i loved the style and design of the very comfortable, quiet rooms. The Spa area is also a wonderful place to be too with ample fitness & cardio equipment, and a under-used infinity pool with views of the city. The sauna and relaxation pools make a lovely end to the work-out.

Staff are very helpful and proactive. A small problem with the room safe was resolved with a nice bonus. Restaurant staff also excellent.

High quality complimentary tea coffee and water in room - but prices elsewhere in the hotel can look very pricey, especially compared to outside the hotel. Same for internet. I don't really know why hotels do this as it is expensive enough to stay there, but given this is a tedious industry wide problem, its not fair to criticise this hotel directly.

As a tourist only ini the city for a short time, there might have been a better choice closer to the main city sights: Gangnam is about 40 mins from where you want to be. The City is VAST (and I live in London and thought I was used to sprawl). So you have to plan your day carefully if you stay here, as popping back is not an option. Unless you have travel stamina it also means dinner options are really Gangnam based.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Superb rooms - upgraded to a suite which was wonderful - became gold card holder recently so definitely good idea to join. We also checked in at 11am which is also Gold Card perk. Stylish hotel, nice bar at The Timber House which is in the basement. We also ate out at a wonderful local BBQ restaurant KKOTDAM specialising in Korean beef which was delicious and some of besr quality beef we have eaten in a long tine. Department store complex close by, exit 5 on subway- you walk underground and dont need to take train.Staff very helpful - lots of staff at entrance to greet, lobby level 24. Best hotel room in a while. In Gangham though so on opposite side of the river to old Seoul. Very convenient for airport bus - hotel put you in free taxi which takes you to terminus - 5 mins. Took taxi and bus and both take 1hr - bus very comfortable and lots of help to get bags stowed etc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had a fantastic stay for two nights at the Park Hyatt. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly (speak excellent English as well)

I was impressed with the room, the bathroom in particular I liked with a good sized bath and tv as well which was a nice touch, only minor criticism is the toilet door doesn't close fully which I found odd, not sure whether this was just a fault with the door or all the rooms are like that.

It's location makes it a great place to stay for both business and leisure. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Other reviews have commented on the logistics of how the elevators work and the location of the lobby on a high floor and having to switch elevators to go from the rooms to the lobby and then to the ground. This is a bit tedious but far from onerous and actually gives the staff ample opportunity to make sure that needs are being met and I can not remember a time that I was not greeted when I got off an ellevator or waited to get in one. All staff are extremely friendly and helpful and many times made a special effort to ask if they could be of assistance.... the rooms are well appointed, spacious as well as comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel may be expensive, but in my opinion, you pay for what you get. The pampering begins from the moment I made my online booking with the e-concierge through which I arranged for early check-in.

Getting to the hotel from the airport is easy - take the non-stop Airport Limo bus to CALT, go to the info counter and inform them that you wish to go to Park Hyatt, and you would be graciously ushered into a waiting taxi and be whisked off to the hotel. The drive is only like 1 minute away, seriously, if I had known, I would have walked. Oh, and did I mention the hotel picks up the taxi tab?

Having arrived on a red-eye flight, I was delighted to find that my request for early check-in had certainly been noted. I was expected and the room was ready. Unlike most other hotels whereby what you see in the promotional photos are not what you get in reality, the Park Hyatt room was exactly as seen in the website gallery - discreetly luxurious.

The breakfast buffet was a treat, the food and service flawless. The service level in the hotel is amazing (how on earth do they remember all the guests' name?) although I did find the staff's attempts to make light conversation a bit disconcerting (not their fault, mine - I generally don't do well with small talk).

The elevator system was a bit of a quirk, but I don't think of it as that big an inconvenience.

Room Tip: inform the hotel of your flight details ahead of time, especially if you need early check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chequered_8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Returned here after stark comparison with another local Hyatt and what a treat. A very warm welcome by staff who seem to really care. Everything in my room worked - great convenient layout and thoughtful for the guest. The food is good, but what really shows is the attitude toward excellence and service. I have no idea what you would save by going somewhere else but whatever it is, is not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#54 of 451 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#13 of 451 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#6 of 451 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Seoul

Property: Park Hyatt Seoul
Address: 606 Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06174, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Seoul
#14 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#18 Family Hotel in Seoul
#20 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Park Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing