We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting.”

The War Memorial of Korea
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Seoul Morning Half-Day Tour including Seoul Tower, Namsan Hanok Village and The...
Ranked #2 of 740 things to do in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Poignant exhibits, war memorabilia, art works, and military equipment make this a perfect place to learn about Korea’s history of war, most notably with North Korea. Kids will enjoy the display of actual tanks and airplanes.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Go outside first. The old war planes are the coolest part. English speaking tour guides are available.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thorfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,049
    849
    176
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
207 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wedding Hall?”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This has a wedding hall as a part of the grounds which I found a bit odd....

Moving past that it is a great memorial as it lists everyone who died in the Korean War and also had a museum for past wars and an area to look at, touch and get in old airplanes and such.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you're in Seoul, you have to stop at this museum. My concierge originally had no idea what I was talking about, so I'm not sure how frequent of a stop it is for many tourists. But, it's worth a visit.

The museum is set up very well and the designated walking path guides you through the history of war in Korea, from pre-historic times to present. The exhibits were informative and interesting. Free entry, too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dane5588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This place is just amazing”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you have any curiosity about Korean culture/the history of Korean war, etc. this is a must see place. The museum is HUGE, has an amazing display of weapons, tanks, planes, etc. and you will enjoy every moment of it. I find the statue outside with a South Korean soldier holding a dying North Korean one quite poignant, see the attached picture.
Overall, I think it's a must visit if you have a few extra hours in Seoul to yourself, or if you visit with kids.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must-see for any history buff”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I walked to the museum (10-15 minutes) from the Namyeong station, passing the USO along the way. (Useful to know if you plan on doing the DMZ tour) The first thing you notice are the monuments and statues outside - they really set the tone for some of the sad and poignant stories you read about inside.
As an English speaker, I was concerned that I would become disinterested due to the lack of translation. On the contrary, the visitor guide outlined all the exhibits in a very clear and concise manner - with English translations, though brief, accompanying most artifacts. The outdoor display of equipment, which allows you to get up close and personal, is a great way to end the tour. All in all, a tremendous museum and a must-see for anyone remotely interested in (military) history. As good as any museum you'll find in London - yes, i'm referring to you Imperial War Museum!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The War Memorial of Korea also viewed

 

Been to The War Memorial of Korea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing